We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Regency Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Madeira Regency Club to your Saves list
Madeira Regency Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Carvalho Araujo, 9, Funchal, Madeira 9000 022, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Madeira Regency Club is one of those gems that is almost too good to share. It's a real home from home and having stayed there almost every year for the last 15 years, we should know. If you are looking for somewhere special, Madeira and the Regency Club fit the bill. Enjoy - we do :) Although there are no formal 'kids club activities', the pool is great and this is one of the few hotels in Madeira with direct access to the sea. Our children have always enjoyed themselves and have learned how to snorkel whilst there.There are also life guards on site to keep an eye on those swimming.

Room Tip: Ask for poolside if you have children. You can watch them from the comfort of your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    94
    33
    10
    6
See reviews for
46
129
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Great location in fact one of the better on the Island on the front looking out into the harbour. I agree rooms are a bit tired and dated to but adds to the charm and the buzz about the place. You can join in the activities as little or as much as you like or just chill.
It always seem to miss that extra nasty weather you will get a day where it is raining all around you and you are sitting in that patch of sunshine.
Surrounded by restaurants if you want to venture out some are very good some are expensive and not so good. In good walking distance to all local attractions and has good facilities especially the pool lovely

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea - all are of a good standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Have just spent a week at this hotel. The room was a one bed apartment and very spacious. The room was clean, the kitchen had everything you would need and we had a sea view balcony. The reception staff and staff in the beach bar were all very friendly and helpful with any requests.

The only downside was that our double bed was two singles pushed together, this did sometimes create a bit of a gap!

The hotel is located in a great area. There are a few bars directly behind the hotel, including an Irish bar which serves great food and drink. There is also a shop close by. Funchal town centre is a 10 minute walk past the harbour.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have been 8 times now and it never lets us down! Already booked for next year. The location is fantastic being within walking distance of Funchal. Also a big thanks to Vasco, Ruben and Antonio who are always really helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Some of the reviews here suggest the hotel is tired and in need of a make over. I DISAGREE. I loved my two week stay here in September 2013. The staff are brilliant - Mal is a Richard Branson lookalike "friend" to allcomers and the Maderian staff are kind and considerate. The Madeiran nature reminds me of a trip to Napoli years ago - they can seem "off" in UK terms but once yiou engage them they are the nicest people in the world. I fear some negative reviews of this hotel have overlooked this obvious fact! We loved it so much we have booked our next two summer holidays courtesy of the eccentric Glaswegian Jackie's superb offer. I cannot recommend this hotel enough - it feels like a home unlike the pretentious and uncomfortable 5 star hotels on the island.

Room Tip: the sea view one bedroom apartments are the best in the world!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We're just got back from a week, the apartments are in a good location from centre/harbour. Apartments are a good size, need some updating here and there in decoration and flooring, but overall we were happy. We had a good apartment over looking the pool and corner balcony which was perfect and right by the pool and waterside. We would have been disappointed if we had an apartment in the main building, which is further away. The service, cleaning all very good. Only two of the reception staff though we're friendly and said hello, otherwise we were ignored! Check in was good too. We didn't eat there but sangria was nice. Being by the water meant my husband could fish into the sea which was great and which helped us choose this accommodation over others. The setting made the hotel. The walk into the old town was further than we wanted, but taxi is only 5euros. We did have a lot of mozies/ dand flies overnight and were bitten a lot, which was not good....

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Fourth visit to this time share hotel.
Yes a little tired due to not all weeks sold as time share and then limited appeal as hotel but an
Ideal location less than 10 minutes walk into Funchal centre - saves on bus and taxi costs! Has access to the sea with pool area good views of port and Reids headland.
Staff very friendly and helpful. Accommodation very good, clean and maid service daily. A great second home now.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madeira Regency Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Club

Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo, 9, Funchal, Madeira 9000 022, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
#31 Family Hotel in Funchal
#36 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#41 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Club 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Madeira Regency Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Club Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Madeira
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Club Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeira Regency Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.