We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star This is Not!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Enotel Lido Madeira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Enotel Lido Madeira to your Saves list
Enotel Lido Madeira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004 - 576, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Five Star This is Not!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Enotel Lido is situated in the tourist hotel area of Funchal, a 20 to 30 minute stroll - depending on age and fitness - from the town centre. It is also on a public bus route, although buses are not particularly frequent (especially on a Sunday) and seating is often at a premium. The hotel is built on a hillside overlooking the sea and fronting a pleasant promenade. As an earlierTrip Advisor reviewer has stated, the Enotel is something of a curate's egg - good in part. While recognising that European hotel ratings often differ from those in the UK, in our view a 5-star rating can not be justified: 4-star would be nearer the mark.

The general facilities were good: a spacious reception/foyer area with a grand piano (which unfortunately was never used); indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a spa, lifts to all floors, and a choice of bars. Wi-fi access was available, for which a charge was made (in a 5-star hotel?), but there were only two small internet booths which were, inevitably, always occupied.
During a seven night stay early in September, we found that the hotel was busy but not overcrowded. The majority of guests were middle-aged or elderly Europeans, with large contingents of Brits and French.

Our large Superior room on the 4th floor was comfortable and nicely appointed. There was a small balcony with table and chairs that afforded a side view of the sea. It also overlooked the central swimming pool area, which proved to be a mixed blessing as there was no escape from the various, over-amplified evening 'entertainments' held in the area, the sound of which was funneled up into the rooms. This culminated, one night, in a truly horrendous karaoke session although, in fairness, it must be said that the caterwauling ended at midnght!

The room had clean, comfortable beds and all the features one would expect to find in a four/five star establishment: adequate storage, tea/coffee making facilities, a fridge stocked with soft drinks, satellite TV, telephone, trouser press and an electronic room safe. There was adjustable air-conditioning, although this was not particularly effective. The good-sized en-suite bathroom had a large tub, a separate shower cubicle, a bidet and wc, a hair dryer and an adequate supply of towels and complimentary toiletries. There was plentiful hot water and we did not detect any of the unpleasant drain smells that have apparently offended some guests on earlier occasions.

For our stay we chose the newly-introduced 'all-inclusive' tariff, which provided breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as any-time snacks. It also gave us free alcoholic or soft drinks, including a selection of cocktails. However, premium brands - such as single malt whisky or good cognac - attracted hefty supplementary charges of up to 11 Euros!

This brings me to the cuisine which, we felt, was the really disappointing feature of the hotel. Our hearts sank when we found that all meals were self-service buffet style, set out in a very large and understaffed dining room capable of holding hundreds of guests at one sitting. Certainly, there was a wide range of dishes but, as with most buffets, quantity was not equalled by quality. Most dishes quicky dried out on the heating trays and little things niggled. On a number of occasions, the 'hot' water provided for beverages proved to be lukewarm. Cooked breakfasts were reasonable, apart from dubious-tasting mini-sausages and very fatty bacon.There was even a chef on hand to cook fresh omelettes but unfortunately her technique left much to be desired. Why was only one variety of cheese available for breakfast when four varieties appeared for lunch? There were fresh breads and min-croissants but why no fresh pastries? Clearly, many lunchtime and dinner dishes were reprocessed from food left over from earlier meals and we found no dishes freshly cooked on demand. If, in our experience, four-star hotels in Tenerife can offer a range of freshly cooked meats and fish, including steaks, why cannot the '5-star' Enotel do likewise? (One Trip Advisor reviewer claims to have had freshly cooked steak at the Enotel, but he was lucky; in seven days we found no such facility.) Drinkable table wines as well as draught beer and soft drinks were available with meals.

Apart from the buffet dining room, the Enotel had three themed restaurants - Japanese, Madeiran and Italian. Places in these had to be booked in advance and we tried the Japanese and Madeiran venues. Let it be said that Madeiran staff wearing Japanese costume do not a Japanese restaurant make! After very salty miso and reasonable sushi served with cheap saki, the set menu quickly degenerated into a generic stir-fry with over-cooked strips of meat and fish. This was a far cry from authentic Japanese cooking (which I am lucky enough to sample regularly in the Far East) and very disappointing. We thought the Madeiran restaurant a little better. There was a choice of menu and we were able to try local dishes such as cabbage soup and espada (scabbard fish). Unfortunately, the delicate flavour of the fish was overpowered by an over-sweet passion fruit sauce. At least the themed restaurants provided a change from the ubiquitous buffet but, all in all, we felt that the standard of cooking was no better than in any good canteen. If you are hoping for romantic dinners cooked to order and served by waiters in an intimate atmosphere, forget it! In no way was this 5-star cuisine.

Most of the staff at the Enotel had a good command of English and were generally friendly and helpful. The one exception was the admittedly busy Sports Bar, adjoining the pool area, where the bar staff were inattentive and curt to the point of rudeness.

Would we stay at the Enotel Lido again? Sadly, no! Those seeking real 5-star luxury should opt for a hotel such as Reid's Palace, further down the same road, where guests have included Churchill, George Bernard Shaw, Margaret Thatcher and Roger Moore.Of course, that would come at a cost. I suppose we get what we pay for!

A note on Currency Exchange in Funchal:

We were astonished to find, in Funchal, that no bank would exchange sterling for Euros unless one was a local account holder -unlikely in the case of UK tourists! If one wished to avoid the charges associated with ATMs, the only option was to use one of the two branches of Western Union - but these were a rip-off, charging commission and offering a poor rate of exchange. It would probably be best to buy Euros in the UK before setting out.

Room Tip: Superior rooms with a side sea view are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind contribution and to share with us your thoughts about the hotel.
Best Regards

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    349
    110
    26
    5
See reviews for
179
635
16
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton-in-craven
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at the Enotel Lido on 24/09/2012 for a week it was a nice relaxing week.We was in a party of 7, we had no trouble in getting sun beds and the restaurant had plenty of tables. Food was good and we went to the themed restaurants, the best one was the Japanese. Spirits at the bar where branded names and large measures.No queueing at bars or restaurants.We had a superior room which was nice and clean the mini bar was topped up now and then but not every day.It is a 40min walk to the centre which is not bad.Over all it is a good hotel but has Many people have said it's not a 5star but a good 4star.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your opinion and suggestions as they are very important to us and can always help us improve our services.
We are happy to know that you have had a pleasant holiday at ENOTEL LIDO MADEIRA.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back at ENOTEL LIDO MADEIRA in the near future.

Best Regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Looking forward to a quiet week at the five star Enotel Lido. The hotel proved to be relaxing and was staffed by very friendly people. However some things did not live up to a five star all inclusive hotel. The brochure boasted tea making facilities (we had to request them). The courtesy bus did not exist, there were no dressing gowns as advertised in the rooms. However the real let down was the food. The vast majority was cold and the menu did not vary during the week. The specialist evenings (Italian Madeiran and Japanese) were good. I realise the season was closing but the entertainment was second rate and tired. So food and entertainment was barely three star.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind contribution and to share with us your thoughts about the hotel.
We are pleased to know that you have had a good holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO MADEIRA.

We look forward to welcome you again in our hotel,

Best Regards

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed at this hotel 17-24th Sept with hubby and really enjoued my stay. This hotel is rated in some travel books as a 5star but in reality it is only a 4star. the rooms were nice and big, the bathroom a nice size, with bathrobes to hand and a full size bath bidet and shower. However when taking a shower water leaks onto the bathroom floor so be careful, just put a towel down on the floor when taking a shower. Oh and there is a really nice handy hairdryer too. Safe in room but no ironing facilities. We had a ketle in our room for tea/coffee making but I was informed this was not in all the rooms. Food was good and there was a variety that one did not get bored of what was on offer during my week stay. Only criticism was that it could have been a bit hotter found some of the meals on the cool side, however hubby put on 2kilos just as well the flight o[erator does not wiegh him before and after - excess. You do have an option to book for the Japanese/Italian/Madeira restaurant on site which I would recommend - food lovely.The pool was exceptionally clean never in all my travels have I swam in a hotel pool with no dead beasties floating on top it was clear from morning till night - full marks. Only down fall was the parasols (dated and a bit worse for wear) and the loungers needing to be updated. Hotel itself is situated in a nice spot, close to shops,restaurants and the bus service into Funchal which costs 1.90 euros on way. We did the cable car which I really recommend the views are something else. We also went to nuns valley on a coach trip and again enjoyed the views of this beautiful Island.
Please note you do have to be reasonably fit to walk up the sttep footpaths and children would get easily bored in this hotel as there is not a games room etc for wet days. Yes it does get wet but a trip to the spa is ideal especially when the other half is watching footaball in the Sports Bar - will I return - you bet........

Room Tip: try and get a near end room next to the sea - so your view from the balcony will not be obscured by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your opinion and suggestions as they are very important to us and can always help us improve our services.
We are happy to know that you have had a pleasant holiday at ENOTEL LIDO MADEIRA.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back at ENOTEL LIDO MADEIRA in the near future.

Best Regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just back from a week in this hotel, it is not five star! the rooms are very good and all the public areas were spotless, the staff are good,We were glad to be back home to get a 'Hot meal'!!!. the food is certainly not good and at all meals it was at best luke- warm. No wonder I was violently ill a day after arrival.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time during your stay to give us your opinion about our services,so that we could react immediatelly in order to correct matters by improving and therefore pleasing you.
we can assure you that we will nevertheless continue to do our best to provide a quality service to our guests,making the ENOTEL LIDO a great hotel to stay…

Best Regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

All our experiences at the Enotel Lido were excellent. The food was very good indeed and the staff most attentive. The hotel itself is well situated and the rooms pristine. A memorable two weeks although in our opinion this is a four star hotel and not five as advertised.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind contribution and to share with us your thoughts about the hotel.
We are pleased to know that you have had a good holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO MADEIRA.

We look forward to welcome you again in our hotel,

Best Regards

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is NOT a 5 star hotel..........our bedroom and the public rooms were 4 star, the dining room...where no Maitre'd to meet and greet......so find a table, if you can.......and bars are 3 star.
No dress code in dining room at dinner........Beach shorts and flip flops and vests are not 5star.....Staff are friendly and willing, justy not enough of them especially in bars. There was no evidence of guidance or control from Management, in both dining/bars and house keeping.....Management were largely invisible and reluctant to talk to guests.
Pool area very pleaseant but too cramped and totally insufficient number of umbrellas, most of which were damaged.
Used glasses and crockery left in public areas for hours, sometimes days.
As evidence of Management's lack of interest there was no hotel questionnaire upon leaving.From our experience we
cannot see how the hotel will keep its 5 star rating, and in relation to other hotels in the Area.
This hotel does not match the perceived image of a Madeira hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time during your stay to give us your opinion about our services,so that we could react immediatelly in order to correct matters by improving and therefore pleasing you.
we can assure you that we will nevertheless continue to do our best to provide a quality service to our guests,making the ENOTEL LIDO a great hotel to stay…

Best Regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Enotel Lido Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Lido Madeira

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004 - 576, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#19 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#21 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Enotel Lido Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enotel Lido Madeira is a comfortable 5 star hotel located in the main touristic area, situated above the ocean with direct access to the oceanfront promenade and just 5 minutes from the centre of Funchal. There are 270 comfortable rooms available including balcony with a ocean side view, air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryer, mini bar, separate bath and shower, bathrobes, telephone with direct outside line and voicemail facility there are also 47 Suites with a Jacuzzi, coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Enotel Lido Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enotel Lido Madeira Hotel Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Hotel Funchal
Enotel Lido Madeira Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enotel Lido Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.