We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the over 50s” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Regency Cliff

Save Saved
You added Madeira Regency Cliff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madeira Regency Cliff
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Package
Ranked #13 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Perfect for the over 50s”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in the outskirts of Funchal. The rooms are comfortable with views over the sea. The lounge/bar areas look as if they have just been done up. There are lots of comfortable sofas in beautiful colours. There are also lots of wooden tables outside, which are used for breakfast when it's warm enough. There are also some beautiful garden furniture with cushions and footstools overlooking the sea.

The breakfast is good, with slight changes of menu each day. There are variety of fruit, yoghurt, meats and cheese, cooked breakfast and a range of breads. There are unusual jams like prune and squash. Strange but delicious! We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening as we prefer to go out but it was well used. They do offers for 3 or 4 evening meal deals, which work out at about E20 for a 4 course meal. There are lots of good restaurants close by. I would particularly recommend Real Canoa, Doca do Cavacas and a fish platter at the Barracuda Restaurant.

The Madeira Regency Cliff is well sited for getting around. The local buses to town (1 and 2, I think) are regular and stop just outside. There is a display to say when the next are due. They only cost E1.90 per journey. The red and yellow siteseeing buses also stop here. There is a taxi rank just a bit further along the road.

There is a lovely promenade from just behind the hotel to the town. There is a gate by the swimming pool which leads straight down to it. I would also recommend the promenade walk in the opposite direction to Camara de Lobos.

I recommend this hotel for the over 50s as it is very quiet. However if you do have teenage girls they will love the retail park just over the road. It has Zara, Zara Home, C&As and many clothes shops aimed at the under 20s.

This is a great hotel and available at a very reasonable price. Enjoy your holiday - we did!!

Room Tip: Ask for one on the 4th to 6th floor. Classic Rooms have large double beds. Superior rooms have cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review, which I am certain, will help other guests.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your holiday and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    508
    164
    27
    2
    6
See reviews for
75
490
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

we have just returned home from a glorious week in Funchal at the Madeira RC,(after touring southern portugal for 10 days by car),,we had lovely weather for the entire time ,,, hear the weather was cold the week prior..arrived by taxi,,, $40 eu,,(4 adults and 4 bags),,suzette met us at reception and gave us a mini orientation,,, had premium seaview room,,,spotless, fresh, lovely balcony, beautiful views, quiet,,, we all found breakfast was excellant,,,selection large,, fresh fruit in abundance,all the usual brkfst fare,, and gluten free was no problem.. magda looked after us at breakfast ,,we toured by rental taxi and driver,,, was excellant,,, taxi booked at hotel for dinner out and ended up with a fabulous private day tour with jose phillippe..we spent part of every afternoon at the pool which was lovely,, and very clean,,we had read previous tripadvisor comments when choosing our hotel and found them to be very good,,, it is a small hotel (70 rms) and there are plenty of huge ones,,, ,,it is in a great location,,lovely area to walk,,, free shuttle downtown if you choose,,, easy bus system to use,,, it is located at the upper end of town and this makes it very appealing,close to shopping center ,, grocery store, ,, (it is much noisier, more traffic, more people closer to the old town,),,this is exacltly what we were looking for,,,we wanted to escape the hustle and noise of the city,we did have dinner one evening at the dining room and all four of us enjoyed our meal,,the food was beautifully presented and was very tasty,,,,Madeira Regency Cliff delivered just what we wanted with a high level of service and a truly lovely hotel,,,, we will return and we will tell our friends,,, (did a flight from toronto to lisbon then next morning to funchal,,, not difficult at all,,,,,,,,4canadians

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you had a glorious week at Madeira Regency Cliff. Thank you for your review which I will share with the whole Team.

We also thank you for recommending our hotel, we all look forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Some say "never return" as the second visit is never as good as the first. Well, that is not the case with the Madeira Regency Cliff in Funchal. We visited last August and have just returned from our second visit. Whilst the weather was "iffy" the hotel maintained the high standards we experienced during our first visit. The welcome was warm and the room (506) was wonderful with glorious views. Again, the standard of service was excellent, with specific thanks to Roberto who looked after us so well in the dinning room at breakfast and dinner. All the staff are friendly and extremely helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them. We very much look forward to our third visit in 2014! Many thanks to everyone at the hotel for making our stay so relaxing.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better. levels three, four and five offer the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was indeed with great pleasure that I acknowledged that you enjoyed, once again, your holiday in our hotel. We are glad to hear that we managed to exceed your expectations and that you will return again in 2014.

Regency Cliff Team looks forward to welcoming you,

With Warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I spent hours researching hotels in Funchal and finally we went with a recommendation from friends who had stayed there. What a good choice. We can't fault it. It is a beautifully clean, understated, quiet, tranquil, boutique hotel. The colours of the decor in the bedroom are light and calming, aqua, pale greys and white. Lovely large bed, very comfortable and great room service, looking very inviting after a busy day out. A complimentary basket of fruit and bottle of water were in our room on arrival.

Lovely terrace, great views of the bay, bus stop almost outside the hotel which was very convenient and the Forum shopping centre across the road has some lovely shops and not too expensive. Opan is a cafe we visited in several parts of Funchal as the coffee is good as are the sandwiches and pastries (2 coffees and a fruit tart €3) and there was one near the hotel.

Breakfastwas lovely and we enjoyed cocktails at happy hour! Good wifi reception on my iPad.

This is a small hotel and just what we were looking for. Thank you to all the staff who made our trip a very pleasant, enjoyable and trouble free experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 205 and would ask for it again although all the rooms we caught glimpses of looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment. We are very pleased to learn that you had a very enjoyable stay in our hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Lovely hotel staff couldn't do enough for you especially Edgar it was our first trip to Madeira and he informed us of various places to visit nothing was too much trouble . The hotel was one of the cleanest we have stayed in and the views were spectacular from our balcony. The only complaint we had was one evening we decided to eat our evening meal at the hotel the food was very poor and not of the standard of a four star hotel I had noticed before we went on holiday that this was a complaint of other guest reviewers on the trip advisor. It is such a shame this has not been addressed as this lets down a really fabulous hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is always with great regret that we acknowledge that we were not able to fulfill 100% our guest’s expectations.

We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy the meal you had at the hotel. However we would like to inform you that your complaint had our best attention and that we have taken all measures to avoid future situations.

We apologize once again for all the inconveniences this may have caused.

With Kind regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 11am and very pleased to discover our room was ready for us to check-in. The hotel is a small boutique style hotel with just 59 rooms all of which have excellent sea views. We found our room to have ample hanging and drawer space for our holiday needs.
Each room has a wide balcony with table and chairs and proved regularly a pleasant option for relaxing in the sun.
Breakfast and dinner are both served in the Mistral Restaurant on the ground floor. Breakfast commences at 7.30am and can also be taken on the terrace on sunny mornings.
Dinner commences at 7pm each evening. Themed buffet evenings are held on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday with waiter service on the remaining days of the week.
The standard of food at the hotel is very good with all the restaurant and bar staff extremely friendly and welcoming. There is a bar and lounge area where a low key entertainment programme is held on a few nights each week. A Madeira Folklore evening takes place each Wednesday evening. If you are looking for a lively entertainment programme then this hotel is not for you if, however, you are looking to stay for a relaxing holiday in an excellent hotel with good food then the Madeira Regency Cliff is the perfect choice.
The hotel has a Desktop Computer in the lounge area which is free to use for hotel guests.
The hotel also operates a complimentary shuttle taxi service into Funchal daily at 10am and 11am returning at 4.30pm and 6.30pm. Booking for the shuttle is essential and should be made with Reception although a very regular bus service ( No`s 1 and 2) operate from close by the hotel for just 1.90 Euro per journey. The bus terminates near to the cable car station which operates up to Monte. You can also take the No. 48 bus directly up to Monte from near the hotel. Bus timetables for travel all over the island can be obtained from hotel reception.
The General Manager of the hotel welcomes all guests to the hotel each Tuesday evening at 6pm when complimentary drinks are served. She makes a point of greeting each individual guest during the reception.
For shopaholics the Madeira Forum Shopping Centre is just 200 metres from the hotel and open until 10pm daily and houses a large Pingo Doce supermaket on the lower ground floor.
This was our fourth visit to the lovely island of Madeira and our second visit to the Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel and aready thinking about a return visit to this excellent hotel.
The General Manager and her team operate to very good standards ensuring each guest has an enjoyable holiday experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review which I will share with the whole Team. We are delighted to learn that you had a very enjoyable holiday experience at Madeira Regency Cliff and that you would consider returning to our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you, hopefully in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was our second visit to this Hotel and was equaly as good as our First one, The staff are so friendly and do an exelent job. The position of this Hotel is great with great views from any room, and the Breakfast on the Terrace in the morning sun you could not ask for more. We will be back again next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It was indeed with great pleasure that we welcomed you for the second time.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed once again you holiday and look forward to welcoming you next year.

With Warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Address: Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeira Regency Cliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.