We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Hilly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orca Praia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Orca Praia Hotel to your Saves list
Orca Praia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 335 | Prainha do Arieiro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-236, Portugal   |  
Ranked #31 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
lancashire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Very Hilly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Orca Praia & as in previous reviews the access back up from the pool bar & "promenade" is REALLY steep,we did it in stages & the steep climb from the front of the hotel to the main road.Having said that the hotel is in a lovely setting very peaceful & great sea views.Our room was excellent,clean comfy beds,large with armchairs to watch a plasma screen tv if you wished & a huge balcony with rattan chairs & good sized table to match.It was possible to hire sunbeds & an umbrella for the week but we like the sun so din`t bother.The bathroom had a sink each with good shower & towels were changed every day.There was no air conditioning but it was very nice to have both patio doors open at night & listen to the sound of the sea.We only had breakfast which was adequate so can`t comment on dinner.Hotel staff pleasant & reception very helpfull.Good bus service into Funchal from the stop close to the hotel on the main road.Only 2 restaurants in the vicinity & we mainly ate in the Piano Bar which was a left turn from the top of the drive but be warned HUGE portions!From the pool a right turn was a nice walk into Camara de Lobos \which was one of our favourite places to sit at one of the bars & watch the fishermen.To the left a path led along the beach to a couple of local bars/cafes where we ate a couple of times at reasonable prices & watched the Portugal football game with the locals,amazing atmosphere!But how people say you can walk into Funchal from there is a mystery,we tried & failed coming to a full stop up against a brick wall.The only downside (if you can call it that)is that until our last morning we thought we were the only English people at the hotel,when at breakfast we met two other couples who thought the same & they were due to leave the day after us!All in all had an excellent holiday,this was our 7th visit to Madeira so caught local buses to our favourite places but if you have not been before do "get out there" & see amazing scenery.

Room Tip: Superior room 9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    92
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
23
106
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed her with my adult daughter for two weeks, we had a wonderful holiday, our room was huge with a fantastic private balcony on the 10th floor. The food was varied and attentive staff. This hotel is not suitable for people with mobility difficulties due to the steep access. It's a delightful walk into Funchal along the beach, stopping for a swim or refreshments on route. Would recommend this lovely hotel and hope to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks half board at this hotel which was very enjoyable. The rooms and patio where absolutely amazing, spotlessly clean and modern, bathroom was superb spacious and well kept. Our room was located on the end of floor -9. The only noise you need to get used to at night are the ocean waves. Not sure why there is no air conditioning in the rooms, maybe this is why it is only has a 3* rating? We could not fault any of the staff all of them very polite and friendly. Most of the guest at the time we stayed were from Germany and France which meant conversation with other guests was difficult. It would appear that a couple of large German / French package operators had taken most of rooms. Both breakfast and evening meal are both buffet service, food is plentiful but a little 'plain and ordinary' You need to be fairly active to make the most of the hotel as there is a steep pathway and steps leading down to the swimming pool and cafe. The coastal pathway in each direction accessed from the swimming pool gate is a hive of activity during the evenings with lots of 'locals' jogging and walking along the pathway. The beach in front of the hotel has some dark stand which again seems popular with the local families at the weekends. The bus service from the road level outside hotel is very regular into the city and return until after midnight. We enjoyed the levada walk from opposite the hotel but again you need to be fairly fit and agile.

Room Tip: Remember to take a travel kettle if you want tea or coffee in your room. The hotel charges for '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

The Orca Pria is situated a 20 minute bus ride from the centre of Funchal.Hence the price is less than those in the centre.Also the local bus stops outside the hotel and runs until late.(There is alkso a free limited hotel shuttle bus)
The hotel is built into the cliffs with reception at road level and the rooms below.The rooms are some of the largest we have stayed in with balcony to match.There are uninterupted sea views - only noise being the waves.
We had Bed and Breakfast - this was good with plenty of choice,local breads etc
The hotel pool is at beach level - a steep walk back !
The pool also leads ot onto a beachfront path which goes many miles in each direction - the Lido one way and Camara de Lobos the other - if you like some exercise this is the place.

The staff are very good and helpfull,rooms refurbished and clean - shower only - again large.

Good for an independent stay.

Room Tip: All have superb views - avoid locations near lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Just arrived back after a week in Funchal. The food at the hotel was excellent, varied and a huge choice at every meal. The staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly the head waiter in the restaurant and Andrew in the Bar. Hotel rooms and general areas were very clean and comfortable. The beds were also very comfortable. All the rooms have brilliant views out to sea. The only downside was the trek down to the pool and pool bar. This was very, very steep and not recommended for anyone with walking difficulties.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We loved this hotel. Our room was huge and very clean. All rooms have sea views and balconies and we loved watching the sunset while drinking a glass of wine! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was plentiful, but I found it a bit samey. We loved being a bit out of town as it was so peaceful. We used the curtesy bus and the local buses which were easy to use. I had a spa treatment which was lovely.
If you eat in Funchal... try The Mozart Restaurant. A gorgeous restaurant , amazing food and staff and great value for money.

Room Tip: The higher you are, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Just come back from a week here - rroms and balconies a very good size. Location superb, views of the sea.
Try the bakery just up the road (turn right out of hotel entrance) - 2 cakes plus 2 coffees only 3.2 euros!
Only a short climb up some stairs opposite hotel to join levada.
On levada turn right for Funchal or left for Soccorides river valley.

Room Tip: We were on floor -3 which is nquite high up so good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orca Praia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orca Praia Hotel

Address: Estrada Monumental 335 | Prainha do Arieiro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-236, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#32 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orca Praia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Orca Praia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Orca Praia
Orca Praia Funchal
Orca Praia Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orca Praia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.