We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter break at The Royal Savoy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Savoy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Savoy Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rua Carvalho Araujo, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Accrington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Winter break at The Royal Savoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel always lives up to its 5 star rating. Ideally situated in Funchal, within walking distance of the harbour, it offers excellent accommodation and facilities coupled with a high standard of cuisine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    71
    26
    4
    4
See reviews for
60
175
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Our first visit to the Royal Savoy and hope to return again next year.

All staff friendly and professional, our room was large and comfortable and very clean, housekeeping even rang our bell one day to ask if everything was okay with our room.

Enjoyed the pools both indoor and out, only gripe was that on several occasions the used towel bin for the indoor pool was overflowing and no clean towels were available unless you went upstairs to the spa or went outside, seemed to be like that for several days in a row. The sauna and steam room were very small and the tropical shower was not working when we tried to use it.

Enjoyed lunch and dinner there, food and service excellent, not a fan of themed buffets but other guests seemed to enjoy that type of thing along with the entertainment.

All in all we had a very pleasant relaxing stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have been staying at the Royal Savoy twice a year for the last 10 years, I have enjoyed the service and friendly atmosphere and always look forward to returning. You will not be disappointed if you try a visit and would not be surprised if you return.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was our fifth visit to Madeira and our second stay at the Royal Savoy. Unlike the majority of guests, we are not timeshare owners and therefore choose to stay in one of the hotel's twelve standard rooms. Both rooms we have been allocated have been of excellent standards of cleanliness and comfort and more than adequate for our needs. The hotel serves superb buffet breakfasts. We prefer to stay on a b&b basis as there are so many excellent restaurants nearby on Rua Imperatriz. Don Amelia is a particular favourite, but there are also less expensive choices on offer such as Italian and Thai restaurants. The only negative about some of the restaurants is the lack of space between some of the tables. Booking a table in advance generally resulted in a more private table being allocated.
The evening entertainment in the hotel was well supported. It usually starts at 9:45pm and is on for about an hour. The dance shows were particularly impressive, as was the bar manager's memory for our choice of after dinner drinks!
The hotel is very well placed for walks in and around Funchal. The day time temperatures in November were very pleasant and although we had some light showers (and one dramatic downpour) we would certainly be happy to visit the island again at this time of year. Having stayed at three other hotels in and around Funchal, the Royal Savoy remains a firm favourite.

Room Tip: I strongly recommend anyone booking a standard room requests one on the eighth floor (reception leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have had a time share in this hotel since 2003 and have always been very pleased with it, travelling out each November, it has been great to have sunshine and warmth instead of grey and gloomy. We have a studio apartment and it is always very comfortable, we particularly enjoying having our breakfast out on our balcony looking over the beautiful gardens to the sea. The staff in the hotel are very good and the hotel is always well looked after.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carradale, scotland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was our second visit to the Savoy in twelve months, and we were not disappointed.
Well, the weather did a bit, but thats not the hotel's fault !
Rooms, public rooms, food and service remain of a high standard, and this year it was good to see the restaurant being better utilised by guests on a regular basis. This seems to be down to more competetive pricing, without sacrificing quality in any way.
Sadly while we were there, a fairly large storm blew in from the south, and the resulting ocean swell did a lot of damage to the plants and flowers that surround the outdoor pool area, as large waves crashed right over the sea wall for three days in a quite spectacular fashion.
We enjoyed an autumnal season banquet one evening, which waas quite simply superb, so well done to all at the Savoy, from the management down to the pool attendents - you are doing a good job.
hopes for the future ?
It would be nice to see the greenery that was storm damaged replaced, and even enhanced if possible, and its perhaps time for a painting touch up job around the balconies, where there is some discolouration and streaks evident.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was my fourth trip to the Royal Savoy over a period of about seven years, my in laws have a time share that sleeps four. This was our first trip with our 8 month old daughter and although the trip was 'very' different it was very enjoyable thanks so the Royal Savoy. They provided a crib and high chair in the room, we took advantage of the toddler pool and used the kitchen more than we normally would to eat in. The location is fantastic and used a stroller to get the baby to town and for our few meals out to several restaurants nearby.
Over the years one thing that continues to stand out is the incredible customer service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Savoy Hotel

Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#14 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#16 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#17 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Savoy Hotel  is situated in a privileged oceanfront location overlooking the harbour of Funchal. The city's fascinating historic and cultural centre are close by. Funchal's Old Town district, the bustling Marina, beautiful city gardens, Municipal Theatre, city squares adored with outdoor cafes & esplanades, Shopping Centres, Museums and many more interesting places to visit are just a stone's throw away.  This Hotel offers 12 spacious standard rooms, 101 junior suites plus 59 superior suites with one or two bedrooms, each elegantly decorated providing the utmost quality and comfort whilst creating a unique exotic atmosphere. All rooms have an ample furnished balcony and enjoy magnificent ocean views. All junior suites have their own kitchenette, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, cable and interactive flat screen TV, DVD player, Internet, electronic room safe and a full bathroom with separate shower, hairdryer and bathrobes. The superior suites have 1 or 2 bedrooms, kitchen, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, interactive cable, flat screen TV, DVD surround sound system, electronic room safe and 2 or 3 bathrooms (master-bathroom equipped with bathtub and separate shower), hair dryer and bathrobes. All rooms have free internet wireless system. This stunning complex is architecturally designed to allow you to appreciate to the full extent the beautiful breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. Enjoy the wide variety of both on-site and off-site leisure facilities and entertainment services, including heated indoor pool; gymnasium; a luxury spa where you can enjoy the free use of the sauna, steam room and tropical shower; games room; hairdresser, free internet wireless system, fine a-la-carte and buffet restaurant, piano bar with nightly live musical entertainment and pool snack bar, 2 outdoor sea-water swimming pools (one heated), jacuzzi, and children's splash pool. We also feature a spacious sundeck and terrace coupled with shady and lush sub-tropical gardens, which are further adorned with a barbecue area, a short seaside promenade, fountains and water cascades, private sea access and outdoor games area - all providing maximum holiday ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Royal Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Savoy Funchal
Savoy Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Funchal
Royal Savoy Resort Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.