We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious comfort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Savoy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Savoy Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rua Carvalho Araujo, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Luxurious comfort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I look forward to returning to The Royal Savoy for the ninth time, confident that the same high standards of comfort, cleanliness and entertainment will be met. It has everything on offer including a Spa. The staff are most welcoming and friendly! It is the perfect place to relax.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your continued confidence in us ! It is most rewarding to read your wonderful review on our hotel and assure you and all our guests that here at The Royal Savoy Hotel, we will always endeavour to consistently offer the highest standards of comfort and cleanliness throughout the hotel and our friendly and attentive staff are keen to deliver high level of customer service to exceed their expectations.
We thank you for your renewed preference and we too, look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay in the near future.
With best regards and Muito Obrigado !
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    70
    26
    4
    4
See reviews for
57
174
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Usk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the tenth year. Each year we look forward to meeting the very helpful staff and the absolute luxury of the whole experience of our seven day stay. The apartment is as always just perfect. The view from the balcony of the palms,the ornate pools and the Atlantic Ocean is quite exotic.Lots of lovely young waiters bring us drinks to our location in the extensive areas amongst pools and palms.The quite artistic furnishing within the hotel on every floor is a joy to behold. It was with joy that we see that Bruno the head waiter in the cocktail lounge is still there he is an absolute professional. What a lovely place to stay,we were so lucky to find it.

John Hanner

Room Tip: Any room will be a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Firstly and foremost, thank you for your continued custom and in making the Royal Savoy Hotel your preference over these many years. We were absolutely delighted to read your complimentary review following your very recent stay with us. Also, thank you for your kind words about our great team we are so proud to have here and will most certainly share your feedback with all them.
We look forward to you next visit and will always be pleased to welcome you back.
Warm regards and Muito Obrigado !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Have stayed at the Royal Savoy 8 times and always enjoyed our stay ,only gripe is getting the room for a few extra hours when we always have a late flight even when I know it hasn't been needed ! Pools are beautiful & surrounding public areas are lovely to sit & relax in ,A nice stroll into own perfect holiday !!!

Room Tip: High up for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your most recent stay with us. As a long-standing, loyal guest of The Royal Savoy Hotel, it is such a pleasure to read that you had another great stay with us. With regard to your comment on the extra hours in your room on your departure day, regrettably, this is really not executable due to our consistent high occupancy. Check-out is in fact at 10H00 and Check-in at 16H00, though we do endeavour to allow guests to their rooms as soon as these are ready. For the convenience of our guests with late departure, we do have a luggage room for secure storage as well as shower and changing rooms, which are all free of charge.

With our renewed thanks for your support by staying with us once again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back on many more occasions.

With best wishes

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is perfectly placed in Funchal. There are breath taking views with all rooms and suites having a sea view. The rooms are very spacious and the furnishings make it feel like home. All staff are keen to make the stay a perfect one. The restaurant is exquisite and the service is second to none. The food is excellent. The hotel has extensive well kept grounds including two pools and an indoor pool which are all very clean. Everyone is made to feel very welcome. This is a hotel and resort we will definitely return to.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a sea view floor 4 and upwards will have the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for posting such a complimentary review of your recent visit to The Royal Savoy Hotel. We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that you highly valued our premises as well as the service provided. It's great to note that you left The Royal Savoy Hotel with such good impressions and that you will definitely return.

We will proudly share your comments with the entire team and we all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

With renewed thanks and best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel set on the seafront. The pool area is very large and you never feel as if you are on top of one another as there are lots of areas to sunbathe. Three pools and one of the outside ones is heated. The food was very good but is not a place for young people. Average age of the guests when we were there was over 50. Rooms are good size with plenty of wardrobe space and well stocked kitchen.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your kind review of your experience staying at the The Royal Savoy Hotel. We were pleased to note that you had an enjoyable time with us and that you highly appreciated our premium ocean front bathing facilities, which includes direct access to the sea, as well as the room size and the food offerings provided. On this opportunity, we inform that on Madeira Island we are fortunate to enjoy year round tourism; in the Winter months our clientele is mainly composed of mature guests, generally northern Europeans; in the Summer period Madeira attracts slightly younger clientele of diverse nationalities as well as families with children, especially during school-holiday period.

We will certainly share your feedback with everyone here and we all look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay in the the near future.

With best wishes and Muito Obrigado !

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angmering, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were invited to stay with family at this hotel. They have a timeshare, which they have been using for nearly 13 years. The apartments were immaculate and the hotel was beautiful. We used the indoor pool and the spa and it was lovely and relaxing. We also ate a main meal at the hotel restaurant and also the buffet breakfast...both very nice but expensive. Unfortunately we didn't have much sun during our week here but still enjoyed the outdoor pool and table tennis.

The location of the hotel is on the top of a hill but the walk down to the marina isn't too bad, however a lot of people use taxis. The town is lovely with lots of cafes and restaurants. We didn't really do any trips other than the Basket Run at Monte.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive comments on our hotel and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We were particularly please to note that you valued our high quality accommodation and facilities. One of the prime features of The Royal Savoy Hotel is in fact its magnificent ocean front location and just a short walking distance from the city centre. We agree with you, Funchal is a lovely city enhanced with so many beautiful and historical museums and buildings, colourful city gardens, bustling Marina, Municipal Theatre, city squares adorned with outdoor cafes and esplanades, shopping centres and many more interesting places for our visitors to explore.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to stay with us again.
Kind regards and Muito Obrigado !
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Over the years we have had holidays in many of the 5 star hotels in Funchal but Royal Savoy is in a class of its own.
We stayed at the hotel through a Timeshare exchange and were fortunate in being allocated a 2 bedroom apartment on the 2nd floor. It was luxuriously furnished and very spacious. Although the kitchen area was excellent with dishwasher, refrigerator, coffeemaker, and 4 ring hob, the cooker was a combi-microwave oven, which wouldn't be so convenient for self-catering.
As it happened we decided to take the halfboard package which was good value taking into consideration the quality of food and service.
The leisure facilities are extensive and well maintained.
To cap it all, the weather was perfect during our stay and it coincided with the annual Flower Festival; a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continued loyal support and preference for the Royal Savoy Hotel over the years. We do appreciate you taking the time to post your valuable review on this website and it’s such a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed the consistent, high quality service we endeavour to deliver to each and every guest. We were also pleased to note that on this occasion you enjoyed the 2 bedroom suite experience and took advantage of the half board package - one of the numerous value added services we offer at our Hotel.

At the Royal Savoy we enjoy a high repeat business and we do appreciate the trust our guests have graced us with and we promise to continue to strive in every way to exceed our guests’ expectations.

We look forward to having the pleasure of being of service to you again in the near future

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Savoy Hotel

Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#15 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#17 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#18 Family Hotel in Funchal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Savoy Hotel  is situated in a privileged oceanfront location overlooking the harbour of Funchal. The city's fascinating historic and cultural centre are close by. Funchal's Old Town district, the bustling Marina, beautiful city gardens, Municipal Theatre, city squares adored with outdoor cafes & esplanades, Shopping Centres, Museums and many more interesting places to visit are just a stone's throw away.  This Hotel offers 12 spacious standard rooms, 101 junior suites plus 59 superior suites with one or two bedrooms, each elegantly decorated providing the utmost quality and comfort whilst creating a unique exotic atmosphere. All rooms have an ample furnished balcony and enjoy magnificent ocean views. All junior suites have their own kitchenette, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, cable and interactive flat screen TV, DVD player, Internet, electronic room safe and a full bathroom with separate shower, hairdryer and bathrobes. The superior suites have 1 or 2 bedrooms, kitchen, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, interactive cable, flat screen TV, DVD surround sound system, electronic room safe and 2 or 3 bathrooms (master-bathroom equipped with bathtub and separate shower), hair dryer and bathrobes. All rooms have free internet wireless system. This stunning complex is architecturally designed to allow you to appreciate to the full extent the beautiful breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. Enjoy the wide variety of both on-site and off-site leisure facilities and entertainment services, including heated indoor pool; gymnasium; a luxury spa where you can enjoy the free use of the sauna, steam room and tropical shower; games room; hairdresser, free internet wireless system, fine a-la-carte and buffet restaurant, piano bar with nightly live musical entertainment and pool snack bar, 2 outdoor sea-water swimming pools (one heated), jacuzzi, and children's splash pool. We also feature a spacious sundeck and terrace coupled with shady and lush sub-tropical gardens, which are further adorned with a barbecue area, a short seaside promenade, fountains and water cascades, private sea access and outdoor games area - all providing maximum holiday ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Savoy Funchal
Savoy Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Funchal
Royal Savoy Resort Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.