We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelente” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Raga Hotel

Save Saved
You added Raga Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Raga Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 302, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Aveiro, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excelente”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here for 8 days in a room with a view to the sea . The rooms are good with a good area with fridge, and sink to wash the dishes. They have a pool with sun beds. It takes you about 10 min of walk to the center of Funchal. Close by there is a supermarket , (Pindo Doce) where you can buy everything...wine, good chease, etc.

Room Tip: With a View to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    142
    75
    25
    2
See reviews for
38
160
17
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a holiday in Madeira where we stayed at the Raga Hotel. From the moment we walked into the hotel the staff were welcoming. When we entered our room it was excellent, nothing spectacular but clean and tidy, but we didn't go on holiday to spend all day and night in our room! We were perhaps fortunate to have a room with 2 balconies with great views over the coastline and hillsides behind the hotel. The restuarant was very good with staff eager to assist. The food, although on occasion not to my taste (but that was my taste) was good. The pool bar, which we used regularly and became quite well known to the staff (Helena and Rafael we'll miss you), where you could have a quick snack by the pool was great. The pool was cleaned every morning and the pool attendant and bar staff only to willing to help guests with new pool towels on request or an umbrella to shelter under when the sun became too hot.
The hotel was well positioned only a quick bus ride from the Centre of Funchal with a regular bus service running past the hotel.
Would have no qualms about going back there whenever we return to this beautiful island of Madeira. Well done Raga Hotel and all staff and thanks for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Depends what you want - there are rooms which may not offer a great view of the sea but all had balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here for one week in July and have nothing to complain about. The rooms are basic but clean and tidy. Air con does it's job and there is a fridge in the room to keep your drinks and food cold. Staff was very friendly and helpful and there was always sun beds available by the pool.
The best thing was having breakfast on the teracce with stunning sea views!

There is a supermarket (Pingo Doce) nearby and a big shopping mall (Forum Madeira) within walking distance. If you dont fancy walking its easy to catch a local bus. The city centre is only 5 minutes away.

Room Tip: If your room is on the hill side of the hotel i recommend ear plugs as there is a residential area j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We got an upgrade to a sea view which meant a balcony with really good views BUT the traffic noise was very considerable.A lot of amenities are in walking distance and the bus stop is also very close. The Raga has easy access at road level.
The pool area is adequate and the breakfasts were excellent. Evening meals were also good value.
The staff were not helpful and resented being asked questions about buses etc.

Room Tip: You MUST upgrade to a sea view otherwise you get the noise and no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The Raga is a well positioned 10 storey hotel. The sea views are excellent! The hotel is a four star establishment but in the league table must lower four. Service and facilities are fine but are not pushing the boundaries. The hotel staff are friendly and the hotel clean. The pool is well looked after and whilst it does not appear to be the case, sufficient sun beds exist.

Room Tip: Sea view is the only option unless you like mountain goats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Three of us spent one week at the Raga hotel in July. We were on the 10th floor and had an amazing view of the sea from our balcony which got sunshine all afternoon. Despite our room being for 3, we had lots of space as the room was fairly large, it had also been recently renovated so everything was new and clean. Our rooms were made up every day. There was also good aircon. We asked for a kettle which was handy, there was also a fridge to keep drinks cold. It worked out €30pppn B&B so for the hotel and its location we couldn't have asked for anything more. The breakfast was a large buffet to suit most tastes, the usual selection of pastries, cheese, hams, juice, hot options and fruit. Actually, the only thing about the hotel that irritated me was the really rubbish juice machine, it whirred like it was going to blast into outer space but then would only slowly spout out half a glass of juice, which meant generally queuing for it.

Staff were friendly and helpful, both in the restaurant for breakfast and at reception. Within 5 minutes there were lots of restaurants and bars and about 15 minutes walk was a big shopping mall.

The pool area was nice and had a bar that served snacks and drinks. There was wifi in reception but not in the rooms. We went in an out to Funchal a few times and a taxi to the cable car base station was €8 between 3 of us. A taxi to the airport was €40 but I think a shuttle is better value, just it didn't suit our flight times.

All in all, for what we paid we had a week of exceptionally good value at the Raga hotel.

Room Tip: High up, sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks bed and breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed it. Clean, well appointed rooms. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice, we didn't try the restaurant of an evening as we preferred to venture out. The pool was clean and there was always enough sunbeds to go around. The only complaint would be the hotel bar which had no atmosphere or music and wasn't particularly friendly, we found plenty of other bars to keep us happy though especially the Local Bar around the corner which was both cheap and friendly. Had a great holiday and would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Raga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raga Hotel

Address: Estrada Monumental 302, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Raga Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Raga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raga Aparthotel Funchal
Raga Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Raga Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raga Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.