We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again so good.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Savoy Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rua Carvalho Araujo, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Again so good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

From the moment we arrived and in the stay in Royal Savoy we had two very very good weeks. In every service and in every level in the hotel we met a staf so professional and guestfocused that we aready are looking forward to next year. We felt like home. So thanks to all the staf.
The days and nights were very relaxing. Very quit rooms , the garden/poolarea is a for us fantastic. So thanks.

Room Tip: Quit rooms all facing the garden and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the hotel, our amenities and favourable location and we shall look forward to sharing your kind words with the whole team.
We hope it won't be too long before you come to visit us again for another enjoyable stay at The Royal Savoy Hotel.

Kind regards and Muito Obrigado !
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    76
    28
    4
    4
See reviews for
68
196
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Impressed by the location, welcome, service, and overall ambience as well as breakfasts (we ate out at night because of the great choice of restaurants available nearby). Good chance we will use this hotel again (would be hard to beat). Had to go to reception area to get wifi to work.

Room Tip: Most/all rooms have sea view but a higher floor gives a better view of the bay - we watched dolphins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your preference and indeed for taking the time to post your kind review. It was a pleasure to read that like our many discerning guests, you too enjoyed the overall Royal Savoy Experience and it's great to know that you will use our hotel again in the future.
We all look forward to welcoming you back on many more occasions.
With kind regards and Muito Obrigado !
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ticehurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We visit The Savoy every year as we are timeshare owners. This time we had 2 rather than just 1 week. This made for an even more relaxed frame of mind. The hotel is really quite hard to fault. It is superbly furnished, has generous sized rooms, (all with kitchen areas) and is in the No 1 location in funchal - offering fantastic sea views and with an easy and pleasant stroll into the town centre.

Wi-fi is now in all rooms and works perfectly well - (hopefully a signal booster will be added for areas where it is useful to tune in to UK internat radio/cricket!)

The buffet meals are great value at around €39 incl plentiful wine. The cold buffet is excellent, the
hot buffet more variable.
I cannot understand the comments that prices are high! This is a 5* hotel after all - and the main bar provides excellent service ,where drinks come with three sorts of snacks included and water service! House wine is a very reasonable €18-50 AND has 20% off happy hour until 8pm or so!

The pool areas are superb and kept spotlessly clean. WIthout doubt a stunning hotel and location and we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: avoid rooms adjacent to the centre semi-circle - as balconies are dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Firstly, thank you for your past and continued patronage to The Royal Savoy Hotel as well as for sharing you holiday experience on TripAdvisor. Guest feedback from our loyal guests like yourself is of utmost importance to us and we do appreciate your recognition on our ongoing efforts in providing our guest clientele high standard quality service, which is synonomous to the long Savoy Tradition.
We look forward to your return visit, and above all, we sincerely appreciate your continued preference.
Warm wishes and Muito Obrigado !
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corringham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have just returned from a week at The Royal Savoy and it was excellent from the moment we arrived until the morning we left. We had an early flight out and so when we arrived we were expecting to have to dump cases and return later.. When our taxi pulled up the doorman asked our name and took our cases, explaining they would be in our room later. At reception they phoned housekeeping and gave us a time when we could go to our room and gave us our keys. We felt expected and valued and when we went to our room at the appointed time it was ready and our cases were waiting.
The room was clean and comfortable and beautifully prepared for us every day, complete with daily chocolate.
The staff were friendly and helpful and the welcome buffet and Italian buffet, on the last night were good value for money.
There are also plenty of restaurants in the area.
I would definitely recommend Royal Savoy if you like good old fashioned hospitality.

Room Tip: All rooms have beautiful sea views I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
It's such a pleasure to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us and we thank you for your kind feedback with regards to the team who work so hard to deliver the very best service possible. Customer Service is indeed something we pride ourselves on here at The Royal Savoy Hotel and we were so pleased you appreciated this throughout your stay here.
We also thank you for your strong recommendation and look forward to having the pleasure of looking after you once again.
With best regards and Muito Obrigado !
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Great location and near enough to walk into Funchal which is a really lovely city. Royal Savoy is now in need of a lick of paint. The staff are excellent, friendly and helpful. Bar staff are great! The evening floor shows are particularly good. We stayed on a room only basis and it didn't look as if the hotel was full - until that was at the Management evening when crowds descended. This hotel appears to be timeshare preferred - other guests are encouraged to become timeshare holders too. The swimming pools are great with good areas for sunbathing. Lots of very good restaurants closeby. Our room was equipped with small kitchen area so, as not big breakfast eaters, we chose to buy food in use the facilities in the room. Not sure if all rooms have these facilities though. There is a mini supermarket closeby and a larger one a short drive away. We had originally been put into a room on the ground floor and we requested to be moved up to another - we did eventually get into another room but it took best part of a half day to get organised. If you're driving, Madeira is an island of tunnels, and Madeiran drivers are not particularly patient when it comes to tourists trying to find their route exits. Funchal has some beautiful gardens, bars and cafe's which are well worth a visit. Madeira seems to be 3/4 full of guests who have been coming to the island year on year (probably timeshare). Having been a couple of times I am not sure I would want to go back again though.

Room Tip: It's not really a case of travelers choosing a good room - it seems you get what the hotel choos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for visiting us once again and for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We do appreciate your positive comments regarding our prime location and hotel facilities, helpful and friendly team and good entertainment. The Royal Savoy Hotel caters for both hotel guests and vacation club members and we have been running this co-operation successfully since it's opening in 2002. We enjoy a high repeat business of hotel clientele as well and vacation club members and our aim is to always deliver high level of customer service to each and every guest and to exceed their expectations.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira.
With kind regards and Muito Obrigado !
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire UK
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Have posted reviews previously from earlier visits.

Visited again June 2013. To add to previous updates I would comment:

wifi is now available free throughout the hotel including in rooms. A very welcome addition and at a fast speed level so very good.

this year we stayed on a B&B basis rather than room only. The breakfast buffet was superb. Wide range of food items and at a high quality.

The hotel remains a place of tranquility for a good relaxing holiday in a quality environment. The previous concerns about high prices for dinner remain despite some pricing initiatives. As a result most people including ourselves eat out. Lots of restaurant choice near the hotel and in the Old Town.

Room Tip: B&B basis is well worth trying
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you so much for your feedback following your recent stay with us at The Royal Savoy Hotel. We were pleased to note that like many of our other guests you too, appreciated the various improved initiative implemented in the hotel and also our food offerings were to your overall liking. As for the prices we charge for meals, you will find that our prices compare very similar to those charged at the other good restaurants and five-star hotels in Funchal.
We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back and to provide you with another relaxing and enjoyable stay with us.
Warm regards and Muito Obrigado !
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Great location, over looking the see. Pool area the best in the world, you lose days just relaxing in the sun. They now have wifi at last in all the rooms. Drink very expensive, drink and eat out locally highly recommended. Staff are excellent management not so! Hence it's really a 4 star hotel in need of a refresh and refocus on customers

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for the visit to our hotel and for taking the time to post a review of your stay on this website. We were pleased to note that you recognized the improvement in the wi-fi coverage, upgraded earlier this year in our public areas as well as in guest-rooms and we greatly appreciate your kind comment towards our great staff - we concur wholeheartedly, they are an asset to our hotel. At The Royal Savoy Hotel we will always endeavour to consistently offer the highest standards of comfort throughout the hotel and we keen to deliver high level of customer service to exceed our guests expectations.
We hope to have the renewed pleasure of welcoming you back to provide you with enjoyable holiday experience with us.
Best regards and Muito Obrigada !
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Royal Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Savoy Hotel

Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#12 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#14 Family Hotel in Funchal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#16 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Savoy Hotel  is situated in a privileged oceanfront location overlooking the harbour of Funchal. The city's fascinating historic and cultural centre are close by. Funchal's Old Town district, the bustling Marina, beautiful city gardens, Municipal Theatre, city squares adored with outdoor cafes & esplanades, Shopping Centres, Museums and many more interesting places to visit are just a stone's throw away.  This Hotel offers 12 spacious standard rooms, 101 junior suites plus 59 superior suites with one or two bedrooms, each elegantly decorated providing the utmost quality and comfort whilst creating a unique exotic atmosphere. All rooms have an ample furnished balcony and enjoy magnificent ocean views. All junior suites have their own kitchenette, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, cable and interactive flat screen TV, DVD player, Internet, electronic room safe and a full bathroom with separate shower, hairdryer and bathrobes. The superior suites have 1 or 2 bedrooms, kitchen, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, interactive cable, flat screen TV, DVD surround sound system, electronic room safe and 2 or 3 bathrooms (master-bathroom equipped with bathtub and separate shower), hair dryer and bathrobes. All rooms have free internet wireless system. This stunning complex is architecturally designed to allow you to appreciate to the full extent the beautiful breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. Enjoy the wide variety of both on-site and off-site leisure facilities and entertainment services, including heated indoor pool; gymnasium; a luxury spa where you can enjoy the free use of the sauna, steam room and tropical shower; games room; hairdresser, free internet wireless system, fine a-la-carte and buffet restaurant, piano bar with nightly live musical entertainment and pool snack bar, 2 outdoor sea-water swimming pools (one heated), jacuzzi, and children's splash pool. We also feature a spacious sundeck and terrace coupled with shady and lush sub-tropical gardens, which are further adorned with a barbecue area, a short seaside promenade, fountains and water cascades, private sea access and outdoor games area - all providing maximum holiday ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Royal Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Savoy Funchal
Savoy Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Funchal
Royal Savoy Resort Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.