We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic views over the Atlantic from all rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Savoy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Savoy Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rua Carvalho Araujo, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Idyllic views over the Atlantic from all rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have had a time share in this hotel since 2003 and have always been very pleased with it, travelling out each November, it has been great to have sunshine and warmth instead of grey and gloomy. We have a studio apartment and it is always very comfortable, we particularly enjoying having our breakfast out on our balcony looking over the beautiful gardens to the sea. The staff in the hotel are very good and the hotel is always well looked after.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    74
    28
    4
    4
See reviews for
68
188
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
carradale, scotland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was our second visit to the Savoy in twelve months, and we were not disappointed.
Well, the weather did a bit, but thats not the hotel's fault !
Rooms, public rooms, food and service remain of a high standard, and this year it was good to see the restaurant being better utilised by guests on a regular basis. This seems to be down to more competetive pricing, without sacrificing quality in any way.
Sadly while we were there, a fairly large storm blew in from the south, and the resulting ocean swell did a lot of damage to the plants and flowers that surround the outdoor pool area, as large waves crashed right over the sea wall for three days in a quite spectacular fashion.
We enjoyed an autumnal season banquet one evening, which waas quite simply superb, so well done to all at the Savoy, from the management down to the pool attendents - you are doing a good job.
hopes for the future ?
It would be nice to see the greenery that was storm damaged replaced, and even enhanced if possible, and its perhaps time for a painting touch up job around the balconies, where there is some discolouration and streaks evident.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was my fourth trip to the Royal Savoy over a period of about seven years, my in laws have a time share that sleeps four. This was our first trip with our 8 month old daughter and although the trip was 'very' different it was very enjoyable thanks so the Royal Savoy. They provided a crib and high chair in the room, we took advantage of the toddler pool and used the kitchen more than we normally would to eat in. The location is fantastic and used a stroller to get the baby to town and for our few meals out to several restaurants nearby.
Over the years one thing that continues to stand out is the incredible customer service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I have had a weeks' timeshare at the Royal Savoy since 2003 and have thoroughly enjoyed our visits each March since.
This year, in addition to our March visit, I decided to treat my family to a week to celebrate reaching the age of 60.
This we took in mid-October and again we were not disapppointed with the qulaity of service, accomodation and ambience of this rather special hotel.
The weather (26-27c each day) helped to make it the perfect holiday for all.

Room Tip: All rooms are Ocean facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just returned last week from a week in the Royal Savoy. Perfect location with wonderful views. Had a one bed 2 bath apartment which was very spacious if somewhat dated. The place can slightly give the impression of a retirement home but probably most places in October are the same. The buffet we went to one night was pretty basic whereas the a la carte another night was fine as was lunch around the pool area. Otherwise we eat out - don't miss Restaurante Mozart or Chalet Vicente. Both so good we were afraid to go back again in case we were disappointed. Went on a wonderful west island tour with taxi driver Jose who was a mine of information. This was organised by Paulo in the hotel and well worth the extra compared with a mini bus tour. Really the only downside to the whole place was the mosquitos - we were eaten alive. We had to get room spray from the hotel and even with the lotion we bought in the pharmacy, there was no escape from then. It was a pity as we would now hesitate to return to the Royal Savoy.

Room Tip: High floor for the amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woonona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

As an Interval International timeshare swapper my experience of the hotel far exceeded my expectations. Rooms lovely, clean and comfortable. Ate in restaurant most nights, had buffet breakfast every day and enjoyed different entertainment in the cocktail bar at night and everything was spot on. The location is perfect and you can walk into the old town at a leisurely 20 stroll where the shopping and restaurants are great or up a short but steep hill to pubs and local restaurants which were very reasonably priced. The hotel is tastefully deocrated and a lot of thought has gone into the layout and decor of the many areas. Great pools and outdoor areas for relaxing. Not busy Aug and didn't see one mossie! (a few pidgeons hang around). I shall return as there is still more to see than you can fit in in one week!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Very nice place to stay in. The rooms are good. The pools are good and the view is amazing! Most of the staff are friendly, although they are currently very stretched! The hotel is working on a skeleton crew (we were told that they have got rid of quite a lot of staff)! We did not have any problems checking into our rooms (hence the high rating) but overheard people complaining that their rooms were not ready yet (at 4.15pm). Food and drinks are not cheap especially when there are plenty of nice pub and restaurants around. WiFi is not very reliable too. BUT ignoring all these, its definitely worth going!!

Room Tip: The higher the floors you go, the better the view! All the rooms are amazing. We had a time-shared r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Savoy Hotel

Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#12 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#17 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Savoy Hotel  is situated in a privileged oceanfront location overlooking the harbour of Funchal. The city's fascinating historic and cultural centre are close by. Funchal's Old Town district, the bustling Marina, beautiful city gardens, Municipal Theatre, city squares adored with outdoor cafes & esplanades, Shopping Centres, Museums and many more interesting places to visit are just a stone's throw away.  This Hotel offers 12 spacious standard rooms, 101 junior suites plus 59 superior suites with one or two bedrooms, each elegantly decorated providing the utmost quality and comfort whilst creating a unique exotic atmosphere. All rooms have an ample furnished balcony and enjoy magnificent ocean views. All junior suites have their own kitchenette, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, cable and interactive flat screen TV, DVD player, Internet, electronic room safe and a full bathroom with separate shower, hairdryer and bathrobes. The superior suites have 1 or 2 bedrooms, kitchen, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, interactive cable, flat screen TV, DVD surround sound system, electronic room safe and 2 or 3 bathrooms (master-bathroom equipped with bathtub and separate shower), hair dryer and bathrobes. All rooms have free internet wireless system. This stunning complex is architecturally designed to allow you to appreciate to the full extent the beautiful breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. Enjoy the wide variety of both on-site and off-site leisure facilities and entertainment services, including heated indoor pool; gymnasium; a luxury spa where you can enjoy the free use of the sauna, steam room and tropical shower; games room; hairdresser, free internet wireless system, fine a-la-carte and buffet restaurant, piano bar with nightly live musical entertainment and pool snack bar, 2 outdoor sea-water swimming pools (one heated), jacuzzi, and children's splash pool. We also feature a spacious sundeck and terrace coupled with shady and lush sub-tropical gardens, which are further adorned with a barbecue area, a short seaside promenade, fountains and water cascades, private sea access and outdoor games area - all providing maximum holiday ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Royal Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Savoy Funchal
Savoy Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Funchal
Royal Savoy Resort Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.