We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Albergaria Dias

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Funchal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Albergaria Dias
Save
You added Hotel Albergaria Dias to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Bela de Sao Tiago 44-B, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
preston
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was our first visit to Madeira and we couldn't have chosen anywhere better to stay. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome.the rooms weren't quite ready so we were shown around the ground floor and given a welcome drink on the terrace. Then we were shown to our room and what a lovely surprise we were given the suite which had a large living area and bedroom, and two bathrooms one housing the bath and the other the shower, wc etc. There was a small fridge in the bedroom. Then the best bit was the large balcony with two Sun loungers and umbrella umbrellas a table and chairs with beautiful views over funchal and the harbour.
Out the gate at the back led to rua de de santa maria which is the oldest street in funchal and is full of restaurants, yes they do ask you if you want to eat in their restaurants as you pass, we just said no thanks and carried on walking, some are more persistent than others. The hotel is central for all the sights of Funchal if you don't mind climbing the hills to some of them. It is very handy for the cable car to Monte.
How any one can complain about the breakfast amazes me. There is a choice of hot and cold foods, consisting of eggs alternating between fried, scrambled or omelettes, bacon, pancakes, then there are at least 8 different types of bread and rolls, a variety of ham and cheese, jams and fruit, not forgetting the famous fruit salad, there was always madeira cake as well and yogurts. To drink there were 4 different juices and a variety of teas and coffee.
They don't do meals but you can get sandwiches, toasties etc during the day which were very good and reasonably priced.
The hotel and rooms are spotlessly clean, very peaceful even though there is major building work going on at the seafront you could hear very little in the Hotel and grounds.
We didn't use the Hotel bar as we had a drink with our meal and then just relaxed on our balcony or in our room.
All in all an excellent hotel and a wonderful holiday.
Thank you to all the staff at the Hotel Albergaria Dias.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    24
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
274
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just arrived home from a fantastic 7 night holiday at this hotel (wish we had booked 14). I think it is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in (and we are frequent travellers worldwide).
It is a small boutique hotel - spotlessly clean. The owner and staff are excellent - very friendly, welcoming, and professional. The rooms are modern and very comfortable. We paid extra for a sea view on the third floor, which also overlooked the old town buildings and across the bay with a view of Reids Palace Hotel. There are also two rooms on the fourth floor which I am sure would have nice views over the old town. There is extensive work being carried out at the Harbour front but there is no noise at this hotel and once you are aware of the work you do not notice it. Should all be lovely when its finished.
The breakfasts at Albergaria are excellent - everything you could want for breakfast and Mr Dias makes a fantastic fresh mixed fruit salad, which many other visitors have commented on. You can order light lunches - sandwiches, toasted sandwiches, chips, and we tried Mr Dias traditional fresh tomato soup which is delicious. They also serve a variety of drinks - again we particularly enjoyed Mr Dias fresh lemonade. We also enjoyed the cocktails.
The dining room is very nice and there is a lovely terrace overlooking the pool. Excellent swimming pool and very pretty and well kept gardens.
The hotel also knows English speaking taxi drivers and we used them to take us all over the island - they were also excellent. They take you to place that coaches cannot get to and it is a much nicer way to see the Island as you can take your time. We shared the taxi with another couple which made it cheaper.
The old town is lovely to walk around. There are many very good restaurants (which I will review separately). It is true that the waiters do try to get you into their restaurant, but its is not a problem - we had a chat and a laugh with them all as we were walking round and they are all very good humoured even if you don't eat at their restaurant.
We treated ourselves to afternoon tea at Reids Palace Hotel. A lovely experience.
So .... yes, Hotel Albergaria Dias is a fantastic hotel on a fantastic island with fantastic people ......... we don't usually go back ..... but we will be back to your hotel Mr Dias.
Thank you for making our holiday so special.
Ann + Derek XX

Room Tip: Higher floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel staff are OK.
The breakfast was very poor missing allot of small details- the fitness centre is also very very poor - not many pieces of equipment, Near the hotel the Old part of the town have many restaurants and bares and are full of people trying to get us in their restaurants and bares it was not nice.
The Island itself (we hired a car) is absolutely beautifull from side to side (Porto Moniz, Santana, Curral das Freiras, Monte all really beautiful ,the cable car up to the Jardim Monte Palace is highly recommend also.
Will be back to Madeira but not to the same hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Well another fantastic week ... Thanks to Mr Dias his family and the brilliant staff.... The hotel is as spotless as ever with the warmest welcome you could dream of ... The food is fresh, home made and the cake is delicious, the whole team can not do enough to make you have the best holiday . My friend and I have just had the most relaxing week ever and will be back next year without a doubt..... Thanks x

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Well! I have been in many lovely hotels but have never been made so welcome as last week by all the staff led by Cecelia at Albergaria Dias
Mr Dias Snr and Jnr are both charming and are round and about all day seeing to their guests So impressive ! And they're enjoying themselves too!
I do have a mobility problem and the cobbles in the old town are a problem especially if you're the one pushing the wheelchair ! But Cecelia organised our personal taxi driver Joe which solved the problem He took us to and from the hotel informing us of all the interesting parts of Funchal Lovely man !
So. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough . Come and try for yourselves !!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 1st floor. Lovely. No complaints. Immaculate !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Well, I have been home an hour and just booked to go back in October. Exceptionally friendly hotel with extremely attentive staff. Nothing is too much trouble. Close to local restaurants. Guests receive a personal welcome from the owner, Mr Dias, who is there early every morning to prepare breakfast and check on his guests. Only 35 rooms so has a personal touch. Close to local attractions. We met a number of guests who return there year after year...at first I wondered why...but now I know! Not sure why it only has 3 stars as it is much better than some of the higher rated hotels I have stayed at. The only fault was that I should have booked 2 weeks instead of one! Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 309. Perfect view of pool, garden and harbour / sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have just returned from out third stay in this hotel. Frankly we would not want to stay anywhere else. We like to never stay in the same place twice but the Albergaria Dias is the one exception to this rule which should say all that is necessary to readers of this review.
We are very particular and this hotel ticks all the boxes. Firstly it is small - 35 rooms - which is the perfect size. Secondly it is in the perfect location in the old town but at the same time really secluded. The vehicle entrance from Rua Bela de Sao Tiago is gated and can only be opened by reception or by remote control issued to guests if you need one. The pedestrian entrance/exit is by a passageway down to the next street in the old town (gated) and only a few yards from the castle, restaurants and cable car etc. Thirdly, as other reviewers have said, the Dias family and the staff are as friendly welcoming and helpful as any we have experienced. The rooms are comfortable and well fitted. The entire hotel is exceptionally clean and well decorated. The patio area and outdoor swimming pool surrounded by plants and flowers is delightful. There is a small fitness area, sauna and library. But the `piece de resistance' is the breakfast particularly the fresh fruit salad which we salivate thinking about as soon as we book to stay again. As you will gather we love this place. As a consequence of its quality it is a hotel that gets fully booked early and you have to book well ahead. Please do not all of you out there book to stay otherwise we will not be able to get in next time we want to stay!

Room Tip: There are four floors with just two suites on the top floor. All rooms face south towards the pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Albergaria Dias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albergaria Dias

Address: Rua Bela de Sao Tiago 44-B, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#29 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albergaria Dias 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Albergaria Dias Funchal
Albergaria Dias Hotel Funchal
Hotel Albergaria Dias Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Albergaria Dias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.