We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Albergaria Dias

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Funchal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Albergaria Dias
Save
You added Hotel Albergaria Dias to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Bela de Sao Tiago 44-B, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Preston
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Albergaria Dias Hotel is all it is claimed to be. There is a very warm and friendly reception on arrival both from the staff and the owner Mr Dias. All the staff are extremely pleasant and obliging. Nothing is too much trouble.
The whole place is immaculate, spotlessly clean and the bedroom was perfect with a huge double bed, fridge, T.V, bathrobes, hairdryer and balcony with a good view toward the sea.
Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice. Fresh fruit salad
(delicious), bacon, eggs, tomatoes (if you want an English breakfast) and a whole range of meats and cheeses was on offer.
The hotel serves snacks and salads throughout the afternoon and the bar is open for drinks ‘till late. There is a small library , gym and a sauna!, also a computer which is free to use ( useful for emails and weather at home in our case ! ). There is a pool, which again is kept in immaculate condition, although we never saw anyone using it during our stay. Perhaps this was due to the water temperature at the time.
Being in the Old Town is great as it is only a few minutes from restaurants, cable car, buses, sea front etc. There is a very handy rear entrance by way of a passage from the garden/pool area which means you are in the centre of the old town within a matter of minutes.
Should we decide to return to Madeira in the future, this would be our number one choice. We very much doubt if it could be bettered.

Room Tip: The higher rooms will have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    23
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
272
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We went with Thomson. There are cheaper B&B options in their brochure for Funchal, but those would have to work very hard to provide better value. The management gave us a personal welcome and farewell, and all the staff paid us plenty of attention in between, without being over effusive, a difficult balance to make actually.
There is a great choice for breakfast, and from our perspective I would praise particularly the fruit salad which includes a large selection of the gorgeous fruit available on Madeira, and the fresh rolls of many types. The bedrooms are spacious, the beds are large, and the hotel is well positioned for the old town restaurants and the town centre with the covered market, and bus/taxi options. (We did several Levada walks with the aid of service buses to get to and from them). There is free Wifi in the bar/computer room area. The bar service and lunchtime snacks are excellent. A feature we thought particularly thoughtful was the bathrobes provided which we used to relax in after a mid evening shower. Our towels certainly, and we think also the sheets, were changed during our week there, and the cleaning staff left the rooms immaculate after their daily round.
We are very likely to go back at some point.
Only some VERY minor niggles and I would strongly suggest these do not put you off: the hot food at breakfast was not all that hot and you might find ants in your room, but this seems to be endemic in Madeira and the Canaries,and so don't leave uncovered food; The view from the seaward rooms does include some adjacent derelict buildings (but also the spotless swimming piool and the beautiful garden).

Room Tip: The top level rooms will give the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We arrived at the hotel New Years Eve to see the amazing Firework Display from the harbour and surrounding buildings in Funchal,and Mr Dias Snr and Jnr invited us onto the Penthouse Suite Balcony to watch with nibbles and Champagne.VERY IMPRESSED. The hotel is part of Thomson Small and Friendly ( 35 rooms) The hotel has a wonderful selection of food including Mr Dias Snr sausages,jams,fruit salad,apple pies,etc.
The sea view rooms look over the harbour and the old town of Funchal.
The staff try to be friendly,but professional.we have stayed in several small hotels and all try very hard to remember your names,but it is an International hotel.we didnot hire a car because of car park facilities and also the complex one-way system in Funchal.There are several good restaurants within 200 metres of hotel.we used a local Taxi Driver to take us to Nuns Valley highly recommendable.He parks his Taxi outside Porto Santo Marie Hotel Entrance,his name is Agstinho (1045) Also whilst eating in a restaurant we had the privilage of shaking hands and meeting Roy Hodgeson with our friends Al and Lil. We had a little problem with ants in our room which we had to report to reception a few times,but was dealt with quite quickly.

Room Tip: Sea View Rooms 3rd Floor are best.or Superior and Penthouse Suite on 4th Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Perfect small friendly hotel. Great staff and owners who really care. Great location in the heart of the old town with a view over the bay and much better than hotels in the hotel district. The staff were always very helpful and friendly and the owners Mr Dias Snr and Jnr were perfect hosts. Can't speak highly enough of this great little place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was our third visit, the second this year, to an exceptional hotel. The location, service and cleanliness are second to none. They serve a great breakfast famous for Senor Dias' homemade banana , custard apple etc jams, and fruit salad. If you hate large soulless hotels with indifferent staff & service and lots of facilities which you never use this is the place for you. Thank you all for another great holiday. See you next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel was perfect for us.Warm greeting from the family & staff,a relaxing start.All previous reviews say everthing about this wonderful hotel.Being small & friendly(& much more) works here.The staff are all excellent & you get a genuine feeling they want you to enjoy your holiday & are always helpful.It's a winning combination,thanks for a great time.

Room Tip: just had a normal room(overlooking pool area) & good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Just returned from a week in Madeira, the main disappointment for us being the weather and the torrential downpours which were a constant over the week. Despite this, we had a good holiday.
We stayed in the Albergeria Dias and did pay a supplement for a partial sea view. It was indeed a partial sea view, you could just about see the sea in the distance but the view was fairly obstructed by derelict buildings in front of the hotel. The bedroom was adequate, basically furnished, but immaculately clean. However, we did find that there was a constant smell of cigarette, whether this was due to residents smoking in the bar below our room or a previous resident smoking in the room I am unsure, but we had to keep the patio doors open constantly. Towels and linen were changed regularly. The hotel is an extremely quiet oasis in the Old Town. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful, varied choice and could be eaten outside on the terrace next to the pool or in the bright and airy restaurant. All the staff were extremely friendly, courteous and professional, nothing too much trouble and always a warm welcome from the Dias family any time of the day. There are plenty of repeat guests to the hotel and we can truly appreciate why this would be the case.
Funchal is a good base to explore Madeira. It is a busy capital with plenty of pavement cafes and restaurants to sit and watch the world go by and watch the cruise ships come into dock. You can take a cable car up to Monte and spend time in the botanical gardens. You can take a hop and off bus for a couple of days which is easily booked and take in the sights along the coastline. The artwork in the Old Town is just amazing, each door is painted with a mural, and it was wonderful just to walk through the Old Town looking at the artwork. We hired a car and drove to Santana to see the typical thatched houses and Nun’s Valley where you will find the views breathtaking. Roads are clearly marked and not overly busy although obviously driving in Funchal itself being the capital is the busiest area.
If we were to return to Funchal we would definitely return to this boutique hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Albergaria Dias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albergaria Dias

Address: Rua Bela de Sao Tiago 44-B, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#28 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albergaria Dias 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Albergaria Dias Funchal
Albergaria Dias Hotel Funchal
Hotel Albergaria Dias Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Albergaria Dias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.