We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT VALUE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Enotel Lido Madeira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Enotel Lido Madeira to your Saves list
Enotel Lido Madeira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004 - 576, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT VALUE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

we stayed here in september...room really nice and spacious.....good facilities and bars...also in a convinient location overlooking the beautiful sea.....mostly though it was great value and we had a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice comments about the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira, it was much appreciated.

“Obrigado” for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    385
    114
    27
    8
See reviews for
201
726
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just got back from ten days at Enotel Lido hotel in Madeira and have to say that this was a great choice. The hotel was well managed, clean and had every facility. I could not fault it. However what made it extra special was the staff. Waiters, bar staff, reception staff and maintenance were not only super efficient but were very friendly. It is rare to find one of these qualitites nevermind both. Food quality in the restaurant was excellent and the menu varied but the waiting staff made each meal such an enjoyable experience. Thank you, we will come again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I could not fault this hotel, the food was very good even in the pool bars. The staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble and they were very polite at all times without being over the top. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are glad to know that your expectations have generally been fulfilled.

We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Lido, which you may witness in the near future.

Our best wishes for both your private and professional life.

Best regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Returned from another lovely break here. This time we only had 3 nights there. We love this hotel and would recommend it to everyone.

The food is lovely and very varied. The staff are marvellous and very helpful. The bedrooms are first class and the pool area is lovely as is the restaurant by the pool.

The entertainment is always good and the entertainment staff are very friendly. as are the bar staff.

Keep it up Enotel and we'll keep coming back too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that you have had a great time at the Enotel Lido. “Obrigado” for your co-operation and for sharing your opinion with us and other reviewers.

We are pleased for your words and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This really is all inclusive.You not only get all of your food and drinks but you get water and juice daily in your room as well as plenty of bottles of water to take out with you The rooms are excellent and the spa is one of the best that I have seen.The public areas are large and you can get away from thelive music if you want to talk.The only downside was the food quality was not 5 star and was a bit cool Quantity is not everything

Room Tip: Bigger rooms are at the front with the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments and we are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your opinion with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.
“Obrigado” for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We returned last night from a lovely week at the Enotel Lido.
The hotel and location are excellent. The public Areas and rooms are excellent. The drinks are branded and very generous measures .... The food in the buffet is good but not always piping hot, but we went to all 3 themed restaurants and the Italian and Japanese were excellent. The pool was great and we did not have any problems with the legs on the loungers, the waiters even came around the pool with drinks....... All in all a very good relaxing holiday, excellent staff, not 5 * but very good value. We will be returning ;-)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are glad to know that your expectations have generally been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Lido, which you may witness in the near future.

We thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here for 14 nights from 7th October, our first visit to Madeira. Previous "All Inclusive" holidays have been in Riu hotels, we found Enotel Lido to be equally as good. The hotel has only been open for two years as "All Inclusive" and the management seem to have got the concept right.
Our room was on the 8th floor overlooking the pool, very quiet and we slept very well. All rooms and the corridors are fully carpeted to keep down noise levels. Housekeeping was to a high standard although on some days it was 4pm before we were done. (On 3 days the room was serviced while we were at breakfast, always a bonus!) The in room fridge is replenished daily with 1.5 lt bottles of water and cans of soft drinks. The safe is free to use.
A big plus point for us was the provision of two large lounge areas, one in the 6th floor lobby area and the other a very colourful lounge on the 5th floor, so that there was always somewhere to sit after dinner and have a coffee and drink without having to go in the show bar unless we wanted to. Entertainment was OK but the programme repeats after 7 days so the same tunes become a bit stale.
We didn't use the pool or the infamous sun loungers but a manager did tell us that the loungers will be replaced next year. He also told us that WiFi, currently at 22 euros a day!, will be "free" from early next year when the current contract expires.
The terrace area is also very pleasant with plenty of chairs and tables, a bar open all day from which you can also get an unlimited supply of water in 330ml bottles, and a cafe/coffee shop with snacks and serve yourself hot drinks available all day.
I would give the hotel 5 Trip Advisor stars but it does fall down a little bit in the Dining Room. We were always able to get a nice table and the servers were excellent (thank you especially Marcia and Estevan), our wine glasses were always refilled, many times before we asked!
However our rating for food would only be 3 stars. The menu is repeated after only 7 days so the second week became a bit samey. Most days there was a reasonable choice of dishes but why do so many items, both sweet and savoury, have to have so many nuts added to them eg steamed broccoli with added walnuts or stewed lamb with coconut sprinked on top of the pot? Saturday night is carvery night when a chef carves from a roast beef joint which is cooked very rare. Several other dishes included either nuts or shellfish in the presentation without any warning notices which could be a serious health hazard to some people. We also felt a lack of appropriate sauces or gravies to accompany some meat or fish dishes. Having said that it is only fair to add that we looked forward to our three meals a day, we had some very good meals and we expect to go back again!

All in all an excellent hotel with a wonderful seafront location, easy access to Funchal city centre, pleasant and friendly staff, always clean and tidy and drinks in very large measures. If you go there you will have good holiday.

Room Tip: High floor, pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have had an excellent holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

“Obrigado” for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Enotel Lido Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Lido Madeira

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004 - 576, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#18 Family Hotel in Funchal
#19 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#21 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Enotel Lido Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enotel Lido Madeira is a comfortable 5 star hotel located in the main touristic area, situated above the ocean with direct access to the oceanfront promenade and just 5 minutes from the centre of Funchal. There are 270 comfortable rooms available including balcony with a ocean side view, air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryer, mini bar, separate bath and shower, bathrobes, telephone with direct outside line and voicemail facility there are also 47 Suites with a Jacuzzi, coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Enotel Lido Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enotel Lido Madeira Hotel Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Hotel Funchal
Enotel Lido Madeira Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enotel Lido Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.