We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ok holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Enotel Lido Madeira

Save Saved
You added Enotel Lido Madeira to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Enotel Lido Madeira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004 - 576, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 91 hotels in Funchal
CHESHIRE
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“An ok holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just returned from the Enotel Lido where we spent a relaxing week.
Our room was on the eighth floor overlooking the pool and Atlantic. Our room was adequate with a well furnished bathroom. The beds are hard but on request was given a bed topper which helped just a little. Wardrobe space very minimal, we could have done with much more hanging space.
Food was quantity over quality. Beverages were good with plenty choice. No waiting at bars or for coffee.
Japanese restaurant was a let down, cold food by the time the chef had served it all out. No atmosphere in the Kai at all. Waitress was excellent and was rushed of her feet. They really need two chefs here to serve hot food. Italian restaurant was ok. Madeira restaurant --. One chef again and cooks for tables one at a time, if you are last in be prepared for a very very long waiting time after your starters.
The reception bar was very stylish with the best coffee.
Spa and indoor pool great especially if the weather is bad. It is well used by guests and is also a private club for the local Madeirans.
The outdoor pool was a quite small area for size of hotel. Comparing the stylish interior the outside was a let down. Cheap sun loungers, very uncomfortable which tend to splay at the front legs, saw a couple of accidents. Not enough sun umbrellas.
As mentioned before the age group of this hotel is tending to the old and very old, a huge saga population. Would have really preffered a more diverse age span.
The best part of the hotel is the staff, lots of smiles and helpful, genuine people, in fact we found that all the people in Madeira were the same, very genuine and wanting you to enjoy your time on their Island.
Madeira is beautiful and diverse. funchal was terrific with lots to see and do.
Overall, a nice hotel that needs a few improvements to their restaurants and sun/pool area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your opinion regarding our Hotel and services as they can always help us to improve.
We can assure you that we will nevertheless continue to do our best in order to provide our Clients with a quality service, which you may witness in your next visit to the Enotel Lido Hotel.

We are pleased for your co-operation and would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    417
    274
    97
    25
    2
See reviews for
127
518
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malvern
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

A relaxing week in this well located hotel. The room was excellent, on ninth floor overlooking pool, the food was varied and the show cooking counter gave you changing options for freshly prepared dishes. Being all inclusive you could have tea/coffee/soft drink or alcohol throughout your stay. In March too cold for outdoor pool but indoor pool welcoming. All the staff were friendly and helpful and some evening entertainment was provided which we enjoyed. Being on the shoreline with direct access to the Lido Promenade enabled us to take regular walks overlooking the stormy sea. A 40 minute easy walk to the centre of Funchal but best to take the local bus back. Your first ticket with the driver giving you a card is €1.90 but you can then have trips added at the kiosk by the cable car terminus for €1.30 each trip. As Funchal has many places of interest the bus card is well worthwhile. During our stay there were guests from France, Germany and other European countries but these were mainly in the retired age group. Madeira is a lovely island and Enotel Lido offers a good overall package.

Room Tip: Pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.
We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and other Trip Advisor reviewers and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.
Our best wishes for both your private and professional life and if you have plans to make us a visit in the future do not hesitate to contact us in advance in case you have any special requests.

Kind regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and i have just returned from the Enotel Lido Madeira,We had a great time,the hotel is very modern and comfortable,the staff were very friendly and helpfull,we stayed all inclusive there was plenty of choice at the buffet restaurant but the only thing we thought let it down was that the food was only ever luke warm and we like it piping hot,the waiters were very friendy and attentive and kept filling up our glasses with wine or whatever we chose to drink.We had one meal in the Italian resaurant which was very good and the food was made to order so it was lovely and hot.We had a room on the 9th floor which overlooked the pool and caught the afternoon sun it was a good size and was kept spotless,all in all we had a wonderfull time and can't wait to go back again. Well done Enotel for a wonderfull holiday!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.
We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, as it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Lido Madeira, which you may witness in your next visit here. Please feel free to contact us anytime in case you need any assistance on a future stay.

Kind regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

If you're looking for a relaxing place to stay, the hotel and the island are perfect. There's lots to see and do, but you can just stay by the pool and read if you prefer.

The plusses: the staff were lovely; I felt that they wanted everyone to enjoy their stay and were as helpful as could be. They all speak English and at least some also speak German and French. The food: the choice of food was, I think, really good. The three thematic restaurants do get booked up as they are understandably popular, so do book them early. I particularly enjoyed the Madeiran restaurant. There is a buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner, which I thought was, again, good; there's a good variety and I enjoyed it all. The cafe-bar by the pool is also very pleasant and does do nice hamburgers! The bars: the main bar is on two levels, leading onto the reception on the top level and is spacious and comfortable. They are very generous with the drink measures. The room: we had a suite, no. 533, which was terrific; it has a large balcony area with views over the pool on one side and across the sea on the other. Generally, the hotel was in good condition, kept clean and well maintained, and was a pleasant place to be. The location is good, too; you could probably walk to the centre of Funchal in an hour, but there are plenty of taxis and buses. The price: we went on an all-inclusive basis and I have to say that I thought it was really very good value.

The minuses: Wifi. While this might not be a priority for everyone staying at the hotel, I take it as a given that a five star hotel would have, if not free wifi, cheap wifi; at €22 a day, it was cheaper just to use my mobile. The wristband: we had purple wristbands to indicate we were on an all-inclusive package. I felt that using the keycard to identify yourself would've been more pleasant.

We didn't order any room service, so I can't comment on that, although it isn't available all day.

My understanding is that the Madeiran star rating system may be different to the UK system, and so it wouldn't be a 5* here, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel.

The hotel seems popular with older visitors, and there were only a couple of families there. This did mean that it was calm and quiet, which is what we wanted. We didn't go to any of the evening entertainments, but they seemed popular.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.
We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and other Trip Advisor reviewers and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.
Regarding the Wi-Fi charge we are doing all our efforts to reduce the prices that the company (Swisscom) has been charging us.
Once again ‘Obrigado’ for taking your time to rate us and if you have plans to make us a visit in the future do not hesitate to contact us in advance in case you have any special requests.

Kind regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet,Essex.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have just returned from a two week stay at this 5 star hotel classified as a 4 plus by the operator we used First Choice. We gave the full 5 stars to all of the staff of this hotel with their superb attitude and the fact that they all went out of their way to give quality service; but really that is the only element of the hotel that is worthy of this level of rating. Not to say that the hotel is bad but this is the first hotel we have stayed in Madeira without a courtesy bus and did not have in room tea/coffee making facilities. The buffet food in the main restaurant was never really hot, only warm, however, the show cooking section was very good and was hot. Getting the right room for us proved a challenge and we had read previous reports on TA that high floor/pool view were the best so we requested this via First choice on booking, who said they would ask but not guarantee. We rejected the first room allocated, high floor overlooking the next hotel’s pool the reception manager joked when asked, it also overlooked the road and was rejected. We were then offered a pool view but it was in the corner, low floor and gloomy – the third was on the 8th floor with a pool view – a result and it was all done with a smile. The bedrooms are comfortable but the bathrooms could do with some TLC, the balcony chairs do not have cushions and are very uncomfortable. The pool had plenty of loungers and these proved to be fine. The main restaurant, despite being sea facing and giant windows seemed gloomy, dismal and lacking in atmosphere needing regeneration, also the table cloths are over long, drag on the floor and represent a trip hazard. If you want a decent cup of tea in the morning, do not order tea , order VERY HOT water and tea bags ( good tip from a waitress there). We tried the coffee at breakfast and we hated it, but order a coffee at the bars and it was excellent. We visited two of the hotel’s themed restaurants, Italian and Madeiran where the food was hot, excellent service but the atmosphere in both needs enhancing with some themed music and the Italian something better than plastic furniture. There was entertainment every evening which was enjoyable but very young children were allowed to play on the front of the stage/dance floor while acts were performing after 9.30pm. Branded spirits are available but if you want a gin ask for a Gordons by name or you may get a local variety. There was a good selection of cocktails available as well as speciality liquer coffee. The wine was inexpensive Portugese but better than many other AI hotel wine – if you want a bottle left at your table instead of waiter refills ask for a carafe. Just a little point for the hotel – if you are sitting by the pool you will hear regular bangs – the gate to the coast path has a faulty return spring.
After all of this did we have a good stay – yes. It is not 5 star or even 4 plus but could easily become one

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your opinion regarding our Hotel and our services as it can always help us to improve.
We can assure you that we will nevertheless continue to do our best in order to provide our Clients with a quality service, which you may witness in your next visit to the Enotel Lido Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just returned from our first all-inclusive holiday and would highly recommend this hotel. Allocated very nice room (531) with views over pool and stunning views of the ocean. Nice walks into Funchal which is a lovely City and well worth a visit.The cable car ride up to Monte and the gardens was the highlght of the week. Also the day trip to the Western parts of the island showed that Maderia is a beutiful and very diverse isalnd.
The staff at all levels were excellent and are a credit to the hotel. Special thanks to Sarah at reeption who was most helpful when my wife had an unfortunate accident but directed us to a first class medical centre where we were treated extemley well.
The standard of the food and dining areas and service were very good and a return visit to this hotel is a possibility.
Overall a great island and hotel to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for Pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for sharing your opinion and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Lido Madeira.

Looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hotel is in Lido area about 40 mins easy walk to Funchal.
Good All Inclusive venue, which was first on island and may still be only one?
The reception area (on 6th floor) is impressive on arrival and all staff throughout our stay were polite and helpful. (Particular thanks to Sara on booking desk who lent me a phone charger)
Exceptionally clean property, even the pool area was spotless. We were on floor 2 with pool and sea view. Room was decent size, beds were OK but I would prefer doubles rather than twins provided. Large bathroom with bidet, separate bath and shower. Free use of electronic safe. Small fridge with water and soft drinks provided. Small flat screen TV with a few English channels. Bathrobes provided. Maid service excellent.

Buffet Restaurant is quite good, lots of choice but does become quite repetitious after 2 weeks. However the 3 themed restaurants (Italian,Japanese, Madeiran) can each be used weekly and the table service is nice for a change. Menus are fixed though. Best to book on arrival to achieve preferred availability

We found the drinks service and quality very good. Many branded drinks available on request at no extra charge (e.g. Gordon's gin, Grants and Famous Grouse whisky – you must ask though)

The entertainment is very staid and a bit old fashioned really. Only ok as background noise in my opinion.

Outrageous charges for Internet wifi!! Use Bella Ilha cafe opposite - Beer €1.50 and free wifi.

We were advised the Spa was excellent. We did not use it and I know some treatments were extra charge.

There is no shuttle bus provided. Funchal trip costs 7-10 Euro in taxi or takes 15 mins on bus for €1.30 – reception provide schedules. Bus tickets available from Post office (correios) bought by number of trips on ‘Giro’ card (use as swipe card like Oyster)

The age profile of the Hotel clientele is quite elderly, with Saga and similar groups. There were a few families with children but in the minority. Many Nationalities represented.

Madeira Island itself is quite lovely. We did the Western (full day) and Nuns Valley (half day) tours. Spectacular scenery and vistas. Don't take the official tour operators trips use a local company at half price.

Don't miss these. Take the 48 bus up to Monte. Appx 40 min trip on interesting roads. Toboggan rides available at top for 35 euros. Looked quite unique and exciting. Take the cable car down = 20 min ride for 10 euro. Fantastic!
Walk the Old Town Streets, especially the one with all the painted doors. We did the Sunday night English church concert at 17.5 euro and really enjoyed it. Widely advertised.
Walk up to the Forum Shopping centre. Worth a visit.

Room Tip: Try to avoid "outer" rooms overlooking parking areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for sharing your opinion and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Lido Madeira.

Looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Enotel Lido Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Lido Madeira

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004 - 576, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#19 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#23 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Enotel Lido Madeira 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enotel Lido Madeira is a comfortable 5 star hotel located in the main touristic area, situated above the ocean with direct access to the oceanfront promenade and just 5 minutes from the centre of Funchal. There are 270 comfortable rooms available including balcony with a ocean side view, air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryer, mini bar, separate bath and shower, bathrobes, telephone with direct outside line and voicemail facility there are also 47 Suites with a Jacuzzi, coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Enotel Lido Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enotel Lido Madeira Hotel Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Hotel Funchal
Enotel Lido Madeira Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enotel Lido Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.