We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but not a 5 stars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Enotel Lido Madeira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Enotel Lido Madeira to your Saves list
Enotel Lido Madeira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004 - 576, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good but not a 5 stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel, well located but not a 5 stars
If you want to go to the Asian restaurant you have to book in advance same for the Italian
Very nice Spa and very nice pool
Service : no flexibility not a 5 stars
Very bad point : Wifi, very expensive no possibility to have a free wifi closed to the hotel

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nursejackie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your opinion with us and other Trip Advisor reviewers and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

Regarding the Wi-Fi charge we are doing all our efforts to reduce the prices that the company (Swisscom) has been charging us.

Once again ‘Obrigado’ for taking your time to rate us and if you have plans to make us a visit in the future do not hesitate to contact us in advance in case you have any special requests.

Kind regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is lovely and all the reviews are quite accurate, but don't be tempted to buy the WiFi. We have paid 88 euros for one weeks service and it's absolute rubbish. It just keeps dropping out all the time and we have to constantly re-enter our username and password. I have asked for a refund but they said it's not possible once we've logged in. It's been raining here since yesterday lunchtime and it would be really good have it. I suggest you go across the road to the cafe, where it's free! Really don't understand why it's free across the road and 88 Euros over here!

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
13 Thank Carolespirit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Church Stretton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We've just returned home after enjoying a month in this lovely hotel. The hotel's most valuable asset are its staff - who all go the extra mile to ensure your comfort and enjoyment of their facility - including the Manager, who is very "hand's on" and visible! This is the first time we've experienced this - usually Manager's are behind closed doors and never seen!
The only niggle I had was the quality of the sun-beds, which were extremely uncomfortable, and needed replacing. Other than that - top marks all round.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor overlooking the pool and the sea - sunny in the afternoon. Most floors see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your expectations have been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, as it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Lido Madeira, which you may witness in your next visit here. Please feel free to contact us any time if you need any assistance from us.

We thank you for your co-operation and I would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just returned from the Enotel Lido where we spent a relaxing week.
Our room was on the eighth floor overlooking the pool and Atlantic. Our room was adequate with a well furnished bathroom. The beds are hard but on request was given a bed topper which helped just a little. Wardrobe space very minimal, we could have done with much more hanging space.
Food was quantity over quality. Beverages were good with plenty choice. No waiting at bars or for coffee.
Japanese restaurant was a let down, cold food by the time the chef had served it all out. No atmosphere in the Kai at all. Waitress was excellent and was rushed of her feet. They really need two chefs here to serve hot food. Italian restaurant was ok. Madeira restaurant --. One chef again and cooks for tables one at a time, if you are last in be prepared for a very very long waiting time after your starters.
The reception bar was very stylish with the best coffee.
Spa and indoor pool great especially if the weather is bad. It is well used by guests and is also a private club for the local Madeirans.
The outdoor pool was a quite small area for size of hotel. Comparing the stylish interior the outside was a let down. Cheap sun loungers, very uncomfortable which tend to splay at the front legs, saw a couple of accidents. Not enough sun umbrellas.
As mentioned before the age group of this hotel is tending to the old and very old, a huge saga population. Would have really preffered a more diverse age span.
The best part of the hotel is the staff, lots of smiles and helpful, genuine people, in fact we found that all the people in Madeira were the same, very genuine and wanting you to enjoy your time on their Island.
Madeira is beautiful and diverse. funchal was terrific with lots to see and do.
Overall, a nice hotel that needs a few improvements to their restaurants and sun/pool area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MANUFORTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your opinion regarding our Hotel and services as they can always help us to improve.
We can assure you that we will nevertheless continue to do our best in order to provide our Clients with a quality service, which you may witness in your next visit to the Enotel Lido Hotel.

We are pleased for your co-operation and would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

A relaxing week in this well located hotel. The room was excellent, on ninth floor overlooking pool, the food was varied and the show cooking counter gave you changing options for freshly prepared dishes. Being all inclusive you could have tea/coffee/soft drink or alcohol throughout your stay. In March too cold for outdoor pool but indoor pool welcoming. All the staff were friendly and helpful and some evening entertainment was provided which we enjoyed. Being on the shoreline with direct access to the Lido Promenade enabled us to take regular walks overlooking the stormy sea. A 40 minute easy walk to the centre of Funchal but best to take the local bus back. Your first ticket with the driver giving you a card is €1.90 but you can then have trips added at the kiosk by the cable car terminus for €1.30 each trip. As Funchal has many places of interest the bus card is well worthwhile. During our stay there were guests from France, Germany and other European countries but these were mainly in the retired age group. Madeira is a lovely island and Enotel Lido offers a good overall package.

Room Tip: Pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MalvernMoneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.
We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and other Trip Advisor reviewers and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.
Our best wishes for both your private and professional life and if you have plans to make us a visit in the future do not hesitate to contact us in advance in case you have any special requests.

Kind regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and i have just returned from the Enotel Lido Madeira,We had a great time,the hotel is very modern and comfortable,the staff were very friendly and helpfull,we stayed all inclusive there was plenty of choice at the buffet restaurant but the only thing we thought let it down was that the food was only ever luke warm and we like it piping hot,the waiters were very friendy and attentive and kept filling up our glasses with wine or whatever we chose to drink.We had one meal in the Italian resaurant which was very good and the food was made to order so it was lovely and hot.We had a room on the 9th floor which overlooked the pool and caught the afternoon sun it was a good size and was kept spotless,all in all we had a wonderfull time and can't wait to go back again. Well done Enotel for a wonderfull holiday!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.
We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, as it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Lido Madeira, which you may witness in your next visit here. Please feel free to contact us anytime in case you need any assistance on a future stay.

Kind regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

If you're looking for a relaxing place to stay, the hotel and the island are perfect. There's lots to see and do, but you can just stay by the pool and read if you prefer.

The plusses: the staff were lovely; I felt that they wanted everyone to enjoy their stay and were as helpful as could be. They all speak English and at least some also speak German and French. The food: the choice of food was, I think, really good. The three thematic restaurants do get booked up as they are understandably popular, so do book them early. I particularly enjoyed the Madeiran restaurant. There is a buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner, which I thought was, again, good; there's a good variety and I enjoyed it all. The cafe-bar by the pool is also very pleasant and does do nice hamburgers! The bars: the main bar is on two levels, leading onto the reception on the top level and is spacious and comfortable. They are very generous with the drink measures. The room: we had a suite, no. 533, which was terrific; it has a large balcony area with views over the pool on one side and across the sea on the other. Generally, the hotel was in good condition, kept clean and well maintained, and was a pleasant place to be. The location is good, too; you could probably walk to the centre of Funchal in an hour, but there are plenty of taxis and buses. The price: we went on an all-inclusive basis and I have to say that I thought it was really very good value.

The minuses: Wifi. While this might not be a priority for everyone staying at the hotel, I take it as a given that a five star hotel would have, if not free wifi, cheap wifi; at €22 a day, it was cheaper just to use my mobile. The wristband: we had purple wristbands to indicate we were on an all-inclusive package. I felt that using the keycard to identify yourself would've been more pleasant.

We didn't order any room service, so I can't comment on that, although it isn't available all day.

My understanding is that the Madeiran star rating system may be different to the UK system, and so it wouldn't be a 5* here, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel.

The hotel seems popular with older visitors, and there were only a couple of families there. This did mean that it was calm and quiet, which is what we wanted. We didn't go to any of the evening entertainments, but they seemed popular.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dlandoncole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.
We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and other Trip Advisor reviewers and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.
Regarding the Wi-Fi charge we are doing all our efforts to reduce the prices that the company (Swisscom) has been charging us.
Once again ‘Obrigado’ for taking your time to rate us and if you have plans to make us a visit in the future do not hesitate to contact us in advance in case you have any special requests.

Kind regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Vidamar Resort Madeira
Vidamar Resort Madeira
#15 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,881 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)
0.8 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#10 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
#39 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enotel Lido Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Lido Madeira

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004 - 576, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#22 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#23 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Enotel Lido Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enotel Lido Madeira is a comfortable 5 star hotel located in the main touristic area, situated above the ocean with direct access to the oceanfront promenade and just 5 minutes from the centre of Funchal. There are 270 comfortable rooms available including balcony with a ocean side view, air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryer, mini bar, separate bath and shower, bathrobes, telephone with direct outside line and voicemail facility there are also 47 Suites with a Jacuzzi, coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Enotel Lido Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enotel Lido Madeira Hotel Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Hotel Funchal
Enotel Lido Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing