We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Albergaria Dias

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Funchal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Hotel Albergaria Dias
Save Saved
You added Hotel Albergaria Dias to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Bela de Sao Tiago 44-B, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Another fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Well another fantastic week ... Thanks to Mr Dias his family and the brilliant staff.... The hotel is as spotless as ever with the warmest welcome you could dream of ... The food is fresh, home made and the cake is delicious, the whole team can not do enough to make you have the best holiday . My friend and I have just had the most relaxing week ever and will be back next year without a doubt..... Thanks x

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    275
    22
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
250
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Well! I have been in many lovely hotels but have never been made so welcome as last week by all the staff led by Cecelia at Albergaria Dias
Mr Dias Snr and Jnr are both charming and are round and about all day seeing to their guests So impressive ! And they're enjoying themselves too!
I do have a mobility problem and the cobbles in the old town are a problem especially if you're the one pushing the wheelchair ! But Cecelia organised our personal taxi driver Joe which solved the problem He took us to and from the hotel informing us of all the interesting parts of Funchal Lovely man !
So. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough . Come and try for yourselves !!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 1st floor. Lovely. No complaints. Immaculate !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Well, I have been home an hour and just booked to go back in October. Exceptionally friendly hotel with extremely attentive staff. Nothing is too much trouble. Close to local restaurants. Guests receive a personal welcome from the owner, Mr Dias, who is there early every morning to prepare breakfast and check on his guests. Only 35 rooms so has a personal touch. Close to local attractions. We met a number of guests who return there year after year...at first I wondered why...but now I know! Not sure why it only has 3 stars as it is much better than some of the higher rated hotels I have stayed at. The only fault was that I should have booked 2 weeks instead of one! Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 309. Perfect view of pool, garden and harbour / sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have just returned from out third stay in this hotel. Frankly we would not want to stay anywhere else. We like to never stay in the same place twice but the Albergaria Dias is the one exception to this rule which should say all that is necessary to readers of this review.
We are very particular and this hotel ticks all the boxes. Firstly it is small - 35 rooms - which is the perfect size. Secondly it is in the perfect location in the old town but at the same time really secluded. The vehicle entrance from Rua Bela de Sao Tiago is gated and can only be opened by reception or by remote control issued to guests if you need one. The pedestrian entrance/exit is by a passageway down to the next street in the old town (gated) and only a few yards from the castle, restaurants and cable car etc. Thirdly, as other reviewers have said, the Dias family and the staff are as friendly welcoming and helpful as any we have experienced. The rooms are comfortable and well fitted. The entire hotel is exceptionally clean and well decorated. The patio area and outdoor swimming pool surrounded by plants and flowers is delightful. There is a small fitness area, sauna and library. But the `piece de resistance' is the breakfast particularly the fresh fruit salad which we salivate thinking about as soon as we book to stay again. As you will gather we love this place. As a consequence of its quality it is a hotel that gets fully booked early and you have to book well ahead. Please do not all of you out there book to stay otherwise we will not be able to get in next time we want to stay!

Room Tip: There are four floors with just two suites on the top floor. All rooms face south towards the pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I had previously stayed in Funchal but this time decided to stay in the old town and chose this hotel. We were not disappointed. From the moment we entered the hotel to be greeted by Mr Dias and the staff to the moment we left, politeness was the watchword , nothing was to much trouble. For those that know Funchal the hotel is situated near the old yellow fort and so in easy reach of the front as well as the centre. The room we had was what we expected and comfortable. The view from the balcony was very good and paid dividends on the Saturday night where we were able to watched an uninterrupted show of fireworks. Breakfast was the normal continental, cereals and some cooked food. However the highlight, and this has been mentioned before, Mr Dias's chopped fruit salad. Always fresh and always very tasty. Snacks were available during the day and we found everything was reasonably priced. Despite the weather being cloudy we spent a bit of time by the pool. The hotel itself is well placed and the outside noise is a bare minimum. You really have to listen to hear any traffic noise. All said a very good experience and if we ever return to Funchal this hotel will be on our list. Thank you to all the staff for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Quiet location in the picturesque old town, much more charm than over in the new area where most of the big resorts are. Charming pool, good breakfast, beautiful views and tons of tropical flowers. The staff were also incredibly nice. Comfortable bed, great shower and bathtub, nice balcony. This is an absolutely lovely hotel and I would whole-heartedly recommend staying here (and would like to return!)

Room Tip: Facing the ocean! I had one over the driveway, which was quieter than the ones over the pool/breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is our third visit to this superb hotel, where we were treated like returning family.
The service & hospitality goes from strength to strength, and the Dias family personally ensure that the breakfast & lunchtime snacks are top quality!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Albergaria Dias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albergaria Dias

Address: Rua Bela de Sao Tiago 44-B, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#32 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albergaria Dias 3.5*
Also Known As:
Albergaria Dias Funchal
Albergaria Dias Hotel Funchal
Hotel Albergaria Dias Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Albergaria Dias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;