We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Savoy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Savoy Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rua Carvalho Araujo, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great family holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I spent part of our Christmas holidays at the Royal Savoy, with our two kids (2.5 years and 9 months).

The facilities are really great, with heated indoors pool and kids pool and the restaurant menu offers plenty of choices for the little ones. The rooms were also well equipped and we loved having our little kitchen area, invaluable when you have children.

The only negative is that our room was on the second floor and the children were woken every night by the live entertainment going on downstairs, whichever we found a little annoying.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay. We were very pleased to know that you too, enjoyed your family holiday with us - it is always encouraging to read such positive feedback from our guests. We offer our guests live musical entertainment on a nightly basis in the Piano Bar, which continues until no later than 23H30. We are sorry though, to learn that with having small children you found this disturbing. On a future visit, please contact us in advance and we will allocate you in a room away from the bar area.
Once again our sincere thanks and hope we can welcome you back again as a family on a future return visit to Funchal.
Kind regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    70
    25
    4
    4
See reviews for
57
172
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had a marvellous time at this hotel for four days off with our two teen-agers. We were upgraded to an amazing apartment and were happy despite so-so weather for two days. We made use of the gym, the indoor pool and the outdoor facilities when the weather changed. Fabulous views and grounds and the service was impeccable. We also benefited from the hair-salon and 3 of us had hair cuts and styling.

The apartment was so spacious and allowed us to spend time indoors playing cards and just watching tv as a family. Room service was great, as was device in the restaurant. Definitely a place we want to return to.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are so pleased to read your review titled 'fabulous Hotel'. Thank you ever so much for such positive comments on the hotel's facilities and services and delighted that we were able to offer you quality family time during your recent stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back as a family again in the near future.
Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was our fifth stay at the Royal Savoy and it now really feels like home! It has a feeling quite unlike any other hotel in the area. The staff are so friendly particularly at the door, bars and restaurant. The interior features African works of art with lots of quiet areas in which you can relax or check on your emails without being disturbed. The wi if is available in the room and seems to have settled down since a recent upgrade. The outside pool and eating area is fantastic with views directly over the Atlantic. All in all a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your positive review on our hotel. It is always most gratifying for us all, here to read such encouraging comments on our facilities and especially for mentioning the notable service from our staff members. We are particularly pleased to learn that you feel at home with us - our motto is in fact "Home away from Home".
We thank you for your continued loyalty over these past years and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back "home", very soon.
Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We have been staying at this hotel since becoming timeshare owners back in 2003. The hotel has continued to retain its charm despite its age and the public areas and pool side are well maintained. The rooms are spacious, clean and the addition of wi-fi in each room is a definite bonus in this modern day and age. The restaurant offered excellent food and very efficient staff although it is a little bit pricey, particularly with so many other fine dining experiences to be found close by. The hotel is situated very close to port and the town so if you enjoy watching the cruise ships come in, you won't be disappointed. The sheltered bay means this is an ideal spot during the milder months but I imagine it can be stiflingly hot during peak season. Still, it must be pointed out that this hotel is not really suited to families as the average age of the clientele are 65plus and as such the facilities are good for them. It might also be worth mentioning that the lifts must be used all the times to get to and from your accommodation so it probably isn't suitable for those with claustrophobia. There is a supermarket close by and three good restaurants within spitting distance if your inclined to stay close. I would definitely recommend you stay if you need a relaxing home from home experience.

Room Tip: One on the front of the carousel is great if you'd like to see the bars, pools and get full sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are always very pleased to read such positive reviews. Thank you ever so much for posting your feedback on your experience with us. We were delighted to read that you, like many of our discerning guests, enjoy the hotel's prime and stunning sea front location and also on this particular occasion you found the recent addition of wider wi-fi coverage, which also covers our guest-rooms, an added value to your stay. We take this opportunity to inform you that in the peak family holiday season (Easter and Summer school-holiday period), we also enjoy the custom of many families, who also find the hotel's numerous spacious facilities most appealing.
We look forward to having the pleasure to welcome you back to stay with us again and thank you for your continued loyalty, we are always most grateful.
Kind regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

This hotel is not for children, but a perfect resort for a relaxing get away in the sun for the adults. The average age is over 60 and we was there celebrating a 40th, however due to the beautiful suite we was in, the beautiful views from our balcony and general location of the hotel, the difference in age was irrelevant.
Excellent holiday, lovely clean hotel with very friendly and helpful staff, we would all definatley stay again at the Royal Savoy.

Room Tip: level 8, over looking the sea and the harbour!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel and review on your stay. We were so pleased to read that you had an excellent holiday with us, enjoyed the hotel's fantastic ocean front location and found our staff members friendly and helpful, which will be shared with everyone here.
On this opportunity, we inform you that on Madeira Island we are very fortunate to enjoy year round tourism; in the Winter months our clientele is mainly composed of mature guests, generally northern Europeans; in the Summer period Madeira attracts slightly younger clientele of diverse nationalities as well as families with children during the Easter and Summer school-holiday period.
We hope it will not be too long before we can welcome you back to our hotel again. As the Island is a year round destination, why not return to experience Madeira at a different time of year.
Kind regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We did a timeshare exchange through Interval International and were delighted with our accommodation. We felt that the resort was well managed and spotless. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, and we loved the sunny balcony. It is an easy walk down to the Port and there is an excellent small grocery store close by. It was a great week weather wise and such a pleasure to leave the English rain behind!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive review. We were particularly pleased to read that you had "A very relaxing week" with us, and also your kind comments towards the notable service from our staff members will be shared with the them, too. As the Royal Savoy hotel enjoys a privileged ocean front location, all the guest-rooms are sea facing and enhanced by a wonderful "suntrap" balcony - we were glad to know that you enjoyed this feature, too.
We hope we can welcome you back the Royal Savoy Hotel again, sometime soon.
Kind regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Our holidays in the savoy and then as owners of 2 apartments at the royal savoy are too numerous to count. So it goes without saying that this is a favourite destination of ours, and also family and friends. But, in recent years and with the demolishing of the old savoy hotel, the 5 star standard has gone downhill. We no longer have the facilities of the old hotel, especially the choice of restaurants and the tennis courts. When we bought into the timeshare of the royal savoy, all the extra facilities of the old savoy were part of the deal. Now it looks as if it will never be replaced. Even the royal savoy being 13 or 14 years old is beginning to look a little worn in places. TVs for instance are tiny and situated in a huge cupboard, totally unnecessary. Hardly any uk channels. This doesn't matter if the weather is warm but we usually come in uk winter and quite often have small children with us. Also they need to bring themselves up to date with entertainment and menus in the restaurant to appeal to younger people. Think of all the grannies and grandads who come with grandchildren.
Having said all that, the staff are marvellous. Helpful without exception and that's worth a lot and it's what keeps us coming back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Savoy Hotel

Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#15 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#17 Family Hotel in Funchal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Savoy Hotel  is situated in a privileged oceanfront location overlooking the harbour of Funchal. The city's fascinating historic and cultural centre are close by. Funchal's Old Town district, the bustling Marina, beautiful city gardens, Municipal Theatre, city squares adored with outdoor cafes & esplanades, Shopping Centres, Museums and many more interesting places to visit are just a stone's throw away.  This Hotel offers 12 spacious standard rooms, 101 junior suites plus 59 superior suites with one or two bedrooms, each elegantly decorated providing the utmost quality and comfort whilst creating a unique exotic atmosphere. All rooms have an ample furnished balcony and enjoy magnificent ocean views. All junior suites have their own kitchenette, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, cable and interactive flat screen TV, DVD player, Internet, electronic room safe and a full bathroom with separate shower, hairdryer and bathrobes. The superior suites have 1 or 2 bedrooms, kitchen, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, interactive cable, flat screen TV, DVD surround sound system, electronic room safe and 2 or 3 bathrooms (master-bathroom equipped with bathtub and separate shower), hair dryer and bathrobes. All rooms have free internet wireless system. This stunning complex is architecturally designed to allow you to appreciate to the full extent the beautiful breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. Enjoy the wide variety of both on-site and off-site leisure facilities and entertainment services, including heated indoor pool; gymnasium; a luxury spa where you can enjoy the free use of the sauna, steam room and tropical shower; games room; hairdresser, free internet wireless system, fine a-la-carte and buffet restaurant, piano bar with nightly live musical entertainment and pool snack bar, 2 outdoor sea-water swimming pools (one heated), jacuzzi, and children's splash pool. We also feature a spacious sundeck and terrace coupled with shady and lush sub-tropical gardens, which are further adorned with a barbecue area, a short seaside promenade, fountains and water cascades, private sea access and outdoor games area - all providing maximum holiday ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Savoy Funchal
Savoy Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Funchal
Royal Savoy Resort Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.