We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Regency Cliff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Madeira Regency Cliff to your Saves list
Madeira Regency Cliff
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Package
Ranked #13 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We don't often go away to stay in hotels but have stayed in enough to know that this hotel is in a class of it's own...Warm, welcoming, clean and very comfortable. The staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful.
The room was clean, well appointed and had fantastic views from the balcony.
Food was buffet style Monday- Wednesday and for the rest of the week, evening meals were table service. They were beautifully presented and there was a nice choice.

There is a bus stop less than a minute's walk from the hotel into Funchal with a very regular service. Easy to use! There is a free shuttle service twice in the morning and twice in the afternoon to and from the hotel as well.

The health/ spa facilities are small but who wants to spend all day in there when you have a whole island to see!

Room Tip: Level three four and five bedrooms are better for less pool noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are very glad to learn that you had a wonderful holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    184
    31
    2
    7
See reviews for
86
562
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
marlow
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Our week in Funchal was one of our best holiday escapes from UK weather. Regency Cliff made a big contribution. A ' boutique hotel ' , not huge, very personal, large rooms, great sea views, outside central Funchal but local area good for restuarants, Forum upmarket shopping precinct, and constant buses to Funchal ( 10 min ride ) not forgeting hotel free shuttle service.

Breakfasts have choices to satisfy all tastes and needs and a decking area to eat overlooking the sea and the rising sun . Memorable.
The Mistral Restaurant offers a set meal with dual choices for each of three courses for around 25 euros . There are themed nights with buffet service. We had three nights of the set meal and generaly they were very good as was the service. We deliberately gave ourselves the opportunity to eat out too. This is a must in Funchal .
The staff at Regency Cliff from the room maid upwards are incredibly efficient , warm and helpful. Like most Madeirans they speak good English.
I can recommend this hotel totally for over fifties but not the young and young families. We look forward to returning as so many other reviewers do.

Room Tip: Avoid floors one and two. Three four and five have best views . We were in 302 which is south fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Kind comments. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your holiday at Regency Cliff and that you will return.

We all look forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Recently stayed at regency cliff after reading very good reviews. It is in an excellent location,with great sea views and we had no great complaints but it was not the excellent hotel we were expecting so on the whole it was a little disappointing. Breakfast was ordinary and pools and gym facilities were nothing special. Good hotel but not special.

Room Tip: Sea view essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review which had our best attention. It is always with great regret that we acknowledge that we did not fulfill our guest expectations. We are aware that there is always room for improvement, therefore we much appreciate your feedback.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here for a week. The room was comfortable, with adequate facilities and a nice view. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was normal but the dinner itself was not as good as some of the restaurants around with lack of choices and also overpriced. We have to pay for the use of a safe in the room. Walk to Funchal will take 30-40 min, a free shuttle is available. You have a large shopping centre very close.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor readers,

We have reasons to believe that this comment is not from a guest that stayed at Madeira Regency Cliff. At the moment we are checking the veracity of this review.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Some changes of staff I think since last year but no changes in the excellent service received.
We always recommend it to others with no worries that the hotel will not be as good for them as it always is for us. We always choose a room facing east so that we can, after an excellent breakfast, sit on our balcony and watch the sun rise until we are warm enough to set out for a brisk walk downhill to Funchal and back for lunch and then a laze in the sun on the south facing side.
We prefer to travel on the regular, clean and, sometimes, very full local buses with one of the local 1; 2: 5 day travel any where prepaid card arrangements.
We shall be booking for 2014 within the next few weeks.

Room Tip: East for the morning sun, South for the rest of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review which I will share with the whole Team. We are delighted to acknowledge that after 6 visits to our hotel we still manage to fulfill your expectations.

We thank you for your continued support and loyalty during the past years.

Regency Cliff Team looks forward to welcoming you,

With Warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkshead, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at the Regency Cliff Hotel for 7 nights in March and loved it. The hotel is in a good location with stunning views. The hotel is a good 2.5k walk into town mainly downhill, but can be a long trek up hill at the end of a busy day sight seeing but taxis are plentiful and the hotel arranges free transport both to and from town twice daily , which we used on several occasions. Our room, a superior sea view was large and airy with a huge bed, the room was spotless and cleaned and bed changed daily. We had a large semi out door seating area with table and comfy chairs overlooking the pool this lacked privacy as we had sun beds directly in front of our patio . We used the pool area on several occasions, again this area was beautifully kept attentive bar service and great lunchtime snacks. Breakfast at the Regency Cliff is served buffet style and is plentiful with a good choice of both hot and cold selections everything was fresh high quality and replenished quickly , we found it a great start to our days sight seeing. I was less keen on the Buffet evening meals,but this is more a personal thing than an issue with quality or service, i just prefer freshly cooked food so we only ate at the hotel on one evening and ate at the Monumental grill oppisat the hotel the rest of our stay. I would have no hesitation in recomending this hotel ,in short, it is small and personal the staff are polite and attentive and the rooms and public areas are spotlessly clean add to this the wonderful views and location for us it was the perfect place to stay, We had a wonderful holiday and look forward to returning for New Year.

Room Tip: Not overlooking the pool area on level 6 if you want privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. It is indeed with great pleasure that we acknowledge that you enjoyed your holiday.

Regency Cliff Team looks forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

A great holiday with a clean , modern hotel with great views , attentive staff who were always cheerful .Good food very relaxing. Not too far from central Funchal if your fit but a free daily shuttle is available. Great sea view, big big room.We liked the



Totally enjoyed it and will definitely recommend to others and will return to the Regency Cliff later in 2013 or early 2014.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your holiday and that you would definitely recommend Madeira Regency Cliff.

We hope to see you back in a very near future,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Address: Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Funchal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeira Regency Cliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.