We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great suite in a nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Savoy Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Savoy Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rua Carvalho Araujo, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 91 hotels in Funchal
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A great suite in a nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed for one week at the five-star Royal Savoy in a Presidential Suite on the top floor. Sumptuous barely begins to describe the surroundings.

The suite was immaculate; a large living-dining room, with a good-size kitchen attached and a cloakroom; the bedroom was generous and connected to the main bathroom via a walk-through wardrobe. Both bedroom and living room opened on to the large balcony which overlooked the hotel terrace, nine floors below, and, beyond that, the vastness of the Atlantic. The kitchen was well-equipped, although we didn’t use it much, eating out most of the time.

Free wi-fi was available in the lounge and on the terrace, and guest services were very useful for booking excursions and restaurants. Standards of housekeeping were excellent, and little details like the Easter egg provided for us on Easter Sunday showed thought and care.

The location was excellent, provided you were happy with a short walk (5-10 minutes) into the centre of town. We certainly didn’t feel any need to be closer than we were. As you would expect in this kind of hotel, room service and drinks at the bar were quite expensive compared to eating and drinking out on the island, but no more so than in similar five-star hotels.

Room Tip: We stayed in a presidential suite on the top floor of the hotel... when you come in to the hotel, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    64
    22
    4
    3
See reviews for
47
154
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Slough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a timeshare apartment which was one of the largest apartments we have ever stayed in. Probably too large for only 2 people in truth but very comfortable and well appointed. Excellent service at bars. Did not use the restaurant as because we are timeshare the cost was excessive when there are a myriad of excellent restaurants nearby. We would definitely recommend staying here. The interior is a little old school with the nearby Pestana chain being more modern in styling although I think more expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I find it very difficult to sum up just how bad the Royal Savoy, Funchal is, how ridiculously overpriced the rooms are, or how unfriendly and unprofessional the staff are.

We visit Madeira several times a year as my fiance's family are from the island, so we decided we wanted to get married in Funchal. Knowing a little about the top rated hotels on the island, we contacted the Royal Savoy hoping to get some information about whether they could host a reception.

Three emails and more than two weeks later, we stil had no reply from the Royal Savoy, yet managed to get replies from every single other hotel in Madeira we had contacted (including the top hotels on the island such as Reids Palace, Cliff Bay, Vidamar, Casa Velha etc.). As we were keen to explore all our options, we went to the expense of phoning the Royal Savoy from the UK, only to encounter an unbelievably rude and obnoxious young man who insisted absolutely no information could be provided in advance and we would have to visit the hotel directly if we wanted to discuss this. Apparently "that is not how it works in Madeira"!

Persevering, we did indeed visit the hotel directly on our recent visit to Madeira, only again to encounter an unbelievably unfriendly and unhelpful receptionist who, despite the hotel lobby being completely devoid of guests, insisted that all staff were far too busy to show us the facilities but, if we were so inclined, we could have a wander around the facilities.

So we did, and my God were they disappointing. The whole place feels like a mediocre package holiday resort without even the vaguest hint of the luxury you would expect from the Savoy brand.

The biggest joke of the whole thing is the price of the rooms... an absolute abomination especially when you compare them to the vastly superior rooms and far better value rooms available at the likes of the Cliff Bay, Reids Palace and Jardins Do Lago.

In summary, you would be absolutely MAD to stay here. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just returned from my annual trip to the Royal Savoy. As always the room has everything you require. The weather was glorious. Breakfast was always welcome. To top it all it was my birthday whilst we were there and the hotel left a complimentary bottle of Madeira wine in my room to help me celebrate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our second visit in under a year - never disappointed.

This is mainly timeshare now - so not that many Hotel Guests staying there - so be aware the two are different.

The restaurants - particularly at breakfast - are quiet as most Timeshare Guests eat in their rooms. You do not get the atmosphere of a Hotel even in the evenings

Having said that the Royal Savoy is in a great location with first class facilities. The staff are friendly and helpful (though they seem to be fewer in number each time we visit - due to the current economic situation?.)

Still worth visiting

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed on an Interval International exchange and we could not have been more pleased. Truly an amazing and wonderful experience!!! We traded a 2 bedroom unit, so we received a two bedroom unit at the Royal Savoy. I don't know if it was because our flight didn't get us there until 1 AM for check-in but they gave us one of their two, two bedroom Presidential Suites (room 1418). Really a wonderful Suite with all the amenities and daily maid service too. The view is amazing, 270 degrees, overlooking the pool and directly out over the ocean. It could not be more beautiful!!! The staff is exceptional and very knowledgeable about Funchal and will go out of their way to make your stay just perfect. They welcome the opportunity to help you select a restaurant then call to make your reservation. We told them we were celebrating an Anniversary and they sent us a bottle of wine, two glasses and flowers. The location is also within walking distance to downtown so that saves a lot of time and taxi fares! If you go to Funchal then we HIGHLY recommend you stay at the Royal Savoy! Say Hi to Jose at the pool bar when you see him!

Room Tip: Send them an email in advance of your trip to let them know your anticipated check-in time and let t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have stayed at the Royal Savoy many times. It as that traditional luxury Madeiran feel and style. The hotel as an extensive pool area with two large outdoor pools and one indoor. There is also a sea swimming dock. There plenty of seating and sun shades, so none of the silly bickering over pool furniture. The whole hotel is immaculately maintained. The rooms or suites, we have stayed in both, are excellent. The piano bar is a great place to start or end a evening in Funchal. It has been a few years now since they knocked down the old Savoy. Nothing much seems to be happening behind the fenced off construction site. It is a same, because the gardens are no longer available for guests. We found the staff and the service level excellent as always.

Room Tip: Try for a sea-view, high up, room 1905/6 is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Savoy Hotel

Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#14 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#19 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#21 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Savoy Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Savoy Hotel  is situated in a privileged oceanfront location overlooking the harbour of Funchal. The city's fascinating historic and cultural centre are close by. Funchal's Old Town district, the bustling Marina, beautiful city gardens, Municipal Theatre, city squares adored with outdoor cafes & esplanades, Shopping Centres, Museums and many more interesting places to visit are just a stone's throw away.  This Hotel offers 12 spacious standard rooms, 101 junior suites plus 59 superior suites with one or two bedrooms, each elegantly decorated providing the utmost quality and comfort whilst creating a unique exotic atmosphere. All rooms have an ample furnished balcony and enjoy magnificent ocean views. All junior suites have their own kitchenette, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, cable and interactive flat screen TV, DVD player, Internet, electronic room safe and a full bathroom with separate shower, hairdryer and bathrobes. The superior suites have 1 or 2 bedrooms, kitchen, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, interactive cable, flat screen TV, DVD surround sound system, electronic room safe and 2 or 3 bathrooms (master-bathroom equipped with bathtub and separate shower), hair dryer and bathrobes. All rooms have free internet wireless system. This stunning complex is architecturally designed to allow you to appreciate to the full extent the beautiful breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. Enjoy the wide variety of both on-site and off-site leisure facilities and entertainment services, including heated indoor pool; gymnasium; a luxury spa where you can enjoy the free use of the sauna, steam room and tropical shower; games room; hairdresser, free internet wireless system, fine a-la-carte and buffet restaurant, piano bar with nightly live musical entertainment and pool snack bar, 2 outdoor sea-water swimming pools (one heated), jacuzzi, and children's splash pool. We also feature a spacious sundeck and terrace coupled with shady and lush sub-tropical gardens, which are further adorned with a barbecue area, a short seaside promenade, fountains and water cascades, private sea access and outdoor games area - all providing maximum holiday ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Royal Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Savoy Funchal
Savoy Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Funchal
Royal Savoy Resort Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.