We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not be disappointed, excellent.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Albergaria Dias

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Funchal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Albergaria Dias
Save
You added Hotel Albergaria Dias to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Bela de Sao Tiago 44-B, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Belper, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
162 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“You will not be disappointed, excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks at this Hotel. You will read from other reviews about the cold pool and beds being a little hard. Whilst true, this hotel should be judged on the whole experience. It is located in the old city and is accessed by a gated drive at the front and at the back there is another gate opening on the street of painted doors. It really is an oasis.
On arrival staff provide a tour of the facilities and offer a free drink in the bar. They are very friendly and helpful. Mr Dias (senior and junior) seem totally committed to ensuring that you have a good time. The Bar is open all day and offers snacks at lunch. It doesn't provide evening meals ( there are around 30 restaurants in the vicinity - why would they). However, they will prepare a salad that you can order and eat in the evening.
The breakfast is excellent, fresh Madeiran produce and plenty of choice.
The rooms above floor 1 are what you would expect from a hotel. Perhaps a kettle would be a cheap but welcome addition.The rooms have good views of the harbour and sea beyond. We managed to move into the apartment on the top floor on our second week and this was a really good set of rooms with a huge balcony, good views and loungers. The rooms were spotless, so much so I actually tried to find some dust without success. The TV had sky news, and BBC entertainment and several English speaking channels that were dubbed. There is wifi in the public areas downstairs and a computer that you are free to use. As has been mentioned the library is huge with books that will surely satisfy anyone on holiday.
The staff could not be more helpful and are a credit to the hotel.The pool is not heated but hey I tried it and have to say gave me quite a buzz. (15 degrees!)
The hotel is only a short walk to the market, cable car and shopping area in a perfect spot. The restaurants are only yards from the back gate and all we tried were very good.
Many guests go back year after year and you can understand why. This place allows you to relax and enjoy your holiday without stress.

Room Tip: Higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    25
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
314
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from a fantastic week at the albergaria Dias . We'd never stayed in a small and friendly Thompson hotel before and were delighted with the friendly personal service we received. We would definitely return again . It was my "60" birthday while we were there and the hotel gave me some lovely flowers and the reception staff even sang me happy birthday !! The location was ideal as the old town was directly accessed from the back of the hotel through a small gate ( reminiscent of the secret garden!), which was well lit in the evening. Plenty of places to eat within a minute or two of the hotel. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This was our second stay in the Albergaria Dias although we have visited Madeira many times.
The location is ideal for the Old Town, the harbour and the cablecar. The Dias family and their staff are very friendly and deserve the many awards on show from travel companies.
If you like a harbour view to watch the cruise ships arrive and depart, a large private terrace and a spacious suite on the top floor then pay a little extra. Arrange this direct with the hotel before you travel. It's well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

All the reviews here have described The Albergaria Dias perfectly. The hotel was in a great location,,,,Funchal is very hilly so a few steps away and we were in the heart of the old town. The Dias family richly deserve all the awards they have gained. The staff were great, the welcome warm and the breakfasts amazing. Miss it all already. Thankyou!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We have just returned from a week here and miss it already! We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived with a cool glass of beer by the pool. Unfortunately it was a lilttle chilly for swimming but looked lovely. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The hotel is ideally positioned near the old town and also for catching buses which we did frequently to walk the levadas. I was thrilled with the gorgeous flowers that were left in my room on my birthday. Thank you! They are now in my kitchen to remind me of our great time in Madeira.
Breakfasts were great. I loved the home made jams and especially the 'famous' fruit salad. Unfortunately we had a very loud snorer next door otherwise I'm sure my sleep would have been rated 'excellent'!

Room Tip: We were on 3rd floor with a partial sea view which was great. Obviously the higher up you go the bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We were there for Christmas 2013 and I can sum up this hotel in a few words: I truly hope that we will be able to go there again for Christmas 2014! Brilliant hotel, lovely people and I loved the poncha!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rethymnon, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

It's very difficult to write a review about this lovely little place as it's all been said. it was our first trip back to Funchal in 12 years. Previous visits we had always stayed in the Lido area. Never again after staying at the Albergaria. Funchal is still as lovely as before especially coming up to Christmas. We had lunch a couple of times at the Ideal bar overlooking the small park area where the men play cards. You can get a delicious steak sandwich for €2.50.
We didn't like the hassle outside the restaurants. I'm sure they would do better if they let people make up their own minds where to eat.
We are hoping our next visit to Funchal will be for the Carnival in 2015. Will definitely book again with Thomson

Room Tip: We paid extra for 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Quinta Jardins do Lago
#2 of 88 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 804 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)
1.7 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 88 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Residence Porto Mare Porto Bay
1.2 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 88 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 785 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albergaria Dias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albergaria Dias

Address: Rua Bela de Sao Tiago 44-B, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Albergaria Dias 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Albergaria Dias Funchal
Albergaria Dias Hotel Funchal
Hotel Albergaria Dias Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Albergaria Dias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.