We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL in a shabby part of town.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Regency Cliff

Save Saved
You added Madeira Regency Cliff to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Madeira Regency Cliff
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Winter Package
Ranked #13 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL in a shabby part of town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We dont normally do this sort of holiday ( a week in the same place ) But we thought we would give it a try !. Well , if you love sandy beaches and long walks on flat ground DONT go here !! . We knew it was hilly, but we did not realise that you had to be a mountain goat to get around !!! There are NO sandy beaches on Maderia, rock beaches and BLACK beaches but NO sand. Any way its not our sort of thing , but having said that, the Hotel is EXCELLENT clean friendly great staff good rooms with QUIET good working air-con Great prices at the bar with an excellent choice of cocktails and the food is GOOD aswell. I said it was a shabby part of town, well to be fair if you like BENIDORM I suppose it,s not shabby--- just not to our taste. Hire a car or book some trips , get out and explore the island, it is quite beautifull

Room Tip: Avoid room 410 the balcony is SMALL
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments; we are pleased to know that your stay in our hotel met your expectations.

Regarding Madeira Regency Cliff location, the hotel is situated by the sea and it stands on a vertical cliff with superb views of the Atlantic Ocean. This is a quiet, residential area, 3 km away from Funchal, close to the seafront promenade and a selection of local shops, restaurants and bars.

Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    164
    27
    2
    6
See reviews for
76
495
23
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley uk
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed here for a week at the beginning of June and had a great week, Room was fantastic with a great view. Only criticism was the one evening we did eat in the food was very poor, having asked for medium steak we were served with 2 raw steaks, we sent them back and had to wait ages to be served again, and when it did come the potato side dish had ice crystals in. At this point we gave up and left. It was a shame as everything else was superb, I have given excellent rating for the hotel only not for the restaurant. (The breakfasts were fine though ).

After we left we realised we had left our keys in the safe so many thanks to Graça Jardim for the excellent service in getting the keys back to us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you review and comments about our hotel. We are glad that overall you had a nice stay. We are sorry that your expectations about our Restaurant were not fulfilled. This was in fact a bad day, with two of our cookers absent due to illness, however I assure that all measures were taken in order to avoid future situations. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and hope that the fact that no amount was charged for dinner helped to minimize the situation.

We all hope to see you back in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We have just come back from 6 days in Madeira. The hotel is excellent with a high standard of cleanliness. Bedding and towels were changed regularly.We found all the staff helpful and polite.Our room was 106 right next to the pool and we found no problems being there. It is a standard room but had ample space for storage. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and there was good choice. We had a car and were always able to park in the space provided. I would certainly think of staying there again. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very glad to learn that you had a great holiday in Madeira and that you were impressed by our standard of cleanliness.

We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in a very near future.

Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Just had a weeks stay at the Madeira Regency Cliff (22nd - 29th June) and can't honestly say anything bad about it, excellent stay and hotel. As other reviews have mentioned it has 2 quite small pools which are probably not ideal for children, which probably accounts for us not seeing any staying at the hotel during the week. It's a very quiet place to stay, only us and a couple of other people around after 9.30pm - this was a good thing, no hassle, no noise :-). I'd echo comments about the staff, all are very professional but perhaps one or two are not overly friendy, didn't find this a problem though, still pleasant to deal with. Only slight negative is that it's a bit away from the town centre but the hotel puts on free taxis to transport you there & back if you don't fancy the walk...most trips pick up directly from the hotel so no problem there either.

Whilst on Madeira we did a couple of trips and a couple of hikes/walks...We booked everything with "Happy Tours" having read several very positive reviews but must admit our experience with them was mixed...minibus on "West Island Tour" was very poor, aircon worked intermittently as did the minibus, well worn inside too..certainly not "luxury". The guide wasn't great either, did what he had too and no more. The 2nd trip "Nuns Valley" had slightly better minibus and much better guide, we stayed far too long in the small village in the valley though, nothing really to do or see for more than 10 minutes. By far the best trip was the "Pico Ruivo hike", which despite been booked with HT was actually run by "The Adventure Company" and very good they were too, guide was excellent and the hike absolutely breathtaking...if you do one walk on Madeira do this one!!! Not as hard as you'd think, we walk frequently in Snowdonia and the Lake District and this wasn't as difficult as most walks we do...there are some preciptious drops alongside the paths though, which have safety fences, so if you suffer vertigo it might not be for you...stunning walk though!!

Another walk that's well worth doing is the coastal walk from Baia D'Abra, it's a pretty easy walk through impressive coastal scenery, it's easy to organise yourself too...catch the 113 bus from Funchal (heading to Canacal) & Baia D'Abra is the last stop - the path is obvious all the way.

Overall had a wonderful week in Madeira, to be completely honest it's not somewhere we'll go back to as it's a small island & I feel as though we saw a large part of it, wonderful place for hiking if you've never been before though

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We are pleased to learn that overall you had a wonderful week.
Regarding the Trips, there are several companies in Madeira organizing tours but although sometimes the price is very attractive, we have to admit that not all of them have a very high standard of service. Our Reception Staff will be more than willing to inform our guests of the best tour companies operating in Madeira.

Once again we thank you for your contribution.

Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I have just returned from spending a week at this hotel and I will certainly return. Having read so many positive reviews I was expecting a pleasant experience, but the hotel and Madeira itself, were both beyond my expectations. My partner and I had a superior room (room 301) and it had a fantastic view and was very spacious and clean. The staff at the hotel were more than happy to help with any issue we had and always appeared to have a positive vibe. We were Bed & Breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed walking to and from Funchal looking for different eating establishments for our evening meal (although you can eat at the hotel). The pool areas were very quiet and pleasant and we had no trouble looking for a sunbed. If you are looking for a fairly quiet hotel with very good facilities and well furnished rooms and lobby areas, I would highly recommend The Madeira Regency Cliff.

Room Tip: Rooms above the second floor are recommended as you are away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to acknowledge that Regency Cliff exceeded your expectations and that you will return.

We would like to clarify that you had in fact booked a superior room but due to the fact that we were fully booked you were upgraded to a Premium Room, which has indeed a fantastic view and is very spacious. Our Premium rooms also have some amenities which are not included in our superior rooms, such as, Nespresso coffee machine and trouser press.

Thank you for recommending our Hotel. We all look forward to welcoming you in a very near future.

Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This is our 2nd stay and won't be our last. The manager and staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful -from the taxi at the airport to our return journey. Nothing was too much trouble. The fact that this is a small hotel makes all the difference. Great location with lovely gardens and terrace.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holiday at Regency Cliff.
We sincerely hope to see you back in a very near future.

Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLANDUDNO
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We returned last week having stayed between 15th - 22nd June. Overall this hotel offers very good facilities, namely; well furnished and comfortable lobby area and bar (happy hour offers good value for money drinks), dining both inside and outside on the terrace (weather too hot for our liking during our stay), we only took breakfast, this was ok but we've had better at other 4* hotels, pool area is clean and quiet (no problem with sunbeds, sometimes you could literally have heard a pin drop), pool bar pleasant with reasonably priced drinks and food.
Staff are efficent, but we didn't find them overly friendly as previously reported in other reviews.
Overall the communal facilities were of a standard we anticipated having read several reviews before our arrival - very pleasant and of a good standard.
Here comes the BUT! We booked last November with Jet2 and paid extra for superior room. We were allocated room 215. To be fair this is a large room and furnished to a high standard. But is basically situated in the stairwell where the lifts and door to the pool area are also located. The floor in not carpeted. In essence from 7am onwards we were continually disturbed by foot steps on the tiled floor and the lifts (there is a loud beep with every touch of the buttons). The balcony is situated directly above the pool bar, our view consisted of a 12 storey residential block and so called sea view virtually totally obstructed by 2 large palm trees, to be honest we could have been in Benidorm with that view. We were already aware of several requests from other guests dissatisfied with their rooms (other Jet2 customers) and that there was a 2 - 3 day wait for a change, something we decided not to persue with the hassle of re-packing etc. Jet2 offer very competative prices, but it is apparent that this is probably because they block book the less desirable rooms.
We thoroughly enjoyed our week in Madeira, saw some fantastic sites (cable cars, East island day trip) and at night the 'Hole in one' pub (great beer garden and good pub grub). The hotel management should seriously consider mothballing room 215 as it undermines the overall standard of the hotel and facilities. Based on the description of rooms provided by other tripadvisor reviews, we feel a little bit cheated!

Room Tip: Contact hotel before before arrival and make sure you're not allocated room 215 (and probably 21...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment which had our best attention.

We would like to clarify that our rooms have different views, some overlooking the East side others front sea view but from all of them it is possible to see the ocean. Some guests prefer the rooms overlooking the East side others prefer front sea view. We understand that not all of our guests have the same preferences and we are always willing to change rooms whenever requested. Normally the rooms are changed if not on same day, the day after. Most of the times, and whenever requested, we help our guests with the change, so re-packing is not really needed.
We would like to assure you, and all Trip Advisor readers, that we do not block the less desirable rooms for Jet2 guests. The hotel has been during the month of June almost every day fully booked, we are going to close the month with 96% occupancy, so it is normal that room 215, as well as, all the others, were several times blocked for different guests, booked with different Tour Operators.
It is with always with great regret that we acknowledge that a guest was not pleased with the room but preferred not to inform us during the stay. After checking out there is not much the hotel can do.

Once again we apologize for not fulfilling your expectations.

Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Address: Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeira Regency Cliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;