We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and great value hotel with relaxed feel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Enotel Lido Madeira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Enotel Lido Madeira to your Saves list
Enotel Lido Madeira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004 - 576, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent and great value hotel with relaxed feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just back from our second trip to the Enotel Lido. We had a great time last autumn and booked to return for the Funchal flower festival in May. If anything the service at Enotel lido has improved in 6 months, and far exceeds what one expects in an All Inclusive hotel. The value is amazing - food is very good, house wines acceptable (and I am a wine fiend) and all but the most premium drinks are included in AI.

The position is great - quiet but near enough to central Funchal to walk in and taxi back for about 8E. Right on the seafront promenade, and beside the public lido (bathing off rocks for the brave).

We asked for and got a high room with lovely view of ocean and pool. The only drawback to a pool view room was the presence last week of a large and lively party of French guests (works outing I gathered) who kept very late hours with loud voices. Management were alerted but not much changed.

Of the popular trips available, we recommend the Friday 'Beautiful Bays' trip on the Bonita da Madeira - a gulet style boat trip around the Eastern end of the Island. We saw spotted dolphins this time, and pilot whales last year - magic. The trip is 40E pp including transfers and lunch and is good value. Buy it from the little bureau on the promenade below the hotel (rather than from the rep) and Yvette will give friendly advice, and perhaps a discount.

Of the speciality restaurants, the Japanese is fun - tepanyaki style, and the Madeiran one is good; the Italian is a bit unimaginative.

Evening entertainment is good - the dancers and sax player especially. We didn't use the spa, but toured it during an Enotel Plus pitch - Enotel Plus is basically an advance selling offer of holidays in their hotels (4 in Madeira, one in Brazil) with discount and privileges; we reckoned it was not good enough value to warrant having to fix flights etc separately, given the deals available via First Choice et al, but it was an interesting 90 minutes with no hard sell.

We loved the whole experience, with the exception of our noisy fellow guests, but i don't know what the hotel could have done. If you take people away for a free week with an open bar what can you expect? Thank heaven they weren't Brits?

Room Tip: Lower level rooms around pool will inevitably be noisy, because the poolside bar is open all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, as it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Lido Madeira, which you may witness in your next visit here.

We thank you for your co-operation and I would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    319
    105
    24
    5
See reviews for
168
582
16
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Nice hotel. Staff very helful found this especially so during evening meal time nothing too much trouble.

Good selection of food.

Hotel is quite a distance from Funchal Town however there are buses that run often a couple minutes walk from the hotel.

It is a nice walk into the town, down hill and a lovely park on the way to stop and admire the view.
A good selection of nice resturants, cafes and shops near the hotel.

The hotel was away from the main road and set in a quiet area which suited us.

Room Tip: Our room on fourth floor overlooking pool with side sea view this suited us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here for 1 week in May 2013 all inclusive, we were quite disappointed, the hotel is very clean that is one positive, we upgraded when booking it on line to a superior room only to find that these "upgraded" rooms are directly above the all day restaurant and seating area you have no privacy at all. We upgraded again at an additional cost to a suite (this was very nice but not worth the additional cost) The Hotel reception staff were efficient but unfriendly for instance when we were leaving and paying our room bill she did not say thank you or have you enjoyed your stay she said NOTHING as for the restaurant and bar staff they were quite the opposite very helpful and friendly.
The food was ok but having stayed in another 4* all inclusive hotel in Portugal last year their was no comparison.
To round things off we were playing snooker with some French people taking into account that I'm 50 and the French people were 60 to 65 years old only to be told off by one of the reception manages for making too much noise at 4PM in the afternoon as it was very overcast and quite cold outside, we could not believe it... there's very little activities at this hotel & we will not go back to this hotel or any other Enotel

Room Tip: if you can afford it pick a Suite these do over look the sea and are very much bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your opinion regarding our Hotel and services as they can always help us to improve.
We can assure you that we will nevertheless continue to do our best in order to provide our Clients with a quality service.

We are pleased for your co-operation and would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed for a fortnight. We were very impressed with the facilities and our bathroom having separate bath and shower was a feature which suited us. Food was available 24/7 and the variety in the buffet restaurant was very extensive, no-one need to go hungry. The staff in the restaurant were very attentive, keeping glasses topped up and used plates, etc cleared away.
Bar staff were excellent, switching between languages with ease and providing cheerful service, especailly Pedro in the Sports Bar and Ana who worked the theatre (among other places) keeping everybody stocked with drinks and always smiling.
At the Customer Relations desk, Katrina was very helpful and had an extraordinary memory for names and room numbers.
We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting an all-inclusive break in Madeira.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

had a fab easter at enotel lido so good we have booked again for end of july staff were excellent rooms were verry comfertable food is good they even caterd for me and ive got coelics please can you get glutten free ice cream and drinking chocolate

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, as it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Lido Madeira, which you may witness in your next visit here.

We thank you for your co-operation and I would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel is lovely, clean and the staff are excellent. Food is excellent. There are three themed restaurants which you need to book, but the main buffet food was actually better. The all-inclusive drinks are very good, and you can have most branded drinks, like Gordon's gin, if you ask for it. It is bad form to ask for sherry - that is Spanish, so stick to the very pleasant Madeira wine! The location is amid lots of other hotels, but quite a long walk from the town. Do make the effort to get out and about. We used the open top tourist bus which goes quite a long way, and you can hop on and off for 24 hours, so one ticket will do one afternoon and the next morning too. Local busses are very good, and have a fixed ticket price of 1.9euro, or cheaper if you buy a pre-paid card of tickets from a local shop - the hotel reception will advise. Do go up the cable car to Monte, and do please have the toboggan ride down. Taxis will take you the rest of the way to Funchal centre for 10 euros, or get a bus.
Levada walks are a must. However you really don't need a guide or a minibus. The guided walks are quite expensive. The levadas are well above sea level so the temperature is generally cooler - be prepared! Although there are many miles of them, they are not easy to find, so you MUST plan and know what you are doing, where to go, and how to get the bus back. You can get a bus from the bus station (close to the bottom of the cable car) to the Hortensia Gardens (very pleasant cafe, bit expensive), and you can walk along an easy levada most of the way to Monte, and complete the walk into Monte by following a path down a valley and up the other side.
Another interesting outing is a trip round Blandy's Madeira wine museum. It is in Funchal near the Cathedral, not expensive, and it includes tasting...
This was our third trip to Madeira. We have hired cars before, but you really don't need to.
Despite Enotel being a long way out, we would certainly stay there again, as it is a lovely place, and very good value. My only gripe is that the beds are very hard, but that applies to all hotels ... Note to hotel: what about a choice? Softer beds don't have to be U shaped!
At the top of the hill down into Funchal there is the Governor's Palace which is a house with beautiful gardens, which you can walk round, free. It is on the right hand side just above the large park, which you can also walk round.

Room Tip: Reception is level 6, so a room on that level is good for lazy people! Rooms on the inside with view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on course
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We visited Madeira for the first time arriving 22/4/13 and leaving 29/4/13. Agree that if the hotel isn`t carefull with its bookings it will get over run by the so called "Red Army". This would not be good.
We have stayed at many all inclusives over the last few years and this hotel is pretty average.
The positives about the Enotel Lido were the friendly staff, the extensive "brands" that are available ie Smirnoff, Cointreau, Gordons, Famous Grouse, Jack Daniels, J & B, Bacardi just make sure you ask. The local lager Coral is very acceptable and at 5.3 a strong drink. The wine is Ok, we preferred the sparkling white which was very acceptable. A good range of cocktails was available. The food overall was OK. The 3 speciality restaurants were very good especially the Japanese.
We were placed in room 917 on the 9 th floor with a pool and ocean view, which also got the afternoon sun - it was great. The side views are no where near as good.
The negatives are that the shows were pretty poor when compared with others we have seen. Why do the entertainers always try to pull the audience into the show ??? At that point we leave!! The bar on the reception floor pretends to be a lounge bar with a pianist playing occassionally. It totally lacks atmosphere. There are approx 3 bars available during the evening and there is no one meeting place. The hotel lacks an outside bar area that would really improve the facilities and would act as a evening meeting venue. The hotel tries to be something that it isn`t.
Don`t get me wrong we enjoyed our stay, but I feel that the management needs to look its operation and give the hotel a lift. We are in our late fifties but felt young by comparison to the majority of the grey tint brigade who were there in numbers. The room on the same floor as the moonlight bar is totally dis-functional and pretentious, and a waste of a great space. .

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We have received and carefully read your comments about our Hotel services. Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your opinion and suggestions for they are very important to us and can always help us to improve our services.
We can assure you that we will nevertheless continue to do our best in order to provide our Clients with a quality service, which you may witness in your next visit to the Enotel Lido Hotel.

We are pleased for your co-operation and would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Enotel Lido Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Lido Madeira

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004 - 576, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#18 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#21 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Enotel Lido Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enotel Lido Madeira is a comfortable 5 star hotel located in the main touristic area, situated above the ocean with direct access to the oceanfront promenade and just 5 minutes from the centre of Funchal. There are 270 comfortable rooms available including balcony with a ocean side view, air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryer, mini bar, separate bath and shower, bathrobes, telephone with direct outside line and voicemail facility there are also 47 Suites with a Jacuzzi, coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Enotel Lido Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enotel Lido Madeira Hotel Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Hotel Funchal
Enotel Lido Madeira Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enotel Lido Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.