We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Appointed Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Enotel Lido Madeira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Enotel Lido Madeira to your Saves list
Enotel Lido Madeira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004 - 576, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
jersey channel islands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Well Appointed Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was my first experience of an all inclusive hotel and by and large I was very impressed. The property is obviously quite new and was spotlessly clean and although not a huge hotel there was a general feeling of space. The buffet for Breakfast and Dinner was excellent and offered a good variety during our 5 night stay. They also have two other restaurants, an Italian which was disappointing, and a Japanese which was very good. You will have to book these restaurants in advance. Naturally I visited all three bars and the service was swift with the exception of the Lobby bar which needs more staff in the evenings, the spirits are not of the highest quality but I take it that is the norm in an all inclusive. The room was a twin with living area + pull out bed, large bathroom and a huge balcony overlooking the ocean, no complaints there, fantastic! The entertainment was patchy, the dance troupe were good but the Parrot Show was awful and as for the local morris dancers I couldn't make my mind up whether I felt like crying or burst out laughing. On reflection my only one negative was that there was too few lifts, it was not uncommon to wait 5 minutes at Breakfast of during the Evening.
Make the effort to leave the Hotel via the ocean side gate, (saving yourself another walk up and down a hill), and try the local Poncha at the No2 Bar directly below the Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eaglecreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just back from our second trip to the Enotel Lido. We had a great time last autumn and booked to return for the Funchal flower festival in May. If anything the service at Enotel lido has improved in 6 months, and far exceeds what one expects in an All Inclusive hotel. The value is amazing - food is very good, house wines acceptable (and I am a wine fiend) and all but the most premium drinks are included in AI.

The position is great - quiet but near enough to central Funchal to walk in and taxi back for about 8E. Right on the seafront promenade, and beside the public lido (bathing off rocks for the brave).

We asked for and got a high room with lovely view of ocean and pool. The only drawback to a pool view room was the presence last week of a large and lively party of French guests (works outing I gathered) who kept very late hours with loud voices. Management were alerted but not much changed.

Of the popular trips available, we recommend the Friday 'Beautiful Bays' trip on the Bonita da Madeira - a gulet style boat trip around the Eastern end of the Island. We saw spotted dolphins this time, and pilot whales last year - magic. The trip is 40E pp including transfers and lunch and is good value. Buy it from the little bureau on the promenade below the hotel (rather than from the rep) and Yvette will give friendly advice, and perhaps a discount.

Of the speciality restaurants, the Japanese is fun - tepanyaki style, and the Madeiran one is good; the Italian is a bit unimaginative.

Evening entertainment is good - the dancers and sax player especially. We didn't use the spa, but toured it during an Enotel Plus pitch - Enotel Plus is basically an advance selling offer of holidays in their hotels (4 in Madeira, one in Brazil) with discount and privileges; we reckoned it was not good enough value to warrant having to fix flights etc separately, given the deals available via First Choice et al, but it was an interesting 90 minutes with no hard sell.

We loved the whole experience, with the exception of our noisy fellow guests, but i don't know what the hotel could have done. If you take people away for a free week with an open bar what can you expect? Thank heaven they weren't Brits?

Room Tip: Lower level rooms around pool will inevitably be noisy, because the poolside bar is open all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, as it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Lido Madeira, which you may witness in your next visit here.

We thank you for your co-operation and I would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Nice hotel. Staff very helful found this especially so during evening meal time nothing too much trouble.

Good selection of food.

Hotel is quite a distance from Funchal Town however there are buses that run often a couple minutes walk from the hotel.

It is a nice walk into the town, down hill and a lovely park on the way to stop and admire the view.
A good selection of nice resturants, cafes and shops near the hotel.

The hotel was away from the main road and set in a quiet area which suited us.

Room Tip: Our room on fourth floor overlooking pool with side sea view this suited us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank free_spirit_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here for 1 week in May 2013 all inclusive, we were quite disappointed, the hotel is very clean that is one positive, we upgraded when booking it on line to a superior room only to find that these "upgraded" rooms are directly above the all day restaurant and seating area you have no privacy at all. We upgraded again at an additional cost to a suite (this was very nice but not worth the additional cost) The Hotel reception staff were efficient but unfriendly for instance when we were leaving and paying our room bill she did not say thank you or have you enjoyed your stay she said NOTHING as for the restaurant and bar staff they were quite the opposite very helpful and friendly.
The food was ok but having stayed in another 4* all inclusive hotel in Portugal last year their was no comparison.
To round things off we were playing snooker with some French people taking into account that I'm 50 and the French people were 60 to 65 years old only to be told off by one of the reception manages for making too much noise at 4PM in the afternoon as it was very overcast and quite cold outside, we could not believe it... there's very little activities at this hotel & we will not go back to this hotel or any other Enotel

Room Tip: if you can afford it pick a Suite these do over look the sea and are very much bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louisejanemawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your opinion regarding our Hotel and services as they can always help us to improve.
We can assure you that we will nevertheless continue to do our best in order to provide our Clients with a quality service.

We are pleased for your co-operation and would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed for a fortnight. We were very impressed with the facilities and our bathroom having separate bath and shower was a feature which suited us. Food was available 24/7 and the variety in the buffet restaurant was very extensive, no-one need to go hungry. The staff in the restaurant were very attentive, keeping glasses topped up and used plates, etc cleared away.
Bar staff were excellent, switching between languages with ease and providing cheerful service, especailly Pedro in the Sports Bar and Ana who worked the theatre (among other places) keeping everybody stocked with drinks and always smiling.
At the Customer Relations desk, Katrina was very helpful and had an extraordinary memory for names and room numbers.
We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting an all-inclusive break in Madeira.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbieAnne3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

had a fab easter at enotel lido so good we have booked again for end of july staff were excellent rooms were verry comfertable food is good they even caterd for me and ive got coelics please can you get glutten free ice cream and drinking chocolate

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jessica t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, as it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Lido Madeira, which you may witness in your next visit here.

We thank you for your co-operation and I would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel is lovely, clean and the staff are excellent. Food is excellent. There are three themed restaurants which you need to book, but the main buffet food was actually better. The all-inclusive drinks are very good, and you can have most branded drinks, like Gordon's gin, if you ask for it. It is bad form to ask for sherry - that is Spanish, so stick to the very pleasant Madeira wine! The location is amid lots of other hotels, but quite a long walk from the town. Do make the effort to get out and about. We used the open top tourist bus which goes quite a long way, and you can hop on and off for 24 hours, so one ticket will do one afternoon and the next morning too. Local busses are very good, and have a fixed ticket price of 1.9euro, or cheaper if you buy a pre-paid card of tickets from a local shop - the hotel reception will advise. Do go up the cable car to Monte, and do please have the toboggan ride down. Taxis will take you the rest of the way to Funchal centre for 10 euros, or get a bus.
Levada walks are a must. However you really don't need a guide or a minibus. The guided walks are quite expensive. The levadas are well above sea level so the temperature is generally cooler - be prepared! Although there are many miles of them, they are not easy to find, so you MUST plan and know what you are doing, where to go, and how to get the bus back. You can get a bus from the bus station (close to the bottom of the cable car) to the Hortensia Gardens (very pleasant cafe, bit expensive), and you can walk along an easy levada most of the way to Monte, and complete the walk into Monte by following a path down a valley and up the other side.
Another interesting outing is a trip round Blandy's Madeira wine museum. It is in Funchal near the Cathedral, not expensive, and it includes tasting...
This was our third trip to Madeira. We have hired cars before, but you really don't need to.
Despite Enotel being a long way out, we would certainly stay there again, as it is a lovely place, and very good value. My only gripe is that the beds are very hard, but that applies to all hotels ... Note to hotel: what about a choice? Softer beds don't have to be U shaped!
At the top of the hill down into Funchal there is the Governor's Palace which is a house with beautiful gardens, which you can walk round, free. It is on the right hand side just above the large park, which you can also walk round.

Room Tip: Reception is level 6, so a room on that level is good for lazy people! Rooms on the inside with view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank trunkles10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
1.3 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
#39 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 826 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vidamar Resort Madeira
Vidamar Resort Madeira
#15 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,871 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#10 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)
0.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enotel Lido Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Lido Madeira

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004 - 576, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#22 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#23 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Enotel Lido Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enotel Lido Madeira is a comfortable 5 star hotel located in the main touristic area, situated above the ocean with direct access to the oceanfront promenade and just 5 minutes from the centre of Funchal. There are 270 comfortable rooms available including balcony with a ocean side view, air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryer, mini bar, separate bath and shower, bathrobes, telephone with direct outside line and voicemail facility there are also 47 Suites with a Jacuzzi, coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Enotel Lido Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enotel Lido Madeira Hotel Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Hotel Funchal
Enotel Lido Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing