We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Savoy Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rua Carvalho Araujo, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Top quality hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The savoy is superb quality. We had a one bedroomed apartment with great views over sea and harbour from balcony. Well laid out with everything you could need and a 'huge' bed. Maid service everyday. The bar is slightly pricey but nothing more than you would expect for quality of hotel and does make excellent drinks and cocktails. Staff were very helpful in organising excursions and restaurant bookings.

No complaints my only comment would be that this is not a hotel for younger tourists - we are in our 40's and felt like kids! The entertainment does reflect this so if you're looking for young an trendy this is not the hotel for you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    70
    25
    4
    4
See reviews for
57
172
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Having knocked down the old Savoy, we expected that the Royal Savoy would be very busy over the Easter period but that wasn't the case; the age profile of guests, the cost of flights and the recession seems to have had an impact on both the hotel and Madeira.Unusually there were a number of children at the hotel but they were fine and not a problem.Trouble with this hotel is the 5* cost of food and drinks but more importantly the dining room is too big and cavernous, lacking atmosphere. The quality of food is excellent however and the cost not out of line with top quality restaurants in the town.It is looking a little tired in some of the studios but most of the public areas are fine.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a studio that gets the sun, some studios have permanent shade.All rooms have a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed at the Royal Savoy every year for the last 10 years. It has always been a delightful and exceptional experience. Returning to the RSV after a busy day is like returning to an oasis of calm and quiet opulence. The facilities are excellent, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. If you're looking to be pampered this is it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I am lucky enough to visit RS as guest of my friend who owns a timeshare apartment. I have been six times and am looking forward to our trip in May. The apartments have everything you need and are beautifully furnished; the location immediately next to the sea is wonderful, the plants and trees make this hotel seem so much more lush, tropical and relaxing. Certainly less 'concrete' than many other places in Funchal. Buy the breakfast vouchers and feast on the most wonderful breakfast in the world (probably!). For evening meals the restaurant is divine, but rather more pricey than the local restaurants. The courteous and pleasant staff go out of their way to make things easy for everyone and it seems like meeting up with old friends whenever we go back.

in common with someone else's comments, I noticed last year that the room was not so spotless as it used to be - mainly the floor - but this coincided with having one maid to clean whereas previously there had been two. Maybe the RS will take some note of this as it would be a shame to let standards slip now.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our first and last stay. The RS may be a good self-catering time share property, but it avoids any wording on it's web site and booking system that tells you that. If you are looking for a full service 5 star hotel experience, this isn't it. We had to change rooms due to cooking smells. The infrastructure and service is geared towards self service time share clients, who transition weekly/bi-weekly, starting with a theme "Welcome Dinner" on Sunday, in the only available restaurant, with theme dinners each night of the week, ending with a "Thank you for staying" theme dinner on the Saturday. Then repeated all over again. The buffet breakfast is extensive, but with servers rushing around often very noisily. No courtesy transport into Funchal, it's a long walk into the old town, and a struggle up the hill at the end of the walk back. Funchal town offers a good selection of restaurants and bistros with local fish and produce at very reasonable prices. Good pool area. Good separate Spa service. The RS is probably good value for those (families in particular) with prepaid time share, or if priced at a level knowing it's a self catering time share property, but not if you have paid their full 5 star hotel rates and are looking for a full 5 star hotel experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are self catering for time share use. Higher rooms have better views and may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

This is the third time I've stayed here as a guest in a timeshare. There's little if anything to fault about this place. The staff are always courteous, the service good and the place is spotless. The hotel does cater more towards the SKI [Spending the Kids Inheritance] type holiday, so might not be suited to all but for general peace & quiet (save for the woman on the balcony sounding like she was starring in Benidorm) this could be the place for you.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband, my friend and I returned to the RS for 3 weeks in February and had a wonderful time once again. It is like returning to see family, the same staff are there and the welcome to go with it. We ate in the hotel 18 nights out of 21 and the meals in the Dining room cannot be praised too highly . We have teiwd a lit of thw reataurants in the past and still have a few dacourites that we always visit once but the horel is such goid value if you buy the dinner or half board vouchers.We attended the carnival night special evening and heard the wonderful Russian opera singer. She had an amazing voice .
My only comment would be that the menu should be changed occasionally as I stay twice a year with my friend and she stays with us twice a year.The meals are taken outside in summer months which we enjoy but also love a February break from the British winter!!
Bruno, Gilberto, Jose , Miguel , Leticia, Katya to mention just a few who help to make our holiday so enjoyable, as are Nuno and the staff on reception , and Gill in the Vacation club office . All the staff work so hard to please the guests .
There is plenty to see around the island and it is such a safe island to holiday in. The loungers are comfortable , the pools spotlessly clean and overall a perfect holiday. The entertainment has improved a lot , the drinks are a bit pricey which tends to drive some of the guests out if the hotel. It is mostly timeshare but it is nice to meet other guests who are on an exchange programme and they are always very impressed with the Royal Savoy . I can't wait for my next visit .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Savoy Hotel

Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#15 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#17 Family Hotel in Funchal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Savoy Hotel  is situated in a privileged oceanfront location overlooking the harbour of Funchal. The city's fascinating historic and cultural centre are close by. Funchal's Old Town district, the bustling Marina, beautiful city gardens, Municipal Theatre, city squares adored with outdoor cafes & esplanades, Shopping Centres, Museums and many more interesting places to visit are just a stone's throw away.  This Hotel offers 12 spacious standard rooms, 101 junior suites plus 59 superior suites with one or two bedrooms, each elegantly decorated providing the utmost quality and comfort whilst creating a unique exotic atmosphere. All rooms have an ample furnished balcony and enjoy magnificent ocean views. All junior suites have their own kitchenette, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, cable and interactive flat screen TV, DVD player, Internet, electronic room safe and a full bathroom with separate shower, hairdryer and bathrobes. The superior suites have 1 or 2 bedrooms, kitchen, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, interactive cable, flat screen TV, DVD surround sound system, electronic room safe and 2 or 3 bathrooms (master-bathroom equipped with bathtub and separate shower), hair dryer and bathrobes. All rooms have free internet wireless system. This stunning complex is architecturally designed to allow you to appreciate to the full extent the beautiful breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. Enjoy the wide variety of both on-site and off-site leisure facilities and entertainment services, including heated indoor pool; gymnasium; a luxury spa where you can enjoy the free use of the sauna, steam room and tropical shower; games room; hairdresser, free internet wireless system, fine a-la-carte and buffet restaurant, piano bar with nightly live musical entertainment and pool snack bar, 2 outdoor sea-water swimming pools (one heated), jacuzzi, and children's splash pool. We also feature a spacious sundeck and terrace coupled with shady and lush sub-tropical gardens, which are further adorned with a barbecue area, a short seaside promenade, fountains and water cascades, private sea access and outdoor games area - all providing maximum holiday ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Savoy Funchal
Savoy Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Funchal
Royal Savoy Resort Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.