We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very decent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Enotel Lido Madeira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Enotel Lido Madeira to your Saves list
Enotel Lido Madeira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004 - 576, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Elstead, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very decent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We came back last night having had 10 days at the hotel. Overall I think I would rate it as a very good 4 star rather than 5. My comments are as follows:-

Positives:-
1. Superb staff if every respect. Attentive, polite and know what good service to their client is. Possibly not quite as polished as a 5 star hotel, but no complaints at all.

2. Room was a de-luxe side sea view [919] and was very good, spacious and kept very clean by the maid.

3. Dining facilities were good without being outstanding, and the food well prepared and presented, with plenty of choice and variety. The taste was extremenly good which suggests high quality ingredients. No complaints, but would not call it 5 star, but certainly of a high standard. Good to see that there was a long trouser dress code for the men for evening dining, although I would prefer not to see scruffy jeans on the guys, when their wives tried the very best each evening. Good theme dining especially the Japanese restaurant. Nice touch!

4. Pool area kept very clean daily including the poolside dining facilities, where a good selection of perhaps more the the 'fast-food' type were available virually all day. We lunched here at most times.

Negatives:-

I feel a bit hard here because everyone at the hotel clearly works very hard, but i would comment as follows:-

1. 5 star hotels should always have luggage porter. It in no way spoilt the holiday, but just an observation.

2. All bedrooms in a 5 star hotel will have tea/coffee facilities, but they are only in the suites. [we took ours with us]

3. You do not queue up to get a drink in a 5 star hotel. The sports bar team had to work flat out to keep up with the queuing, and this was possibly the worst part of the holiday. To be fair, waeters did circulate around the pool with a tray of a variety of drinks, but I thought that this part of the serve was just 3-4 star.

Overall, a very good hotel, and if it had been rated as 4 star, I would have given it excellent, but I am sure you would have an enjoyable noliday here unless you were totally used to 5 star treatment in every respect.

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor [919] facing west with good sea view and overlooking the pool and terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    349
    110
    26
    5
See reviews for
179
635
16
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haydock, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

i stayed at the Enotel in May with my friend we had a fabulous time. The hotel is exceptionally clean and the food was really good. The room was large and plenty of wardrobe space, we also had a fridge and a safe. The evening entertainment was very good as were the drinks being served (all branded) and generous measures. The staff are amazing right up from the cleaners to the reception staff we found them all to be very friendly and obliging no matter what you asked of them. We shall be returning next year for 11 nights because we only stayed for a week this year and it wasn,t long enough because it is such a very good hotel. Madeira is such a beautiful island as are the people and there are lots if interesting places to visit during your stay. We are looking forward to our stay in June next year and hope to meet some of the same staff that we met this year.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife & I stayed here at the end of June for a week, the hotel is well located lovely walks not too far into Funchai about ( 20 mins). The hotel is very modern, very very clean and with plenty of lovely relaxing seating areas, the rooms are very spacious with walk in shower and bath and kept to a very good standard. Food is excellent plenty of choice even at the pool bar restaurant they have everything you could wish for. You help yourself to your wine or tea & coffee or the bar is next door if you prefer a beer or spirits.The waiters/waitresses come around the pool area while you sunbathe with a selection of drinks.
The themed restaurants were good our favourite was the Japanese, the main restaurant is big we had no problems getting a table there was a good selection here every night, at breakfast the waiters bring your tea/coffee to you (much better than queuing at those dreaded machines).
There was plenty entertainment in the evening a lovely big room with quick service at the bar.
We will definitely go back to this hotel, we loved Maderia it is so pretty and no hassle when you take a walk, no lager louts and boom boom music along the promenade!!!!! peaceful and pretty.

Room Tip: floor 6 & up with pool view is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We returned on 6th July from a two week holiday at Enotel Lido at least 7lbs heavier. All aspects of the restaurants were of a high standard. There was the main restaurant available to all and 3 others (Madeiran, Italian and Japanese) bookable. If you wanted you could eat and drink for over 12hours a day.
All staff were very helpful.
The rooms (sea view) were of a very good standard and were always kept clean. In fact they changed the sheets and towels every day. Very quiet.
I treated myself to a spa treatment on my first day and was so very pleasantly surprised at the facilities in the spa that wasn't apparent in the spa reception area. When you went through the doors you came to an underground haven with 2 Jacuzzi's and a sea water swimming pool that you walked past to get to the treatment rooms. Following the treatments you are told you can use all the pools for 2 hours free of charge. (normally 8 euros)
The position of the hotel was great for the bus service to town. Alternatively there are Taxis in abundance too.
My mum is now booking herself a holiday at Enotel Lido on the strength of our satisfaction. That's surely a good testament!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We had a good, standard left hand side room (231) with a sea view but we visited one on the other si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, as it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Lido Madeira, which you may witness in your next visit here.

We thank you for your co-operation and I would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Which is more than you can say for the surrounding area. To get to the hotel the taxi went along the main road turned left and went down to the entrance of the hotel which is where the reception area is on the 6th floor! Even at ground level (where the pool is) you go further down to the promenade and then steps down to a small beach area. The larger lido is a good up and down walk. So if you're looking for a beach holiday on the flat forget this hotel however if your looking for a hotel based holiday around the pool with refreshments virtually 24hrs I would definitely recommend the Enotel.
At reception we were given our wrist band which entitled us to drinks, food and most of the facilities for the duration of our stay. You can have a drink at the bar in the reception area or go down to the sports bar (near the outside swimming pool) and next to the indoor one. Next to the Sports bar which has three TV's and a snooker table is an Italian themed bar where you can eat from mid morning. Buffet lunch is served in the same restaurant as Breakfast and Evening meal. There is also an opportunity to have an al la carte themed meal. After your meal you can where either sit round the pool, go to the reception area bar where a pianist or saxophonist is playing or go to the moonlight bar and watch and participate in the live shows. All of course whilst having an all inclusive drink.
In your room there is a mini bar which is stocked with water and 3 cans of soft drink (daily If necessary). The beds were comfortable, the air conditioning worked, the water was hot, the hair dryer worked and there was ample space in the wardrobe. Our safe was a bit temperamental (I think it needed a new battery) but the hotel staff were quickly on hand I complained. The only other problem we experienced with the room was the card which did not work during the first day. Again this was remedied by the efficient hotel staff.
If I had one criticism apart from the location it would be the dinning area which became a bit of a lottery where you may find a table and sometimes you may get your glass filled twice or 3 times and next night once if you were lucky.
Hills and more hills are a characteristic of Maderia but you can always catch a bus or get a taxi which can easily be found near the hotel. The centre of Funchal and harbour are is about an hours stroll from the hotel - longer to get back because there are more uphills than down.

Room Tip: Our room 619 was on the same floor as reception and had a part sea view. It would appear that all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Went to Madeira fir the first time this year in April, This Hotel is fantastic, food excellent, service very good, for what we paid I would go as far to say it was our best Holiday ever .Not to far out of Funchal. The drinks that were served for all inclusive, most were branded names. I would recommend this Hotel for the over 45s and upwards.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a sea view, or a room over looking the pool as you overlook the sea as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Visited this hotel for one week 21 to 28 June it was our wedding anniversary and our friends 50 birthday. The staff at the hotel were fantastic, they decorated the room for our friends 50 birthday and even decorated a cake.
The food for an all inclusive is very good they seem to have taken on board the comments by other people about the food being Lukewarm it is now hot, good selection of drinks.Rooms were good beds a bit hard but overall very good,hotel is very clean and tidy. When by the pool drinks brought round on a regular basis. Below the hotel are a couple of bars and cafes and a jazz bar all worth a visit.We had a really good holiday at the enotel lido and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for a good service relaxing holiday.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Enotel Lido Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Lido Madeira

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004 - 576, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#19 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#21 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Enotel Lido Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enotel Lido Madeira is a comfortable 5 star hotel located in the main touristic area, situated above the ocean with direct access to the oceanfront promenade and just 5 minutes from the centre of Funchal. There are 270 comfortable rooms available including balcony with a ocean side view, air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryer, mini bar, separate bath and shower, bathrobes, telephone with direct outside line and voicemail facility there are also 47 Suites with a Jacuzzi, coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Enotel Lido Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enotel Lido Madeira Hotel Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Hotel Funchal
Enotel Lido Madeira Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enotel Lido Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.