We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time in Funchal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Regency Cliff

Save Saved
You added Madeira Regency Cliff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Madeira Regency Cliff
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Package
Ranked #13 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Bonnie Scotland
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“First Time in Funchal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

For our first visit to Madeira we couldn't have chosen a better hotel. Despite being relatively small, which undoubtedly helps create a warm and friendly atmosphere, the Madeira Cliff has a wide range of accommodation - something to suit everyone we'd imagine. Our classic sea view room was comfortable, very clean and well presented. All tastes and diets were catered for at the generous buffet breakfast. For our first three nights we had a buffet dinner with a good selection of dishes. Folk who like to eat piping hot food might seek a microwave oven though. For the rest of the week we enjoyed an a la carte dinner menu which we found very good. All staff were friendly, helpful and extremely knowledgeable with regard to Funchal and Madeira. It is a bit of schlepp into town but the hotel provides a courtesy taxi which is best booked the night before. The local bus service is good and several sorts of tickets are available. A week is too short to do Madeira justice. When we return we're planning to stay for two weeks at the Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion. We are delighted to acknowledge that your expectations were fulfilled and that you will return to our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    501
    163
    27
    2
    6
See reviews for
74
484
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for the 8th time, needless to say we love it. What makes this a great place to stay are the brilliant staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. We hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comment. We are very pleased to learn that after 8 times we are still able to fulfill your expectations.

We thank you for your continued loyalty and support and look forward to welcoming you,

With Warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our first time in Madeira, February 2013. Hotel excellent,room lovely and clean. Overlooking the sea, just like being on a cruise ship. Food very good, lots of choices at dinner. The staff were friendly and helpful. Would certainly recommend. Quite a walk into town but there are courtesy taxi at the hotel or the local buses.

Room Tip: Ask for level 3/4/5 for vistas
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing you opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your holiday in our hotel and that you would not hesitate to recommend our hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ain, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights end Feb then one last night early March 2013 and were pleased with the hotel. We had our 5 year old with us and the room was huge even with an extra bed. We liked the fact that the hotel is small as some in Funchal are huge monstrosities. Service was excellent. We had breakfast which was very good but did not eat in the hotel restaurant. There are better cheaper restaurants right over the road such as the Monumental Grill which had great grilled fish. There is a bus stop to the right of the hotel where the 1 and 2 buses take you into town either 1€90 from the driver of buy a 5€ day ticket from reception. These buses quite regular but other buses such as to monte or botanical gardens only every hour or longer. We were 4 adults so a taxi was actually cheaper.
Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff and that you would recommend our hotel.

We hope to see you back in a near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week on our first visit to Madeira. As others have said, the public rooms are very good giving a nice environment to relax and eat. Our bedroom was on floor one and was very well appointed being quite large with plenty of room to sit either on the balcony or inside the room. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided and there were bathrobes in the bathroom, which we felt was a nice touch. Everywhere was beautifully clean.
We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis but decided to take up the offer for three meals in the restaurant. This we regretted as the food was very average. Our first meal was an Italian buffet which was not very Italian and some dishes only warm. Things got worse at our next meal which was waiter service. The menu has only one starter or soup to begin, several main courses then one sweet or fruit salad to end. The worst part is the service. A lot of people came into the dining room over a short period of time and the waiter did not seem to know who had come in when. We sat at our table waiting for our order to be taken for fifteen minutes only to see another couple who had just sat down having their order taken first. After finishing our starter, it then took half an hour for our main course to arrive. The food itself was not as good as some of the restaurants outside the Hotel but priced at about the same level.
We did get very good service in all other parts of the hotel and the breakfast was really good. We would stay again but only on a bed and breakfast basis. Or overall marking relates to the B & B part of our holiday.
The location of the hotel is great being close to shops, restaurants and bus stops but at the same time being quiet and relaxing.

Room Tip: Rooms on floor one have their balconies on the same level as the Hotel terrace. Get one on a higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, which had our best attention. It is with great regret that we acknowledge that you did not have a pleasant experience at our restaurant and for this we apologize. We are glad to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay and consider returning.

We hope to see you back in a near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Have recently returned from our second stay at this lovely hotel and would definitely return again. Everywhere is kept beautifully clean and nothing is too much trouble for the excellent staff. The views from the bedrooms are fabulous. We took advantage of the offer to eat in the hotel on 3 evenings and were not disappointed. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was with great pleasure that we welcomed you for the 2nd time. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed once again your holiday and that you would not hesitate to recommend Madeira Regency Cliff.

We look forward to welcoming you,

With Warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is very much what you'd expect from a four star establishment in the hotel area of Funchal.. It is comfortable, convenient for busses and has good sea views. We upgraded our room at no great expense, and had plenty of space, a balcony and good views over the bay. Everything was efficient, though the hotel felt a bit older than the ten years we were told it was. There are two (small) swimming pools, indoor and outdoor.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis but had one meal in the hotel. The dining room was attractively furnished but a bit cramped. The food (buffet) was average.

The staff were friendly and helpful and we were sorry to leave after an enjoyable week. It is a good place to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment. We are very pleased to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a very near future.

Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Address: Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeira Regency Cliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.