We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another relaxing holiday at the Regency Cliff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Regency Cliff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Madeira Regency Cliff to your Saves list
Madeira Regency Cliff
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Package
Ranked #14 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stratford-upon-Avon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Another relaxing holiday at the Regency Cliff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We originally stayed at this hotel by picking it out of the tour company catalogue and thoroughly enjoyed our week stay. Since then we have returned for two more holidays. The hotel is well located, away from Funchal centre, but this is easily accessable by bus or taxi from near to the front door, but also within walking distance. The are several restaurants, and bars close by, and the Madeira Forum shopping mall is a 5 minute walk. Being built onto the side of the cliff gives all the hotel rooms an excellant sea view, and breakfast on the terrace is something to look forward to. Most of the very obliging and friendly staff have been at the hotel since it was opened, and it was nice to be recognised on our return. We shall return, and would not think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are delighted to acknowledge that you enjoyed once again your holiday at Regency Cliff.

Our Team looks forward to the pleasure of welcoming you, hopefully in a very near future.

With Warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    182
    28
    2
    7
See reviews for
82
544
25
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lodz, Poland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We are a relatively young couple and we spent 1 week in Regency Cliff in early December. The hotel is located very conviniently, at Estrada Monumental, so you can walk to several shopping malls and bars. There are plenty of good restaurants below and around, some supermarkets etc at walking distance (3/10 minutes), and also a big public recreational area down the cliff.
We also liked in it:
~ The turistic bus and regular bus both stop almost at the doors and if you want to walk to Funchal itself it is about 20 minutes.
~ The hotel is rather small, not overcrovded, you can resolve easily all the issues at the reception
~ We had a superior sea wiev room at the 2nd floor and it was excellent, spacious and had a good, clean bathroom, marvelous ocean view with no obstacles at all, so we enjoyed both sunrises and sunsets from our balcony.
~ With a copious, tasty breakfast buffet style we found it a very good price/quality choice
~ Personal was very helpful since the booking till we left, caring for our comodity and a nice compliment detail was a small basket of fruit at our arrival
~ nice outside terrace with splendid views, for breakfast or dinner, at Mistral restaurant, with small garden and chairs to enjoy your cup of tea, coffe or a drink

What we didn't lliked was:
~ Very small, symbolic pools, the inside one was maybe 6 meters long, the outside even smaller
~ At the webpage the hotel announces it's gym as well equipped... There are 3 old machines and a bench...But to tell the truth it was empty all the time, so probably it will be all yours if you decide to use it, and also facing ocean
~ The parking at the hotel is free, but they have only several park places, like 12 or 16, so first come, first park (FCFS)
~ The pillows were very hard and not comfortable, but it's a metter of personal preferences, we prefere flat ones

Overall impression is good, we possibly would return.
Most of the clients of this hotel are seniors so don't expect too much attraction if you are under 30 or even 40

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, which had our best attention. We are glad to learn that overall you enjoyed your holiday and that you would consider returning.

Please have in mind on your next visit:
- The hotel has soft pillows available, please ask housekeeping or reception
- Just in front of the hotel there are free parking spaces from 20h00 till 08h00

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

After several visits to this hotel, standards continue to be maintained and the staff are always very attentive. The rooms are a good size and balconies are great with fabulous sea views. The location of the hotel is good for local transport.We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view , which is great. Quiet hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank for taking the time to share your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. It is always very rewarding for the whole Team to welcome repeated guests. We are delighted to learn that after several visits to Regency Cliff we still manage to fulfill your expectations.

We thank you for your continued support and loyalty.

We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming again,

With Warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Well run and very comfortable. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a quality holiday. Stayed a week and found nothing to complain about. Good food, intelligent staff who obviously enjoy their guests staying at their hotel. Very good management who are on site and very approachable.

Room Tip: Best kept secret sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holiday in our hotel and hope to see you back in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just returned to the UK after a weeks stay at this delightful hotel.We had booked the hotel via Trivago and got an excellent rate for bed and breakfast.The hotel staff from the young manageress to the room maids were both friendly and helpful.All areas of the hotel appeared very clean including the large bedroom,lounge,dining room,pool, gym and outside area.Our bedroom on the ' least popular '1st floor was fine,had a lovely view of the ocean from the balcony and it made for easy access to the pools and outside areas. Breakfast was excellent with a fine choice of craft baked breads,fruits,hot buffet and chilled cheeses,meats.etc.The hotel seemed busy considering it was out of season and one could see why. The hotel had great access to buses and taxis to the town centre but also benefited from a good selection of local restaurants and Forum shopping centre within 5 minutes walk.Lovely walks along the sea promenade was a another option within easy reach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad to learn that you were pleased with the service provided by our Team and that you enjoyed your holiday.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just returned from two weeks at the Madeira Regency Cliff. As always the staff were without exception welcoming, helpful and hard working. We are looking forward to returning again in the new year. The hotel is clean and the rooms have fabulous views.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for your continued support and loyalty during the past years.

We are delighted to learn that after your 7th visit, 2nd this year, we still manage to fulfill your expectations.

Thank you for sharing your valued opinion.

Regency Cliff Team looks forward to welcoming you next 31st December .

With Warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hotel was exactly what we needed for a relaxing holiday.
First line to the sea, swimming pool, nice breakfast area and the food was really good. The room was big and very quiet, even being next to the swimming pool.
The hotel staff was helpful, willing to give the best tips on things to do or places to visit.
Almost in front of the hotel was a bus stop that could take us to the city center in 10 minutes.
And in front of the hotel it was a swimming pool complex that had different pools including a sea platform that was great!
A taxi ride in the night was not so expensive (around 12€) from city center to the hotel.
I truly recommend this hotel for all its comfort and peace.
About Madeira there's a lot of things to do. I recommend scuba diving, a trip to Porto Santo, "Carros do Monte" and Cable Car.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to acknowledge that you had a relaxing holiday and that the hotel was exactly what you needed. We thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor redears.

We all look forward to welcoming you, hopefully in a very near future.

Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Address: Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#15 Family Hotel in Funchal
#16 Business Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeira Regency Cliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.