We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility at the Royal Savoy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Savoy Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Savoy Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rua Carvalho Araujo, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Cupar, Fife
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Tranquility at the Royal Savoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We have been travelling to the Royal Savoy for seven years now and we never tire of the experience. The RS is now a ten year old timeshare and perhaps it does look like it but yet it has not lost the sparkle that drew us to it in the first place. Eight visits later we still enjoy the excellent accomodation, amenities, entertainment and catering. If you wish you could stay within the hotel and enjoy all that it has to offer. We like to get out and about and the RS is within walking distance of the centre of Funchal. Its location is one of its strengths and the redevelopment of the port has enhanced the walk to the town greatly. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance of the RS as well as excellent options within. Once the sister hotel Savoy is complete it will be an even better location. Madeira is a very unique European destination with outstanding walks and a non oppressive lifestyle. As regular visitors we love it because of the pace, climate, safety and variety of leisure options. Always staying in the Royal Savoy makes it so much better. We are looking forward to heading back in December 2013.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    66
    22
    4
    3
See reviews for
47
154
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is fundamentally a time share resort of the type that most large hotel chains now run and consequently is a bit cliquey as the same guests use it at the same time each year. I guess it must be about 10 years old by now and it could do with a bit of a facelift as the price it wants to charge as a hotel for a week's visit is in the same bracket as Reid's Palace and it is nowhere near that standard. We used a friend's time share and I must say that the one bedroom ground floor apartment was very comfortable and the outside pools were great. We did not use the restaurant as we ate in the old town most nights but the drinks at the bar were double the price we paid in the top restaurants in town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Best place I have been, such an amazing hotel. Lovely people. Staff are really good.nice large rooms. All kept so clean, great pools, lots to see, I go once a year as I have a timeshare there,you have everything in your room what you need right down to a dishwasher, I am looking forward to going for many more years.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Our 2nd visit to Madeira stayed at Cliff Bay last time but wanted a place nearer to the harbour this time. Had our doubts prior to travel as we read some bad reviews which made us a bit apprehensive. Even though RS is mainly a time share hotel we did not feel any different to the time share people in fact we made friends with some of them so time share and hotel guests can mix. We had a lovely 11 days in RS, our room was very big with the kitchenette which we did not expect but did have lunch on our balcony some days so made use of the facilities. Our room was always cleaned to a very good standard and fruit bowl and water topped up regularly - these little things were very much appreciated. Food is good at the hotel but there are so many restaurants to in town and near the RS so it is better to explore. We did no have any problems finding sunbathing areas as there were of plenty of sunbeds in the little rock alcoves very relaxing. We did have lunch at the pool bar some days and the staff in this area were always very polite and friendly and found time to ask you questions about were we were from etc. Overall we found the RS to be a very good choice and cannot understand the bad reviews.

We would definitely go back to RS and would recommend it to people who are not on timeshare because it does still feel like a hotel.

Just a note as the hotel is high up on the hill the reception is on the 8th floor takes some getting used to that you have to go up to reception and down to breakfast and pool area but you soon remember. It is not until you are down in the pool area that you realise how high up the entrance to the hotel is.

Room Tip: We were on 4th floor lovely view of the sea over the pool area with the harbour to the left and Reid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have just returned from the Royal Savoy. We have been going to this hotel for 10 years now. We have timeshare here and visit 3 times a year. It is a lovely hotel with fab staff. We eat at the hotel most nights . We have eaten out a lot over the years but the evening meal here is very hard to beat. We feel well looked after by the staff . There are quite a few visitors for the evening entertainment but it is not well attended any other time. The drinks are a bit pricey but at the end of the day it is a 5 star hotel. There are good deals if you take 3 5 or 7 day breakfasts or half board Vouchers. We visited the lovely municipal theatre to see and hear the mandolin orchestra . They were some very young players who were delightful and it is such a wonderful little theatre. It is a fab island and although having been to the RS about 24 times I never tire of it .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, Uk
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We booked two adjoining studio rooms for my the four of us, with the two children in one room and my wife. And I in the other. The reality is that we did not need two rooms as each studio had a partioned off sitting area that contained a decent quality sofa bed. The rooms were great with a kitchenette and for the times when we self catered, a dishwasher. Excellent large beds, multi channel TV with DVD Player. Bathrooms were good though only Savoy own brand toiletries. Balcony on our rooms were functional. Only irritant there was when we were trying to relax outside we would sometimes get second hand smoke from somebody puffing away on their balcony. If you are going to have no smoking rooms that should apply to balconies and all public areas as dirty, smelly smoke does not restrict itself to the air around the smoker! Anyway the pool areas are wonderful and considering it was high season we always manged to get sunbeds even in the middle of the day. We really enjoyed swimming in the sea which can be accessed from some steps. However sometimes these can be slippery and the current can be very strong. However if one is careful it is a great swimming area and with some goggles it is possible to see loads of brightly coloured tropical fish. Will is only accessible in certain public areas which is disappointing though it is free. Sadly we never ate in the restaurants as they were hideously expensive, though there are various reasonably priced restaurants nearby including a decent Indian. All in all the Royal Savoy is an excellent holiday hotel and we hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We've stayed at the Savoy for 4 consecutive years now. It has always been a great pleasure, and a great treat and without exception I have ended up getting a suite upgrade. The Savoy is probably in one of the greatest locations of any hotel I've stayed at. There really are not many other hotels with a better view in the world. The rooms are magnificent and spacious.

The service, and in particular the bar service is always world class. If I had to fault the hotel though, I'd say it's due for a paint job. Being on the shorefront the weather gives it a good beating, and the pink exterior coat certainly is a little faded. I actually remember thinking that a couple of years ago already,

The island of Madeira it self is great if you have mates or family there, but what we noticed this time round is that there are a lot more young tourists (French in particular). This seems to be because it's a lot cheaper to visit Madeira than a lot of the more traditional Riviera type resorts.

Visit Madeira if you're part of a group, have family, or an older traveller. It's appeal to a younger party crowd is not yet established. Not too much in the line of golden beaches either.

Room Tip: Try get a room on the higher floors from 5th floor upwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Savoy Hotel

Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#18 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#21 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Savoy Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Savoy Hotel  is situated in a privileged oceanfront location overlooking the harbour of Funchal. The city's fascinating historic and cultural centre are close by. Funchal's Old Town district, the bustling Marina, beautiful city gardens, Municipal Theatre, city squares adored with outdoor cafes & esplanades, Shopping Centres, Museums and many more interesting places to visit are just a stone's throw away.  This Hotel offers 12 spacious standard rooms, 101 junior suites plus 59 superior suites with one or two bedrooms, each elegantly decorated providing the utmost quality and comfort whilst creating a unique exotic atmosphere. All rooms have an ample furnished balcony and enjoy magnificent ocean views. All junior suites have their own kitchenette, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, cable and interactive flat screen TV, DVD player, Internet, electronic room safe and a full bathroom with separate shower, hairdryer and bathrobes. The superior suites have 1 or 2 bedrooms, kitchen, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, interactive cable, flat screen TV, DVD surround sound system, electronic room safe and 2 or 3 bathrooms (master-bathroom equipped with bathtub and separate shower), hair dryer and bathrobes. All rooms have free internet wireless system. This stunning complex is architecturally designed to allow you to appreciate to the full extent the beautiful breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. Enjoy the wide variety of both on-site and off-site leisure facilities and entertainment services, including heated indoor pool; gymnasium; a luxury spa where you can enjoy the free use of the sauna, steam room and tropical shower; games room; hairdresser, free internet wireless system, fine a-la-carte and buffet restaurant, piano bar with nightly live musical entertainment and pool snack bar, 2 outdoor sea-water swimming pools (one heated), jacuzzi, and children's splash pool. We also feature a spacious sundeck and terrace coupled with shady and lush sub-tropical gardens, which are further adorned with a barbecue area, a short seaside promenade, fountains and water cascades, private sea access and outdoor games area - all providing maximum holiday ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Royal Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Savoy Funchal
Savoy Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Funchal
Royal Savoy Resort Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.