We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 day break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Views Baia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Views Baia to your Saves list
Four Views Baia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua das Maravilhas 74, Funchal, Madeira 9000-177, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
united kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“10 day break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

stayed for 10 days back in febuary,thought hotel had plus and minus points too,central if one wish to be in town centre and get about using local bus service,found hotel pleasant enough but room we had was very noisy from position we were in,reluctant to open door because of noise from roads,pool area had no umbrellas to keep sun away if one wish to sit by pool to relax,indoor pool could be used for small fee which i resented,food was great and all staff helpful

Room Tip: please ask for quiet room,as noise from road is not relaxing at all
See more room tips
Green Features: the hotel hold a green key,staff are trained for recycling and environment friendly.agree with hotel green practises
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review, March 19, 2015
OBRIGADO!

That's thank you in Portuguese and we say "obrigado" for taking your time to comment on your recent Holliday at Four Views.

We have been reading your commentary very carefully and we would like to thank you for having the time to write about our hotel.

We will try to understand what happened wrongly during your stay and we will fix it in order to please the guests and for this details not happen again, our truly apologies for this matter.

Thank you for having the time to write about our hotel.

We hope we can get the chance to see you again.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    162
    36
    15
    5
See reviews for
50
189
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

We stayed for 7 nights in January on our first visit to Madeira and certainly were not disappointed! The hotel is very modern and extremely clean, situated in the heart of Funchal and very easy to walk to the centre.we did not eat at the hotel other than breakfast so cannot comment on the food but breakfast menu had a vast choice and was very good! The bar had entertainment every evening but being January was fairly quiet! But all in all we would certainly return to the four views

Room Tip: Go for sea view side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review, March 11, 2015
OBRIGADO!

That's thank you in Portuguese and we say "obrigado" for taking your time to comment on your recent Holliday at Four Views.

It's important for us that you have enjoyed your stay in a general way and shared your thoughts in Tripadvisor.

We are happy reading that you have enjoyed your holidays with us.

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel.

We hope we can get the chance to see you again.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Choose hotel based on trip advisor, everything good everyone said was true. Beautiful view, but best asset was the staff, all helpfully, high language skills, and extremely friendly. NOTE only 1 bus goes past front door, but several to back, short walk, and Eco bus ( free tour) to junction below hotel, do not be put of by other reviews of walk up hill. It's only 15 mins, from main old town and promenade, a fantastic location. Also be prepared to explore and walk up hill, not always down to town, hidden surprises. You won't get lost all locals happy to direct and offer advice. Rooms where massive and inland views better than ocean. Use public transport, and buses to Porto Moniz a real delight, but if you want stay in hotel and use there pool for a relax.

Room Tip: Inland view better than sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review, February 25, 2015
OBRIGADO!

That's thank you in Portuguese and we say "obrigado" for taking your time to comment on your recent Holliday at Four Views.

It's important for us that you have enjoyed your stay in a general way and shared your thoughts in Tripadvisor.

Thank you for your kind words and for sharing with the world your experience.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your holidays in our hotel.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience and for using kind words regarding our hotel.

Thank you very much we hope we can get the chance to see you again.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

I recently stayed 10 nights at Four Views Baia and just could not be happier. I had an excellent room on the 8th floor overlooking the bay area, so I could see the town, the cruise ships and the ocean. The view was so amazing, that each morning when I woke up, I jumped out of the bed to admire it again and again. You are guaranteed great sunrise and sunset photos! The facilities are top notch. Although it was still cold for a swim in February, I enjoyed sunbathing by the pool. While the hotel may only have 4 stars, the staff certainly deserves 5! Everyone at reception, in the restaurant as well as the cleaning ladies were always polite, smiling and cheerful. One morning I arrived for breakfast 2 minutes before closing time and hurried with my plates. The staff showed me with a smile, that no need to worry, I can just take my time and enjoy it. I found the walk to the town easy, even coming back uphill. If someone finds that difficult, there are frequent buses dropping you very near the entrance. As I rented a car, I enjoyed the ample free parking and the wifi also worked all the time. Although I am a very light sleeper, I had calm nights, no noise whatsoever from neighboring rooms. I just could not find any problems, apart from having to leave at the end...

Room Tip: Go to higher floor and overlooking ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review, February 25, 2015
OBRIGADO!

That's thank you in Portuguese and we say "obrigado" for taking your time to comment on your recent Holliday at Four Views.

It's important for us that you have enjoyed your stay in a general way and shared your thoughts in Tripadvisor.

Thank you for your kind words and for sharing with the world your experience.
It is words like the ones you have wrote that makes us believe that our daily work is very well worth it.

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your holiday’s destination.

We hope we can get the chance to see you again.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuopio, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

This was our third trip to Madeira and Four Views Baia was an excellent choice because of it's locations : quite near the centre and easy to walk. We had a very beautiful view to the harbour from our room, which was large enough to a couple for a week. The bathroom was also big. The only thing to complain is the balcony : too small to stay. This time it didn't matter as the weather was too cold to sit there. We were also satisfied with breakfast. We warmly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review, February 25, 2015
OBRIGADO!

That's thank you in Portuguese and we say "obrigado" for taking your time to comment on your recent Holliday at Four Views.

It's important for us that you have enjoyed your stay in a general way and shared your thoughts in Tripadvisor.

Thank you very much for visiting us back we feel so honored that you have given once again the chance to accommodate you.

Regarding the balcony it is a bit small, our big balconies are the ones that we have on our Studios side.
Next time you visit us you can ask our Guest Relations to show you a Studio for you to see if it is interesting or not.

Thank you once again for choosing our hotel.

We hope we can get the chance to see you again

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

Just had a week at the Four Views on a golf trip with 3 other guys. The views were absolutely stunning especially from the Woogie Boogie bar during Happy Hour. Sadly not many guests seem to take advantage of this so the bar lacked atmosphere. Room was fine and again brilliant views but we could hear the traffic in the mornings and never quite got grips with working the air conditioning properly. Staff were excellent throughout the hotel and breakfast adequate although the hot food was sometimes cold. However overall we thought it value for money. The other point about the staff is that they were all wonderfully proud of their home Island and that came over very well.

Room Tip: Book a room high in the hotel although you might get frustrated waiting for the lifts and the stairc...
See more room tips
Green Features: Fine and the towels policy is good. The hotel was also spotless throughout and has lovely gardens.
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review, February 4, 2015
OBRIGADO!

That's thank you in Portuguese and we say "obrigado" for taking your time to comment on your recent Holliday at Four Views.

It's important for us that you have enjoyed your stay and shared your thoughts in Tripadvisor.

We have taken note of the details you have wrote and we have spoken with our kitchen about the cold food.

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel.

We look forward to see you again.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel in Funchal for 1 week. We loved the views, and were happy with a little uphill walk to the hotel from the city center. We find that the location of this hotel is much better than the others that are positioned in the densely populated hotel district. The staff are nice, the open buffet breakfast is pretty good. We enjoyed the spa treatments and the heated pool and the jakuzi with the view of the whole bay.
The rooms are clean and comfortable with a little balcony to enjoy the sun. However as a couple we did not find the bed comfortable, it was two twin beds put next to eachother to make a double. We did not like the crack in the middle. Apart from the bed, it was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: ask for real double beds instead of the two twins converted to double.
See more room tips
Green Features: the trash bins in the room had different containers for different type of rubbish it looked like they cared about recycling. also there was a kind notice about not using excess water in the room.
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações públicas at Four Views Baia, responded to this review, January 6, 2015
OBRIGADO!

That's thank you in Portuguese and we say "obrigado" for taking your time to comment on your recent Holliday at Four Views.

It's important for us that you have enjoyed your stay and shared your thoughts in Tripadvisor.

We are truly happy reading that in a general way you have enjoyed our hotel.

Thank you very much for your kind words.

We hope we can get the chance to see you again.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Views Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Views Baia

Address: Rua das Maravilhas 74, Funchal, Madeira 9000-177, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Funchal
#34 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#40 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Views Baia 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Four Views Baia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Views Baia
Four Views Baia Hotel Funchal
Sao Joao Hotel
Four Views Baia Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Views Baia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.