We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Regency Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Madeira Regency Club to your Saves list
Madeira Regency Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Carvalho Araujo, 9, Funchal, Madeira 9000 022, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Barnet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

An excellent location with spacious and comfortable accommodation.
It would be nice if T.V. channels included BBC 1and 2 and ITV.
Not keen on the gravel finish for the sun-beds and would have liked the pool warmer.

Room Tip: the apartments with en-suite shower rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
City of Wells, Somerset
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Have visited the Club many times over the last 22 years, and have been delighted with almost every aspect. It is by far the friendliest resort in Madeira, backed up by friendly and accommodating staff, good facilities, and excellent apartments. Superb situation for visits to Funchal, and breakfast at the Yacht Bar overlooking the lovely pool has to be experienced to be believed. Easy access to the sea is yet another bonus.

Room Tip: All, but a few studios, are sea facing, and higher floors have improved views, and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were booked into this hotel just for bed and breakfast. We know Madeira well so knew of it's excellent location but were surprised with the accommodation given and the general excellence of the hotel including enourmas room, excellent restauarant and general facilities including seaside pool and even ocean bathing oportunity.

It is basically a Time Share appartment facility so as a B and B customer one gets more than usual. It was in excellent decorative order. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyWiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech
Level Contributor
135 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed for most of a week on a timeshare swap to get some sun and away from the snow. The room was a 2 bedroom and very generously sized. The kitchen was a little basic for our taste. The TV was well stocked with a range of channels for all countries and preference. No Wi-fi in the room was a disappointment but the Lobby had a strong signal. We had a wonderful sea view and a massive balcony almost as big as the apartment. A little road noise and some building going on but not excessive. I personally found Madeiran cuisine quite limited. The staff were very polite friendly and helpful. The local supermarkets, except for the big one, were woefully stocked with most fridges closed down. The Club has a very nice pool area and some limited activities for guests.

Room Tip: Just the usual high up and away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ukbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

It was better than we expected and did the job. Very room studio overlooking the sea, pool area, sea and a view of the harbour. Accommodation was fine - very spacious and much bigger than we had hoped for. Very quiet and restful. However the whole place is a little higgledy piggledy in that you go into reception, up the stairs to the 1st floor, then across the garden, across a bridge over a road and then another lift down to your studio room. We had an end room which had a semi-circular balcony which was delightful. We were next to the lift which we thought might cause a problem but didn't. Everything worked well within the studio room which included a kitchenette and all the mod cons. Large TV with 70 channels most this time in English. Food in the Yacht Restaurant and Bar was delightful - we only ever ate there at lunch times and the staff were lovely. Overall a lovely stay - thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Madeira which has been about our 8th year. Only down point is if you are in the main hotel you have a long walk to the swimming pool area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Our fourth visit to Madeira, and the third time at the Regency Club. Things change, a little, but this is still a delightful place that meets most of all our needs. Since our previous review, the breakfast area has been converted, very nicely, into a lounge, and breakfast is now served in the poolside bar/restaurant. This is nice, on nice days, but unfortunately it rained a couple if times this trip and going out and across the bridge was a nuisance. They've also dropped the courtesy bus that used to go into the town centre, which is a big loss, although the walk into town alongside the harbour side has been greatly improved by the authorities and is now very pleasant. Despite these niggles, I don't think we'd want to stay anywhere else. It suits us perfectly.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - some are round the back. And if you're interested, you could ask for sea an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel a number of times because it suits us. It is quite close to the town centre and overlooks the bay. There are a variety of rooms and suites - we had a 1 bedroomed suite, which also had a lounge (leading on to the balcony overlooking the sea and the harbour), a well equipped kitchen and bathroom. The rooms were well appointed, clean and comfortable. There have been some changes since our last stay - the hotel seems to have separated from the Regency chain, although the branding was still evident. The main difference seemed to be the lack of a minibus to take guests to and from the town centre, which may well have caused problems for some guests. We found the walk to town and back pleasant, albeit hilly - but Madeira is hilly!

The Pool and restaurant are over the main road, reached by a walkway; this is a pleasant area to sit and have a drink (and sunbathe and swim too).

All in all, this hotel again lived up to our expectations

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank none50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#26 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,610 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
1.3 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#11 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 919 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#10 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Regency Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Club

Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo, 9, Funchal, Madeira 9000 022, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Club 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Venere, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia and Low Cost Holidays so you can book your Madeira Regency Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Club Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Madeira
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Club Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing