We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, very conveniently located.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Regency Cliff

Save Saved
You added Madeira Regency Cliff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Madeira Regency Cliff
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Package
Ranked #12 of 91 hotels in Funchal
The Blue Mountains, Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good hotel, very conveniently located.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel turned out to be in a very good location - especially if you like walking. There is a wonderful walkway all along the shore and you can walk into Funchal in about 3/4 an hour or you can walk to Camara do Lobos in about the same. Also, there is a major shopping centre very close and the bus is right outside the door, which takes you right into Funchal or other points beyond if you so desire. The staff were very nice but I would not eat dinner there as, even if the food is good (I didn't try it), the atmosphere isn't great and you would have more fun going to some of the restaurants nearby or into Funchal itself, which has a wonderful vibe at night. Breakfast was good - lots of choice and well presented. The other nice thing about this hotel is the terrace on the 5th floor, which serves as a dining area when the weather is good. Because it is on a cliff there is an unobstructed view of the water and it is a wonderful place to have a drink after you come back from walking everywhere.

Room Tip: Don't choose any rooms on the 1st floor as they open out on to the pool area and you will have p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff and that you were pleased with the hotel location.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    477
    149
    25
    2
    7
See reviews for
69
449
23
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We spent 2 weeks here from new years eve on a B&B basis. We had the new years eve gala dinner and breakfast everyday and the food was very good with lots of choice. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful including lending me a jacket and tie for New years eve. The location is great although a little quite but we went into town most nights for dinner and drinks which is what we like doing. Although we did not use the pools I used the gym and although small was sufficient.WeI would certainly return when we go to Madeira and would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice quiet friendly hotel in Madeira. The only negative I would point out is that they charge 15 Euros per week for a safe key.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff and that you would not hesitate to recommend our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was our first trip to Madeira and we did a thorough hotel research before booking. The Regency Cliff was exactly as expected.

We booked a superior room and requested a sunny balcony. The one we got was lovely, our balcony had gorgeous ocean view and sunshine all afternoon, perfect for relaxing after a half day levada walk. Since the rooms are away from the road and below the reception (sounds strange, but works because the hotel is built over a cliff), there was no traffic noise at all.

We found the bed very comfortable. It had a good, thick mattress topper and was softer than typical Southern European hotel beds. The room was carpeted, which I normally dislike, but the cleaners were very good and the carpet looked fresh and spotless. The bathroom was not new, but absolutely clean and in perfect working condition.

Breakfast was okay, but we got a little bored with it after a few days (we stayed a week). We like our bacon crisp, Regency Cliff serves it just lightly fried and limp. I would suggest that fried eggs or an occasional omelet-in-the-oven would have been a nice variation from the scrambled eggs that were served daily. Still, the breakfast was fine for a four star hotel. And they were really good about keeping the coffee coming! We also loved the sunny breakfast terrace.

We had an early pickup for one of our levada walks and found out that the breakfast didn't actually open at the announced time, but rather 10-15 minutes later. That was a bit of a bummer to us, we barely had time to wolf down some food before our car arrived. Perhaps the chef had overslept.

Madeira has a special topology with many local micro climates. Regency Cliff is perfectly located in one of the best, I was told by a local. From what we experienced around the island, I am inclined to agree. There are several restaurants within walking distance and a nice shopping mall three minutes walk away. If you want to go to the city centre, the bus stop is close by and it takes just a few minutes by bus to get there. Lots of buses, we never had to wait long. Or you can walk if you like, we did that once, but it takes around 40 minutes along the sidewalks of a busy road.

One thing spoiled our stay somewhat. We had the misfortune to end up in the room just below a family with a VERY active young child - the only one in the hotel. The noise was surprisingly annoying, like a small herd of buffaloes over our heads early in the mornings and most afternoons.

As we had tried hard to find a quiet hotel, having some catching up to do on sleep after a tough time at work, this was a big disappointment. We told the reception and I know they asked the parents to try and keep the noise down. It did not make the slightest difference. I am giving the hotel a lower ranking on sleep quality because of this. We could have asked for another room, but we hate being difficult guests. I did however suggest upon checkout that the hotel put future families in a room on the bottom floor!

As Regency Cliff is clearly not geared towards children, I think the hotel would probably benefit from having a 16-year minimum age limit for bookings, like Thompson's "couples hotels" or Ving's "sunprime hotels", which are very popular.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about Regency Cliff with Trip Advisor readers. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that it fulfilled your expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We chose the Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel at random from the Easy Jet Holiday list! And did we choose well, this hotel is well situated built on the cliff all bedrooms have sea views and balconies, large spacious well equipped rooms, scrupulously clean, with a flat screen T/V, mini bar, hair-dryer, and sundries.
A very friendly welcome is afforded to everyone on arrival by the very pleasant and efficient receptionists. Who speak several languages and are very knowledgeable regarding trips etc. which can be arranged through reception. There is a very comfortable lounge and bar area with a well stocked and equipped bar staffed by friendly bar people. There is also a well run restaurant international style food with a Portuguese influence.
What a great surprise to able to eat breakfast outdoors on the terrace in December which comprised both continental and English breakfast buffet style. We cannot speak too highly regarding the way the hotel is managed, and we shall return. We were fortunate to stay for New Year Celebrations and a Gala Dinner, which was most enjoyable and the firework display which seems to take place all over the island was really something to behold as we sat on the terrace and drank our champagne and raisins. The position of the hotel allows superb views into the centre of Funchal and nine cruise ships could be seen at anchor also watching this world famous firework display. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Some other guest we met in the hotel had been coming back every since the hotel opened in 2003 and others seven years and five years, got to be good!

Room Tip: Floors 2 to 4 are best,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your holiday and that you were pleased with our Staff and services. It is always with great pleasure that we acknowledge that our guests are willing to recommend Regency Cliff and considering returning after a first visit.

We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you, hopefully in a very ear future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Nothing bad to say about this hotel. Everything was perfect from the staff to the breakfast. And view is simply amazing. You should wake up early so you can have your breakfast on the terrace. The hotel is located on Estrada monumental which means you have a lot malls and restaurants near by. They also provide a shuttle bus to the the city center which you have to book a day before and it's free of charge. You also have promenade do lido right in front of the hotel. Loved it and we will go back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday in our hotel.

We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel is situated well, with wonderful views towards Funchal. The rooms are spotlessly clean and spacious. For two people the size was comfortable and it wAs well equipped. Upon asking, I was issued with a hair dryer and ironing board. The staff were friendly and helpful. They are clearly accustomed to dealing with older travellers and indeed the hotel is well suited to the over 55 category. The pool outside is quite small but well situated. Overall we were well satisfied with the quality of this accommodation and the tariff charged was very reasonable. The location in the main hotel district was average but views perhaps better than most hotels as the Regency Cliff is on an outcrop of land looking back to Funchal.

Breakfast is served in a light and spacious room with the option of sitting outside on the terrace. The selection was fine without being in any way memorable or delicious. However the dinners were a real disappointment. The ambience was really lacking, with bright lighting and overly formal service creating an awkward atmosphere. The food itself was very poor value, and the less said about it the better. For example, one night I ordered a pasta that was in no way fresh and included what I am sure were tinned mushrooms and cotton wool like prawns. While it may be convenient to eat in the hotel from time to time, you can do so much better for less money nearby.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to the lift well as it can be slightly noisy. Many rooms are located below the rece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review which had our best attention. We are pleased to learn that overall you were pleased with our hotel and Staff; however it is always with great regret that I acknowledge that we were not able to fulfill 100% the expectations of our guests.

The Team knows that it is difficult to please all our guest’s especially when it concerns to food as we have people coming from so many different countries and of course with different tastes.

We assure you that during the week you stayed at Regency Cliff this was the only complain we had about the food but of course we accept and respect your opinion and for this we apologize.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in the future,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We originally stayed at this hotel by picking it out of the tour company catalogue and thoroughly enjoyed our week stay. Since then we have returned for two more holidays. The hotel is well located, away from Funchal centre, but this is easily accessable by bus or taxi from near to the front door, but also within walking distance. The are several restaurants, and bars close by, and the Madeira Forum shopping mall is a 5 minute walk. Being built onto the side of the cliff gives all the hotel rooms an excellant sea view, and breakfast on the terrace is something to look forward to. Most of the very obliging and friendly staff have been at the hotel since it was opened, and it was nice to be recognised on our return. We shall return, and would not think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are delighted to acknowledge that you enjoyed once again your holiday at Regency Cliff.

Our Team looks forward to the pleasure of welcoming you, hopefully in a very near future.

With Warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal
Address: Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#15 Family Hotel in Funchal
#16 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeira Regency Cliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.