We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“at least the hotel is on the flat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Enotel Lido Madeira

Save Saved
You added Enotel Lido Madeira to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Enotel Lido Madeira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004 - 576, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“at least the hotel is on the flat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Which is more than you can say for the surrounding area. To get to the hotel the taxi went along the main road turned left and went down to the entrance of the hotel which is where the reception area is on the 6th floor! Even at ground level (where the pool is) you go further down to the promenade and then steps down to a small beach area. The larger lido is a good up and down walk. So if you're looking for a beach holiday on the flat forget this hotel however if your looking for a hotel based holiday around the pool with refreshments virtually 24hrs I would definitely recommend the Enotel.
At reception we were given our wrist band which entitled us to drinks, food and most of the facilities for the duration of our stay. You can have a drink at the bar in the reception area or go down to the sports bar (near the outside swimming pool) and next to the indoor one. Next to the Sports bar which has three TV's and a snooker table is an Italian themed bar where you can eat from mid morning. Buffet lunch is served in the same restaurant as Breakfast and Evening meal. There is also an opportunity to have an al la carte themed meal. After your meal you can where either sit round the pool, go to the reception area bar where a pianist or saxophonist is playing or go to the moonlight bar and watch and participate in the live shows. All of course whilst having an all inclusive drink.
In your room there is a mini bar which is stocked with water and 3 cans of soft drink (daily If necessary). The beds were comfortable, the air conditioning worked, the water was hot, the hair dryer worked and there was ample space in the wardrobe. Our safe was a bit temperamental (I think it needed a new battery) but the hotel staff were quickly on hand I complained. The only other problem we experienced with the room was the card which did not work during the first day. Again this was remedied by the efficient hotel staff.
If I had one criticism apart from the location it would be the dinning area which became a bit of a lottery where you may find a table and sometimes you may get your glass filled twice or 3 times and next night once if you were lucky.
Hills and more hills are a characteristic of Maderia but you can always catch a bus or get a taxi which can easily be found near the hotel. The centre of Funchal and harbour are is about an hours stroll from the hotel - longer to get back because there are more uphills than down.

Room Tip: Our room 619 was on the same floor as reception and had a part sea view. It would appear that all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    441
    293
    99
    24
    3
See reviews for
145
544
16
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Went to Madeira fir the first time this year in April, This Hotel is fantastic, food excellent, service very good, for what we paid I would go as far to say it was our best Holiday ever .Not to far out of Funchal. The drinks that were served for all inclusive, most were branded names. I would recommend this Hotel for the over 45s and upwards.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a sea view, or a room over looking the pool as you overlook the sea as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Visited this hotel for one week 21 to 28 June it was our wedding anniversary and our friends 50 birthday. The staff at the hotel were fantastic, they decorated the room for our friends 50 birthday and even decorated a cake.
The food for an all inclusive is very good they seem to have taken on board the comments by other people about the food being Lukewarm it is now hot, good selection of drinks.Rooms were good beds a bit hard but overall very good,hotel is very clean and tidy. When by the pool drinks brought round on a regular basis. Below the hotel are a couple of bars and cafes and a jazz bar all worth a visit.We had a really good holiday at the enotel lido and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for a good service relaxing holiday.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just returned from a week at this wonderful hotel. (room 825)
Very attentive staff making it all-inclusive plus ......even patrolling the pool area with trays of drinks on offer .....decisions ,decisions.
Rooms large and spacious and maintained to a very high standard of cleanliness and houskeeping.
Food at all meals is excellent and plenty of choice ..... and desserts ....wow.
It's also very nice to be able to get a first class coffee and an excellent slice of cake almost whenever you fancy one.
Congratulations to every one involved.
Should we return to Madeira ..... this is where we will stay.

Room Tip: High floor - sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are glad to know that your expectations have generally been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Lido, which you may witness in the near future.

We thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Got back yesterday after two weeks at Enotel Lido. The staff are very hardworking, friendly and all speak very good English. The management always around, keeping an eye on things,and on one occasion, I even noticed one of them clearing a couple of tables in the main buffet restaurant when it got very busy! The food is very fresh and tasty with a good choice daily. Could do with a little less salt in the cooking though. We tried all 3 themed restaurants once. In the Madeiran, we found the soup to be tasteless, and the steak very salty! In the Japanese, we found the chicken, beef and seafood overcooked, and the Sushi was bland, although the rice and vegetables were fine. The Italian was our favourite and was cooked perfectly!
The hotel is kept very clean and well maintained. I didn't need to use the internet, but there is a charge for the Wi-Fi so I was told.
The rooms are very nice, all with a sea view. The pool area is very pleasant with plenty of sunbeds, although they could do with replacing these as some of them have seen better days and have weak legs which are prone to collapsing! I didn't try the indoor pool in the spa because you have to wear a swim cap, but it looked lovely. The gym was well equipped.
Entertainment was often quite good with singing duos with one on keyboard. An excellent sax player. Folklore singing and dancing. The disco music was very good but shame they played the same tunes every evening! The animation team were good at dancing and miming. The entertainment was repeated on our 2nd week, so we sat in the Perola bar in reception instead which was also very pleasant. 3 bars in total, all with a very good selection of branded drinks.

The hotel is situated in a lovely area, with lots of bars, restaurants and shops. As it's right on the promenade, it's lovely for a stroll in either direction, but is very up and down so not suited for anyone with walking difficulties. It's the same all over the island, very beautiful with lots of walks in all directions, but very hilly. The bus stop is in front of the hotel and the service is very reliable and frequent. The centre of Funchal is a very vibrant place with a great atmosphere and is a 40 minute walk from the hotel or 10 minutes on the bus. Visit the old town, with it's cobbled streets and artwork on the doors as it makes for a very pleasant walk.

One day we got the bus to the centre, then got the cable car up to Monte, visited the Tropical gardens and came down on the wicker toboggan. Another day we got the number 48 bus up to Monte then walked to a different cable car which takes you to the Botanical gardens and then the bus back into the centre. We also did the East tour which takes you right up to Port Moniz in the north, which was a full day with a 3 course lunch and wine included.
Locally, we tried a wonderful Chinese restaurant called "Grande Mundo" where the food, service and price are so good it's worth a recommendation. Also, a pub called "Hole in one" had a very good musician on most nights.

Madeira is not famous for it's beaches but more than makes up for it with everything else it has to offer.
Obrigada x

Room Tip: We asked for a high floor so there's less noise and a better view. We were on 8th floor and were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, as it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Lido Madeira, which you may witness in your next visit here.

We thank you for your co-operation and I would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We landed in Madeira safely despite watching the world's top 10 extreme airports the night before take off.
We arrived by Thomas Cook's mini bus at the hotel at 1.00pm, we were checked in and because our room wasn't ready until 2.00pm we were given our all inclusive bracelet and told to go for lunch.
The food was lovely and varied and from that first lunch to our last breakfast 14 days later there was nothing that could be complained about.
The room we had on the tenth floor was kept beautifully clean and the view from the balcony made for interesting people watching both day and night. Not that we did that much.
The best coffee in the building was in the Perola bar on floor 6.
We found the entertainment very good and all concerned were very happy and enthusiastic, my favourite act was the duo with the saxophones. The nights when the Madeira locals appeared to educate us on their clothing and occupations were also of great interest.
All the service both in all the bars and the cafe and restaurant, was excellent and the staff are a credit to the hotel.
The pool although cold was clean. During our visit we did not see many children but there is a kids room and highchairs were available in the dining room. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted go to to Madeira. Although there is a fairly long walk to Funchal from the hotel the public transport system is very good and there are loads of taxis about. We went on the West ,East and Nuns valley tours through Thomas Cook and we saw most of the island which has so many different areas to delight the visitor. The trees and flowers are a marvellous sight and there are flowers all over the island to be seen throughout the year.

Room Tip: Floor 10 on the street side will avoid the noise from the pool bar where visitors seem to shout well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, as it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Lido Madeira, which you may witness in your next visit here.

We thank you for your co-operation and I would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind regards,

Luís Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have just return from an 11 day holiday staying at this superb hotel. Everyone from the managers, serving staff, cleaning staff and entertainment staff were always obliging and friendly. Nothing seemed too much trouble and problems we had were quickly dealt with. Our room for both size and standard of furniture was one of the best we have ever stayed in. It was our wedding anniversary during our holiday and both the catering staff and entertainment staff surprised us with a cake and later with a bottle of wine to celebrate it. The hotel is ideally positioned on the Lido promenade and if you want to you can walk into Funchal or catch the local bus. Would highly recommend it to everyone and will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We would like to say “Obrigado” for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Enotel Lido Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Lido Madeira

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004 - 576, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#18 Family Hotel in Funchal
#21 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#22 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Enotel Lido Madeira 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enotel Lido Madeira is a comfortable 5 star hotel located in the main touristic area, situated above the ocean with direct access to the oceanfront promenade and just 5 minutes from the centre of Funchal. There are 270 comfortable rooms available including balcony with a ocean side view, air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryer, mini bar, separate bath and shower, bathrobes, telephone with direct outside line and voicemail facility there are also 47 Suites with a Jacuzzi, coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Enotel Lido Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enotel Lido Madeira Hotel Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Hotel Funchal
Enotel Lido Madeira Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enotel Lido Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.