We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Regency Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Madeira Regency Club to your Saves list
Madeira Regency Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Carvalho Araujo, 9, Funchal, Madeira 9000 022, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The staff are very helpful and friendly. Located in a great location, just 10mins from the centre of Funchal. The balcony view was fantastic, although the rooms are getting a little tired still acceptable and the location and views easily make up for it. Yacht club prices good, especially at happy hour.
Will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    95
    33
    10
    6
See reviews for
46
130
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have been going to this hotel for over 8 years. It's very friendly,clean and the location is excellent for walking distance to the main town or the busy night life called the Lido. The hotel has an excellent pool and the blue Atlantic is a stone throw away. All apartments are sea few and quite they are clean and have a kitchen

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

As many say, location is ideal with it only 200 yards walk down hill to the harbour; going uphil via back entrance brings you out to many restaurants and the main road into Funchal with Pestana Casino Park Hotel on your right, Governor's house and a nice little park before entry to Funchal proper; the Regency Club is 25 years old this year and furnishings and styles are related to that period; it didn't affect how we felt about unit 102 where we were placed with a large patio facing seawards and view down towards the Yacht Club and the pool area; food and service fine at the Yacht Club but not cheap - but that's typical of most of the restaurants in the area; remember to ask for the special menus all the time because as you might expect they always produce the full menu folders to make you spend more;we visited here on a time share exchange and it was better than many we've visited for facilities, location, staff courtesy & service;

Room Tip: probably most rooms face the sea and expect they have the best outlook; we experienced no noise dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mojacar
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was our 12th visit to the Madeira Regency Club and 15th visit to the Island. The location of this resort is excellent . Located on the seafront only a few minutes walk from the harbour and central Funchal, our apartment on the 2nd floor was clean and comfortable and afforded a wonderful sea view. We could lie in bed drinking our early morning tea and watch the cruise liners approaching the harbour.It has a well equipped kitchenette for those who want to do their own cooking and a wide balcony,for relaxation. The Yacht Club bar at sea level is one of our favourite eating places and provides a wide selection of both local and international dishes at reasonable prices. The large sunbathing area at sea level around the swimming pool gives access to the quay and sea bathing.
The staff are both friendly and efficient and are sure to give you a warm welcome.
We can't wait for our next vistit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

As always great to be back in Madeira. The Madeira Regency Club is superb located with only 5 minutes walk to the city center. The staff smiling and service minded.
The weather was a little cold, but that was to be expected after a chilly winter. All in all another great trip, both Madeira and the Madeira Regency Club can be warmly recommended.

Harald Saelen

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room in the main building facing the sea - great view and lots of sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

A/c is only on from 10:00 to 22:00, so our bedroom, which did not have its own window, was very stuffy. But a fan was supplied as soon as we asked.
The staff were, without exception, excellent; friendly and helpful at all times.
Our one-bedroom suite was spacious, with a lovely sea view, but the bedroom was behind the lounge, so if there had been children sleeping on the sofa bed, I think it would have been claustrophobic in there. Next time (and we will go back!) we'll get a better room.

Room Tip: Get the best room you can afford!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

A week at the Regency Club is just what you need after a long, cold, winter in England. The weather is kind and the staff at the hotel are so welcoming and friendly,every time it is like coming home. The food is good and we enjoy the quizzes and other fun events. Sitting on one's balcony watching the cruise ships coming and going is very relaxing and the easy walk into Funchal is a pleasure.. We always feel very welcome and safe holidaying as single ladies in Madeira. There is always too much to do and see on the island that we have to keep returning.
Susan H

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Madeira Regency Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Club

Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo, 9, Funchal, Madeira 9000 022, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
#32 Family Hotel in Funchal
#36 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#41 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Club 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Madeira Regency Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Club Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Madeira
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Club Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeira Regency Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.