We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel of choice on the island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Regency Cliff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Madeira Regency Cliff to your Saves list
Madeira Regency Cliff
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Package
Ranked #13 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“hotel of choice on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We've stayed 4 times in total including a return here from a big five star hotel up the promenade.
We definitely recommend this as the nicest hotel, the best position, the most private rooms with full sea views and a perfect size; not too large like some of the other hotels, but large enough to feel pleasant and alive. Staff are helpful but not intrusive.
Great for a relaxing break away from it all and a great base for hiking and exploring if that's your passion.

You can get around by shuttles and bus but car hire is very reasonable on the island and we always drive- the hotel has a shuttle and a car park.
You can't go wrong if you stay here.

Room Tip: Go for the classic sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed once again your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff.
We take this opportunity to thank you for your continued loyalty and support.

Regency Cliff Team looks forward to welcoming you,

With Warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    189
    31
    3
    7
See reviews for
87
576
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Madeira Cliff Hotel continues to be a great experience with friendly staff who go out of their way to ensure guests have a good welcome and good service. I have just made my 7th visit and I feel part of a family when I go there. The views are great, the situation is excellent, and I cannot find anything adverse to say. It is 3 k. out of Funchal but with excellent local buses, this is actually an advantage. And there are local shops and restaurants nearby. I recommend this hotel to anyone wanting more of an individual experience rather than the anonymous huge hotels.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view, some are smaller than others but very adequate, and all have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review, which I will share with the whole Team. We are deligted to learn that you enjoyed once again your stay at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We thank you for your continued preference and loyalty and look forward to welcoming you, hopefully still this year.

With Warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

For our first visit to Madeira we couldn't have chosen a better hotel. Despite being relatively small, which undoubtedly helps create a warm and friendly atmosphere, the Madeira Cliff has a wide range of accommodation - something to suit everyone we'd imagine. Our classic sea view room was comfortable, very clean and well presented. All tastes and diets were catered for at the generous buffet breakfast. For our first three nights we had a buffet dinner with a good selection of dishes. Folk who like to eat piping hot food might seek a microwave oven though. For the rest of the week we enjoyed an a la carte dinner menu which we found very good. All staff were friendly, helpful and extremely knowledgeable with regard to Funchal and Madeira. It is a bit of schlepp into town but the hotel provides a courtesy taxi which is best booked the night before. The local bus service is good and several sorts of tickets are available. A week is too short to do Madeira justice. When we return we're planning to stay for two weeks at the Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion. We are delighted to acknowledge that your expectations were fulfilled and that you will return to our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for the 8th time, needless to say we love it. What makes this a great place to stay are the brilliant staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. We hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comment. We are very pleased to learn that after 8 times we are still able to fulfill your expectations.

We thank you for your continued loyalty and support and look forward to welcoming you,

With Warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our first time in Madeira, February 2013. Hotel excellent,room lovely and clean. Overlooking the sea, just like being on a cruise ship. Food very good, lots of choices at dinner. The staff were friendly and helpful. Would certainly recommend. Quite a walk into town but there are courtesy taxi at the hotel or the local buses.

Room Tip: Ask for level 3/4/5 for vistas
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing you opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your holiday in our hotel and that you would not hesitate to recommend our hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ain, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights end Feb then one last night early March 2013 and were pleased with the hotel. We had our 5 year old with us and the room was huge even with an extra bed. We liked the fact that the hotel is small as some in Funchal are huge monstrosities. Service was excellent. We had breakfast which was very good but did not eat in the hotel restaurant. There are better cheaper restaurants right over the road such as the Monumental Grill which had great grilled fish. There is a bus stop to the right of the hotel where the 1 and 2 buses take you into town either 1€90 from the driver of buy a 5€ day ticket from reception. These buses quite regular but other buses such as to monte or botanical gardens only every hour or longer. We were 4 adults so a taxi was actually cheaper.
Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff and that you would recommend our hotel.

We hope to see you back in a near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week on our first visit to Madeira. As others have said, the public rooms are very good giving a nice environment to relax and eat. Our bedroom was on floor one and was very well appointed being quite large with plenty of room to sit either on the balcony or inside the room. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided and there were bathrobes in the bathroom, which we felt was a nice touch. Everywhere was beautifully clean.
We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis but decided to take up the offer for three meals in the restaurant. This we regretted as the food was very average. Our first meal was an Italian buffet which was not very Italian and some dishes only warm. Things got worse at our next meal which was waiter service. The menu has only one starter or soup to begin, several main courses then one sweet or fruit salad to end. The worst part is the service. A lot of people came into the dining room over a short period of time and the waiter did not seem to know who had come in when. We sat at our table waiting for our order to be taken for fifteen minutes only to see another couple who had just sat down having their order taken first. After finishing our starter, it then took half an hour for our main course to arrive. The food itself was not as good as some of the restaurants outside the Hotel but priced at about the same level.
We did get very good service in all other parts of the hotel and the breakfast was really good. We would stay again but only on a bed and breakfast basis. Or overall marking relates to the B & B part of our holiday.
The location of the hotel is great being close to shops, restaurants and bus stops but at the same time being quiet and relaxing.

Room Tip: Rooms on floor one have their balconies on the same level as the Hotel terrace. Get one on a higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, which had our best attention. It is with great regret that we acknowledge that you did not have a pleasant experience at our restaurant and for this we apologize. We are glad to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay and consider returning.

We hope to see you back in a near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Address: Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#14 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeira Regency Cliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.