We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Island Madeira” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Regency Cliff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Madeira Regency Cliff to your Saves list
Madeira Regency Cliff
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Winter Package
Ranked #14 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Island Madeira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We have just come back from a weeks stay at the Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel and already we are looking to return next year. Everything was brilliant no complaints at all. The food is exceptionally good, four of the nights were waiter service which made a lovely change, our room was huge and so clean. All the staff were very friendly and helpful we were made to feel really welcome. We had a wonderful holiday and didn't want to come home. It was so nice to sit outside and eat your breakfast looking out to sea. Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your holiday in our hotel and that you are already looking to return next year.

Regency Cliff Team looks forward to welcoming you.

Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    166
    27
    2
    7
See reviews for
76
507
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boyle, Ireland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

The Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel in Funchal Madeira is well worth its four star rating!.
We stayed at the end of March 2012. It was our very first trip to Madeira. When we entered the spacious room we were taken aback with just how beautiful the view was from our balcony.
All of the rooms are facing the sea. There was great attention to detail, tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge/ mini bar which was a great boost.
The regency Cliff hotel is a very modern hotel, with excellent happy helpful staff. The hotel is surrounded by amazing scenic walks (some quite hilly).
You can catch a bus just outside the door will take you to Funchal. We did not have dinner at the hotel, preferring instead, to explore the local very well priced restaurants in Funchal and in the surrounding area. There were many restaurants all good. There is also a very nice shopping centre with supermarket where you can have lunch which is priced by weight, in fact the salad I had there was one of the best I had during my stay. Two meals for under 10 euros was great value.
The breakfast at the hotel was delicious, with a wide choice of cheese, yoghurt, fruits cereals, cooked bacon and eggs, as well as pastries and breads.
it was buffet style and you could sit outside on the large deck overlooking the sea, a real WOW factor. A tip either go early or late for the best tables outside.
The price for one week in a room with sea view was about £550, for two.
We booked through holidays4you, but we were advised by the hotel that it was better to book direct, for best value and no booking charges.
Slight irritation,
I would have preferred that the water left out in our room on arrival, was actually free, but that was not the case, and I think the hotel should make it clear that there was a charge of 1.80 E for each. But that was a small thing and did not detract from what was a very enjoyable stay.
There are many larger hotels in Madeira, but the Regency cliff was for us far better for being smaller.
A great stay, would definitely recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in a smaller hotel with great personal service.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view, and are of a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Regency Cliff and that you would definitely recommend our hotel to anyone.
We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a very near future.

Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel and we would certainly return some time in the future. The staff were always very friendly and helpful, the room was always well looked after and very clean. The position of the hotel enabled us to have easy access to Funchal and most of the surrounding area. The breakfast was good and plentiful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for review and kind comments. We are delighted to learn that you had a nice holiday in our hotel.
It was indeed with great pleasure that the Team of Madeira Regency Cliff welcomed you for the 2nd time.

We all look forward to welcoming you in a very near future.

Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courbevoie, France
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed for four nights at the Regency cliff. Upon arrival, we appreciated the staff who helped us because our luggage was lost at the airport. We had the the chance to be upgraded for free in a deluxe room with two balconies overlooking the sea. The room was big, clean and with a wonderful view. We tremedously enjoyed the breakfast on the terrace every morning. The hotel is located near some great restaurants. You can walk to the old town of Funchal along the lovely promenade or you can take the bus just in front of the hotel. It is really nice to be in a human-sized hotel with caring staff. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 210 with two balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holiday at Regency Cliff. We are also glad to learn that you appreciated the upgrade to one of our Jr. Suites, which was only possible as we were fully booked. We have 6 Jr. Suites and they all have a magnificent view to the sea from both balconies.

We truly hope to welcome you in a very near future.

Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This was our first visit to Madeira and our first visit to this Hotel. We went with friends and we all loved it. The staff were so friendly and welcoming, the rooms were lovely very clean and tidy with fantastic views. We had breakfast on the terrace every morning a perfect way to start the day. Will definately go back....can't wait!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing you opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful holiday and that you are considering returning to our Island and to our hotel.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you need any assistance when planning your next visit to Madeira.

We all look forward to welcoming you,

Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

stayed at this hotel it was everything i had red about. Staff very friendly and nothing to much trouble, was upgraded to a deluxe room which was lovely and beautiful views over the sea. excellent standard. If you want to eat out in the evening and like Italian try Balisicos at the end of the promonade.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to learn that we fulfilled your expectations and that you enjoyed your holiday.

We all look forward to welcoming you in a very near future.

Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with friends and we found the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful from the maids to the management they went out of there way to make our stay at the regency cliff a memorable one The view from our room was beautiful and breakfast on the terrace every morning was perfect can't wait to go back.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad to learn that you were pleased we our service and that we managed to make your stay memorable.
We all look forward to welcoming you in a very near future.

Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Address: Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeira Regency Cliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.