We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Regency Cliff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Madeira Regency Cliff to your Saves list
Madeira Regency Cliff
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Package
Ranked #13 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Really amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Have just returned after 2 weeks at this lovely hotel,we stayed here for 3 weeks in October and enjoyed it so much that we booked straight away to return this May.We were given a much nicer room than last time ,this time there were comfortable chairs to relax on and much more room.The only downside was it was east facing and therefore too chilly to sit on the balcony in the afternoons. As arranged fresh fruit and water were waiting for us in the room as before,but this time we were given fresh fruit and water most days until our last day when we received a Madeira cake and a bottle of Madeira wine to take home with us.
The staff as usual were first class and the rooms were cleaned well daily.
Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice only complaint was the toaster was hopeless still the same one as last time my husband offered to go out and buy them a new one if they gave him the money,how can such a small thing like this let them down,we are booking to come again next May and hope the toaster will have improved.
We did not eat in the hotel apart from breakfast as there are many excellent restaurants within a short walking distance.
We also travelled alot on the local buses which are frequent and reasonably cheap.
One thing that might save your energy is the Coastal Walk from the hotel was closed but there wasno sign to say so which means if you are in our age bracket you have to face turning round and climbing back all those steep steps.
There are some renovations taking place at the moment on the 6th floor terrace,but there is still room to have breakfast outside and work does not start until breakfast is finished.

Room Tip: South facing rooms get the sun in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment we are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed once again your
stay in our hotel and that you are returning again next year.

Regarding the toaster, as informed by our reception Staff, it has been ordered but unfortunately it is not always as quick as we might expect. The toaster is coming from UK and will be in the hotel on the first week of June. We are always trying to improve based on the valued opinions of our guests, so you can expect on your next stay a new toaster, as well as, a renovated restaurant terrace.

Regency Cliff Team looks forward to welcoming you,

With Warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    178
    28
    2
    7
See reviews for
81
533
24
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just returned from a week's break with my 86 year old father. I have been to Madeira several times in the past - first time at this hotel - chosen because my father wished to go with Saga (no single room supplement) and on the basis of the reviews.

The room was ok - views straight out onto the ocean were very nice and the staff were all helpful and pleasant. Sun deck was fine. Pools were small but I knew that before going. Most of the guests were aged 55 plus. Courtesy taxis into Funchal were appreciated.

However - we found the drinks at the hotel expensive for what you got. Worst of all the breakfasts were very poor. I dont expect a big range at a small hotel but the cooked breakfasts featured no fried eggs, thin slices of bacon that were either over or underdone, and miserable frankfurter sausages. All served up on a half sized plate. Breakfast bowls were tiny. The fruit juice glasses were served on the same cloth all week judging by a noticeable stain. The restaurant in the evening had all the atmosphere of the moon; nobody was talking or smiling when we walked past. Result - we ate out every night. Father liked a restaurant called Summertime - they do a great buttered sole - my favourite is The Atlantic - portuguese food on a terrace overlooking the sea - brilliant.

The Fitness room is very small with only three machines and a few free weights - given the average age of the guests thats probably fine but anyone wanting a decent and regular workout while away will be disappointed.

Room safe is an extra charge. I am always annoyed when extra is charged for that when it should be standard.

To be honest - I struggle to see why this hotel is so highly rated by Trip Advisor. It ticks a few boxes but really does not deliver with others - and being small is not an excuse. There are better hotels on the island folks.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor - you will be looking right out onto the sundeck
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment which had our best attention. We are perfectly aware that it is impossible to please all our guests although it is always our aim.

We do not agree, but we respect your opinion, that our breakfast is poor as we know that what we offer is above the average compared to other 4 star hotels.

We are pleased to inform that we implement and maintain permanent food safety procedures based on the principles of HACCP. This is the reason why we do not have fried eggs on the Buffet, but they are available for all our guests on request.

We regret that we were not able to fulfill your expectations, and for this apologize.

With kind regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in the outskirts of Funchal. The rooms are comfortable with views over the sea. The lounge/bar areas look as if they have just been done up. There are lots of comfortable sofas in beautiful colours. There are also lots of wooden tables outside, which are used for breakfast when it's warm enough. There are also some beautiful garden furniture with cushions and footstools overlooking the sea.

The breakfast is good, with slight changes of menu each day. There are variety of fruit, yoghurt, meats and cheese, cooked breakfast and a range of breads. There are unusual jams like prune and squash. Strange but delicious! We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening as we prefer to go out but it was well used. They do offers for 3 or 4 evening meal deals, which work out at about E20 for a 4 course meal. There are lots of good restaurants close by. I would particularly recommend Real Canoa, Doca do Cavacas and a fish platter at the Barracuda Restaurant.

The Madeira Regency Cliff is well sited for getting around. The local buses to town (1 and 2, I think) are regular and stop just outside. There is a display to say when the next are due. They only cost E1.90 per journey. The red and yellow siteseeing buses also stop here. There is a taxi rank just a bit further along the road.

There is a lovely promenade from just behind the hotel to the town. There is a gate by the swimming pool which leads straight down to it. I would also recommend the promenade walk in the opposite direction to Camara de Lobos.

I recommend this hotel for the over 50s as it is very quiet. However if you do have teenage girls they will love the retail park just over the road. It has Zara, Zara Home, C&As and many clothes shops aimed at the under 20s.

This is a great hotel and available at a very reasonable price. Enjoy your holiday - we did!!

Room Tip: Ask for one on the 4th to 6th floor. Classic Rooms have large double beds. Superior rooms have cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review, which I am certain, will help other guests.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your holiday and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

we have just returned home from a glorious week in Funchal at the Madeira RC,(after touring southern portugal for 10 days by car),,we had lovely weather for the entire time ,,, hear the weather was cold the week prior..arrived by taxi,,, $40 eu,,(4 adults and 4 bags),,suzette met us at reception and gave us a mini orientation,,, had premium seaview room,,,spotless, fresh, lovely balcony, beautiful views, quiet,,, we all found breakfast was excellant,,,selection large,, fresh fruit in abundance,all the usual brkfst fare,, and gluten free was no problem.. magda looked after us at breakfast ,,we toured by rental taxi and driver,,, was excellant,,, taxi booked at hotel for dinner out and ended up with a fabulous private day tour with jose phillippe..we spent part of every afternoon at the pool which was lovely,, and very clean,,we had read previous tripadvisor comments when choosing our hotel and found them to be very good,,, it is a small hotel (70 rms) and there are plenty of huge ones,,, ,,it is in a great location,,lovely area to walk,,, free shuttle downtown if you choose,,, easy bus system to use,,, it is located at the upper end of town and this makes it very appealing,close to shopping center ,, grocery store, ,, (it is much noisier, more traffic, more people closer to the old town,),,this is exacltly what we were looking for,,,we wanted to escape the hustle and noise of the city,we did have dinner one evening at the dining room and all four of us enjoyed our meal,,the food was beautifully presented and was very tasty,,,,Madeira Regency Cliff delivered just what we wanted with a high level of service and a truly lovely hotel,,,, we will return and we will tell our friends,,, (did a flight from toronto to lisbon then next morning to funchal,,, not difficult at all,,,,,,,,4canadians

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you had a glorious week at Madeira Regency Cliff. Thank you for your review which I will share with the whole Team.

We also thank you for recommending our hotel, we all look forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Some say "never return" as the second visit is never as good as the first. Well, that is not the case with the Madeira Regency Cliff in Funchal. We visited last August and have just returned from our second visit. Whilst the weather was "iffy" the hotel maintained the high standards we experienced during our first visit. The welcome was warm and the room (506) was wonderful with glorious views. Again, the standard of service was excellent, with specific thanks to Roberto who looked after us so well in the dinning room at breakfast and dinner. All the staff are friendly and extremely helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them. We very much look forward to our third visit in 2014! Many thanks to everyone at the hotel for making our stay so relaxing.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better. levels three, four and five offer the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was indeed with great pleasure that I acknowledged that you enjoyed, once again, your holiday in our hotel. We are glad to hear that we managed to exceed your expectations and that you will return again in 2014.

Regency Cliff Team looks forward to welcoming you,

With Warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I spent hours researching hotels in Funchal and finally we went with a recommendation from friends who had stayed there. What a good choice. We can't fault it. It is a beautifully clean, understated, quiet, tranquil, boutique hotel. The colours of the decor in the bedroom are light and calming, aqua, pale greys and white. Lovely large bed, very comfortable and great room service, looking very inviting after a busy day out. A complimentary basket of fruit and bottle of water were in our room on arrival.

Lovely terrace, great views of the bay, bus stop almost outside the hotel which was very convenient and the Forum shopping centre across the road has some lovely shops and not too expensive. Opan is a cafe we visited in several parts of Funchal as the coffee is good as are the sandwiches and pastries (2 coffees and a fruit tart €3) and there was one near the hotel.

Breakfastwas lovely and we enjoyed cocktails at happy hour! Good wifi reception on my iPad.

This is a small hotel and just what we were looking for. Thank you to all the staff who made our trip a very pleasant, enjoyable and trouble free experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 205 and would ask for it again although all the rooms we caught glimpses of looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment. We are very pleased to learn that you had a very enjoyable stay in our hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Lovely hotel staff couldn't do enough for you especially Edgar it was our first trip to Madeira and he informed us of various places to visit nothing was too much trouble . The hotel was one of the cleanest we have stayed in and the views were spectacular from our balcony. The only complaint we had was one evening we decided to eat our evening meal at the hotel the food was very poor and not of the standard of a four star hotel I had noticed before we went on holiday that this was a complaint of other guest reviewers on the trip advisor. It is such a shame this has not been addressed as this lets down a really fabulous hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is always with great regret that we acknowledge that we were not able to fulfill 100% our guest’s expectations.

We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy the meal you had at the hotel. However we would like to inform you that your complaint had our best attention and that we have taken all measures to avoid future situations.

We apologize once again for all the inconveniences this may have caused.

With Kind regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Address: Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#14 Business Hotel in Funchal
#14 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeira Regency Cliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.