We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have better management” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Enotel Lido Madeira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Enotel Lido Madeira to your Saves list
Enotel Lido Madeira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004 - 576, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Could have better management”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Sun beds dangerous. management should dispose of them immediately and replace them before someone gets hurt. Good entertainment, good food and good staff. Great location and friendly people. Pool area small, packed like sardines on rubbish sun beds.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your opinion and suggestions for they are very important to us and can always help us to improve our services. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Lido.

Once again “Obrigado” for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    375
    114
    27
    7
See reviews for
196
703
19
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised as we were given a suite which was huge (8th floor room 806)
The hotel is very comfortable & the food good quality & varied. We were on an all inclusive package & for the last 2 weeks in August all the named brands were included. The pool area is basic & the hotel allows towels to be placed on the sun beds & folk start this fiasco at 7.30am !!!!
Ive seen complaints that there is no staff to accompany you to your table. I find this to be preferable as you can choose where you sit & never have to queue to be seated. As its only a buffet a less formal approach is best.
The drinks service at the bars is excellent.Very little wait. The pool area has waiters running around with large trays with sangria, beer & soft drinks which is a definite positive.
The entertainments team are very amateur & the entertainment poor. Repetetive. Daily it consisted of bingo & water polo which was a bit of a farce. Parrot show, junior disco where I never saw any more than 3 kids participating. The resort is very pretty but hilly. We like walking so loved it but there isnt an awful lot to do.
The hole in one pub about 1/2 mile away is popular & has a good atmosphere. The fish market is worth a visit & the wicker toboggan ride down the hill from Monte is a must.
My advice is good for adults wanting to relax but if you have youngsters who need a modicum of entertainment then this isnt the place for you.

Room Tip: 8th floor & above. Good sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your opinion and suggestions for they are very important to us and can always help us to improve our services. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Lido, which you may witness in the near future.

Once again “Obrigado” for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

my husband and i just returned from Funchal Maderia on Monday the 2nd sep 2013. I have to say me being the most fussiest person to please,was very happy with this hotel.it was absolutely spotless at all times,the rooms were done daily to a high standard,The beds were very comfortable too.We were on floor 10 which we were very pleased about because it was a quiet floor (not that there was much noise),the guests were very considerate when going to their rooms not making any noise when passing our door.The staff..., well what can i say,they were the nicest people you will ever meet, they cant do enough for you and nothing is a bother to them. The food...again i am very fussy but there was something for everyone even me. there was plenty of variety from lovey AL la carte to burgers, chips/pizza on the go all day. you can even have afternoon tea and cakes. the only moan i have is the alcohol not that we are drinkers but i do like a Bacardi Their own version was not to my taste so i bought a bottle, put it in a small water bottle and carried it with me,i only asked for a cola light then added my own.This has been one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in if not the best and one of the best holidays we have had. would definitely recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: ask for a room from floor 7 upwards there are only 10 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are glad to know that your expectations have generally been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Lido, which you may witness in the near future.

We thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We booked through Expedia and stayed at the Enotel for 10 nights (family of 4 – kids aged 4 and 6) . On arrival, our room was not ready, but the very helpful receptionist was happy to issue our all-inclusive wristbands and to direct us to a storage area for our luggage.

The initial impression of the hotel is very good with a very elegant reception floor, a smart lobby bar with a small grand piano. This is clearly a hotel aiming to be 5 Star. We quickly discovered that the lobby bar was very nice with all cocktails mixed properly by hand. We also discovered however that the only free access to the internet at the Enotel was via two PCs which were almost always in use. To use wifi for an hour in the lobby – 10 Euros, for 24 hours in your room – 22 euros. For a 7 day package for two devices – 88 euros. They really need to sort this out. I can understand charging for wifi in the rooms, but it really should be free in the lobby at least. Somewhat annoyingly they also have a conference wifi which is partnered with both BT and Orange. These can only be used however, if you have a full BTOpenzone account (not via Total Broadband) or are with Orange France.

We went down to the pool area which was busy, with all sun loungers having already been taken, but the kids enjoyed a swim and a buffet lunch whilst we waited for our room.

Once we did get the room, we discovered that having requested a quieter room, we had been allocated a junior suite on the 10th floor corner (room 1019). This is a lovely room split into a bedroom and living area. The living area had been rearranged to accommodate a single bed and a smaller camp bed which were ideal for the children. They also had their own TV to watch Portuguese Children's programmes on.

The room has a massive balcony with sunbeds, and was clean. The minibar was both open and not charged for (although it only had soft drinks and water in). Strangely the rooms don't have kettles / tea / coffee which is quite unusual.

Where things started to fall down was with the maintenance however. For example, I noticed that the doorstop had been knocked out of the ground (a minor irritation) but was amused to notice that the housekeepers just cleaned round it every day. We were less amused that the room electrics didn't work. Like many hotels, the room is designed so that you need to insert a room card in a holder by the door to activate the lights and air conditioning. Unlike many hotels, this didn't work. I reported it, and a maintenance man said he would fix it and advised using two cards in the meantime. He later fixed it, then it broke again. We asked for it to be fixed – it never was.

Other problems with the room (and for most of the 10th floor) were with the drains. We had to ensure that the bathroom door was closed all the time to prevent a truly foul smell pervading the whole room. We reported this several times, and each time we were told that house keeping would attend to it by putting some cleaning fluid down the drains. As a solution this was clearly failing miserably. We also had to ask for the balcony to be cleaned and ask for a sun umbrella that wasn't broken.

Room aside, most of our experiences were very positive. The hotel has signs stressing that you cannot reserve sun loungers. These are completely ignored by all Staff and Guests – if you don't get up early and reserve a lounger – you won't get one. In addition, as has been mentioned by other reviewers, many of the loungers have been over stressed at the front so that they collapse if you sit down. It was also essential to source umbrellas that were not too rusted or broken.

The pool area is beautifully landscaped although there appeared to be a mudhole in one of the lawns. The pool and pool area were cleaned daily (except for the weekends) – which was essential as the strong Madeiran breeze tended to knock over the umbrellas, which in turn knocked over drinks as there are no tables to go with the sun loungers.

The pool has a very gentle graduation from shallow to deep with a 1ft baby pool to the side of it. There is also an indoor Spa Pool which children are permitted to swim in (although not play). For some reason a Hat is mandatory in the indoor pool – and these are sold by the hotel for 4 euros.

My kids enjoyed the pool immensely, on a daily basis. It tends to be shaded in the mornings and in full sunshine by about 12:00. In addition the hotel has a superb kids club which nominally has a room just inside the hotel but very close to the pool area. The staff were lovely and would often bring activities out to the pool. Our children therefore used it all the time, as they didn't feel like they were away from mum and dad. A special nomination goes to Suzanna and Elsa who seemed to genuinely enjoy running kids club and really understood how to get the children involved and ensure they had a good time.

Pool drinks are served in plastic glasses from the Sports Bar and waiters regularly made a poolside circuit to offer the most popular drinks and cocktails. The cocktails from the Sports Bar tended to be premixed to enable them to serve people as quickly as possible, which worked very well. Again the staff were warm and friendly. The Bar itself showed all main sports (football, Grands Prix etc) and had a full sized snooker table, table football and darts, although the snooker table felt badly needed replacing. The bar staff were happy to serve children and my six year old felt very grown up ordering her own favourite non-alcoholic cocktail!

Lunch could either be taken at the Italian restaurant which served a buffet or at the main restaurant, also a buffet. We found the manager of the Italian restaurant to be probably the least pleasant and most jobsworth of all the staff. The only item which was not self service was the ice-cream (which was self service at the main restaurant) which was almost never staffed.

However during the week, maintenance struck again in the form of a cut toe on my youngest daughter, caused by missing tiles on the step in the pool.

We enjoyed the entertainment at the hotel, although the poolside evening entertainment was often very loud and went on quite late (well quite late if you have young children!). Given that we were at the top of the hotel, the music pounded into the room nightly. If you want a peaceful hotel, this is not the place for you. Even during the day there is pool aerobics at 13:00, usually an activity at 15:00 or 16:00 and then the kids mini disco at 17;00 and then evening poolside entertainment. The hotel also has a cabaret bar which provides evening shows (9.30pm) by the entertainment team several times per week. These were lovely and the children again enjoyed them immensely. The kids club also took the children up to it for a mini disco on occasion.

As other reviewers mentioned the buffets are very varied. We also enjoyed the Madeiran restaurant. We didn't try the Japanese as none of us a fish / sushi / rice fans. The Italian had mixed reviews, with my children not really enjoying it (unusual for them!). We found that there was nearly always a greeter on the door – I suspect this varied depending on when you hit the buffet. We always tended to be there early, so didn't encounter problems with table clearing etc.

So in summary, this is a nice 4 star hotel with good quality all inclusive food. It is let down badly by lack of maintenance and really needs an overhaul of all of the poolside furniture. Their Wifi is overpriced resulting in limited access to the two free terminals (and therefore making it difficult to do airline check in!) Would I go again? Maybe, but after 7 nights I really was considering ways to sabotage the poolside amplification. From my children however – 5 stars!

Room Tip: Room 1019 has the largest balcony in the hotel. Rooms not facing the pool will be quieter but have o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your opinion regarding our Hotel and services as they can always help us to improve.
We can assure you that we will nevertheless continue to do our best in order to provide our Clients with a quality service, which you may witness in your next visit to the Enotel Lido Hotel.

We are pleased for your co-operation and would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This all inclusive hotel has the potential to be very good, unfortunately the service in the restaurant was poor. There is nobody to allocate you to a seat on entering the restaurant. Given the fact that it was a buffet restaurant, it is not clear if tables are occupied or waiting to be reset. Once you had found a table by yourself, you had to wait and then usually ask for the table to be set and then ask for a drink. We did not find the staff in the restaurant to be friendly at all and on two occasions I found waiters to be rude when I asked for cutlery. On one night, there was a lady at the restaurant entrance who was showing people to vacant/set tables and on this night we were asked if we wanted a drink straight away. However, this only happened once. Thankfully, the service was not mirrored in the themed restaurants. We ate in both the Japanese and Madeiran restaurants, which were both very enjoyable with pleasant attentive waiters. Waiting staff in the sports bar notably worked very hard. I would also agree with other comments regarding the broken sun loungers. It was also at times difficult to find a lounger, albeit the hotel was very busy. We saw a man bringing a sun lounger from his room one morning!
Overall, we did enjoy our holiday despite the poor service in the restaurant, however, it could be rectified very easily as was demonstrated on only one night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We have received and carefully read your comments about our Hotel services. Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your opinion and suggestions for they are very important to us and can always help us to improve our services.

Thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excellent service and staff with quality all inclusive food and drinks. Only downside is hotel was very busy with sun loungers cramped and made of poor quality plastic which appeared to collapse very easily when sat on. Good quality evening entertainment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was the best holiday so far. Great clean spacious room, bathroom with both shower and tub, sea view from the room. Food was splendid (especially beef and veal), italian a la carte restaurant surprised us with sweet pizza (excellent). Hotel is situated on promenade, so one can take a nice stroll around the coast. Beach (with big stones - these are to be expected on Madeira) is just outside the hotel. Drinks in the bar are top notch. Staff was always helpful, pleasant and willing to go the extra mile. Don't forget to explore, for Madeira is a lovely little island. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, as it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Lido Madeira, which you may witness in your next visit here.

We thank you for your co-operation and I would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind regards,

Luís Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Enotel Lido Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Lido Madeira

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004 - 576, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#19 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#20 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Enotel Lido Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enotel Lido Madeira is a comfortable 5 star hotel located in the main touristic area, situated above the ocean with direct access to the oceanfront promenade and just 5 minutes from the centre of Funchal. There are 270 comfortable rooms available including balcony with a ocean side view, air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryer, mini bar, separate bath and shower, bathrobes, telephone with direct outside line and voicemail facility there are also 47 Suites with a Jacuzzi, coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Enotel Lido Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enotel Lido Madeira Hotel Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Hotel Funchal
Enotel Lido Madeira Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enotel Lido Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.