We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value apartments, great pool and lovely views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Mae Homens Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quinta Mae Homens Apartments to your Saves list
Quinta Mae Homens Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   39 Rua Mae dos Homens, Funchal, Madeira 9050, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value apartments, great pool and lovely views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have just returned from our holiday in Madeira and stayed here for one week (August 2013). The staff are very welcoming, friendly and go out of their way to help you enjoy and make the best of your stay. We loved the views from our balcony, the lovely pool and sun terrace, with no fighting for sun loungers! and the very well kept gardens. The apartment itself was well equipped and clean, with maid service provided 3 times during our stay. It is not the most modern and could do with some refurbishment, especially the sofa and the bathroom. (The shower can be a bit inconsistent). however for the price it is still excellent value and we would definately return, maybe pay a bit more for one of the better apartments that are available. Although it is up some steep roads from the town, it is an easy walk into the town and there is a local bus that does run quite frequently that stops outside the apartments. Ronnie (at the reception) will give you all the information you need about the bus service, and it is quite cheap. A taxi will cost about 5 euros so still not expensive.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Friendly staff and good service. This is a self-catering establishment so do not expect to get all the services that a hotel would provide. For example, reception is not open 24 hours. The kitchen has everything you need for basic cooking/food prep.
Gorgeous views over Funchal and the apartments are set within a pretty garden. Only ten minutes walk into town, with lots of restaurants, shops etc, although coming back is a bit of a problem as the hills are very steep. However, there is a regular bus service and taxis are not expensive.
The reception staff were always happy to help with my queries e.g. bus times and routes and booking trips/excursions. The pool area is lovely and there is so much to see and do on Madeira.
My only criticism was the mattresses on the beds - they were so hard I found it difficult to sleep and each morning woke up aching. May be not all the rooms have the same, so don't let this put you off (we were in room 16).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at here during a sunny weekend in February. The staff were helpful and attentive, the rooms were large and perfectly situated with amazing sea views across the town.

Watching the sun rise and set each day was a delight. We also enjoyed watching the activity on the harbour from our balcony, always ships of some sort docking or departing.

The walk down to the town is very steep, we certainly felt like we'd had a work out after four days of travelling downhill. We took the advice of previous travelers and didn't attempt the walk up hill, although a wander up the hill to the Botanical Gardens wasn't crippling and gave even greater views! (also saved on the cost of getting two cable car tickets).

On our last day we took advantage of the late plane departure and spent a day lounging by the pool totally alone, definitely a great place to stay off-season if you like to have all the amenities to yourself.

Definitely recommend this for couples, friends and families although bear in mind the walk down the hill and the taxi or bus back up the hill. However we didn't think this outweighed the view and the location so it was a tiny price to pay for such a beautiful vista.

Room Tip: Request a sea view, pretty sure almost all the rooms have it but better to be safe than facing the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent 2 weeks in November/December 2012 in this lovely and well situated apartment in Funchal at a very reasonable rate for the quality. Unfortunately the weather was mixed so we didn’t use the pool which was very tempting. Lovely clean pool area and terrace with views of Funchal and the port. Interesting to watch the cruise ships coming in and out on a daily basis.
The apartment had nice gardens and was very quiet apart from the school to the rear – but that didn’t bother us too much.
Our one bedroom apartment (in Alto Lagar) was spacious with a lovely corner terrace and good views (if you have a front facing apartment). Bedroom could have done with more drawer space. Wardrobe good with plenty of hangers.
Lounge area – comfortable but don’t expect a lot of stations on the TV. Inwinter you may require to hire a heater.
Kitchen – very small and lack of workspace (this could be fitted out better). Also very basic equipment level.
Lovely clubhouse next to the pool area with tv, books and sofa, etc to relax. Wifi available here but not in the apartments.
Roni, the receptionist was extremely helpful on our arrival and gave us a lot of information regarding local buses, shops, etc. (important – as the apartment complex is situated up steep hills and walking up and down for some could be taxing!!) Not very suitable for push chairs or people who don’t like walking.
A few local shops for food – but you have to walk up and down hills! You can do a big shop in the Funchal supermarket Pingo Doce, Anadia, in the main street.
The local small bus tours were very good, reasonably priced and cover most of the island. We would not recommend hiring a car unless you like small twisting roads.
We liked the situation of the apartments as they are above the old town – which was, for us, the most interesting and one of the most traditional parts of Funchal – compared to the hotel area (to the right of the port) which seemed to us very commercialised and did not have much character. There are good restaurants and cafes/bars in the old town and this is mostly a residential area.
You can take a local bus up to walk some of the Levadas or visit the many gardens or take the interesting cable car from Funchal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

When we choose Madeira for a short holiday we didn't want the pressure of the Hotel regime so we opted for an appartment where we could do our own cooking. Quinta Mae proved to be a great choice. The rooms had a decent size and was equiped with a good kitchen. The views from our balcony was great. Beautifull sunsets and the bustle of the cruise ships going in and out of the harbour.
The downside of the place is that is doesn't have fulltime staff so you have to time your arrival. On leaving you just leave the keys in a mailbox without checking out. The property is also located on the hill which is a stiff walk from the city centre. We often walked down and took a taxi up (about 5 EUR). We also had a car so driving around was relatively easy. Th ehotel has a good inside parking lot. You will probably need a GPS to find the place as Funchal has a lot of one-way streets.
So al in all: great place to stay if you want to be self-sufficient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We didn't do a lot of research before we booked our holiday and we were really happy that this accomodation wasn't located in the hotel zone but in an urban part of Funchal, so we weren't surrounded solely by(mostly german and english) tourists but had the chance to integrate with the extremely hospitable locals.
The apartments are, like the whole of the city, situated on a hill, which provides beautiful views. Make sure you ask for a apartment in the alto lagar on the first or second floor for the best views.
The swimmingpool is big and clean. The staff is really friendly and helpful and the apartments are spacious and spotless.
Mind you that although the walk downhill into town will only take about 10 mins, the walk up again is near enough impossible because of the steep roads. There's a busstop just outside the walls of the quinta, but the busses only drive once an hour or so, so you have to plan a bit. The taxiride will up will cost you about 5 euros, so that's a good alternative.
It you stay at this quinta make sure to try a poncha (local drink) at the bakery/ pizzeria just 100 meters downhill.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed here over New Year's Eve, one of the busiest times of the year in Madeira. We chose it because it was exceptionally good value (around €60 per night) for the season, was located outside of the touristy hotel district and was self-catering.

The room was large, simply furnished with very basic cooking facilities. The views and gardens were really superb. The setting was very relaxing. This is not your typical, generic hotel. It is a converted farmhouse (banana plantation possibly), it does not offer 4 star hotel facilities but on the other hand it is a more unique, memorable experience (and cheaper!). There is wi-fi in the Club House and a small pool and the rooms do have TVs.

It may not be the best option for those with physical disabilities, as it is a bit outside of the town centre and the climb uphill is pretty tough even if you are young and fit (though there is always a bus or taxi).

Really spectacular views of the New Year's Eve fireworks. If one wants a luxury hotel experience this is not the place to be, on the other hand if one wants an authentic Madeiran holiday I would recommend this Quinta.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta Mae Homens Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Mae Homens Apartments

Address: 39 Rua Mae dos Homens, Funchal, Madeira 9050, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta Mae Homens Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quinta Mae Homens Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Mae Homens Apartments Hotel Funchal
Quinta Mae Homens Apartments Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Mae Homens Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.