We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Views Monumental Lido

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Four Views Monumental Lido to your Saves list
Four Views Monumental Lido
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 284, Funchal, Madeira 9004-541, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
GreenLeadersGold level
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We recently stayed at The Four Views Monumental Hotel for a week’s Holiday with our best friends. We would like to say thank you to everyone at the Hotel for a fantastic week. All the Staff were so helpful and the food was excellent.
Considering that the Hotel had only been re-opened for less than a week when we arrived, we were impressed by the facilities and our rooms. A remarkable feat for such a large Hotel.

So please accept our thanks for an enjoyable vacation and we will certainly be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are quieter but we had a mountain view room. The double glazing meant that ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel in Tripadvisor.

It is so nice to read such a good commentaries regarding our service and to feel that you were impressed with the new facilities.

It is words like the ones you wrote that makes us smile and understand that our daily effort is well appreciated.

Thank you for choosing Madeira Island and our Hotel for your holidays destination.

Best regards,
Duarte Ferreira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    265
    93
    32
    6
See reviews for
84
372
16
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Great hotel with five star views.
Came here just as the hotel had been renovated so it is brand new basically, amazing rooms with the comfiest beds wardrobes and top of the range bathrooms :) would definitely stay here again and plan too. Good choice of food and great taste, a couple of people weren't happy with the food as it isn't red hot but it is a buffet style restraint unless you have ordered. Perfect sun trap for sunbathing up on the fourth floor too :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you very much for the lovely commentaries about our Hotel.

It is so nice to read that you have enjoyed your holidays and have appreciated all the new infrastructures.

We will show your kind words to our staff and to our Head Chef.

It is true that we had some guest that did not appreciate the restaurant buffet, sadly I did not get the chance to speak with them but I would like to inform you that at the moment everything is working fine and I'm receiving good appreciations about our food.

We are always working in improvements, the guest opinion matter and we feel so happy to read your kind words.


Thank you very much for choosing Fourviews Monumental Hotel.

I hope to see you again in our hotel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Brilliant location. A little out of the centre but a lovely walk there and back (would recommend a taxi or bus back if you don't like or can't walk up hills) bit other than that can't fault it. Hotel and spa absolutely gorgeous and rooms are spotless, no faults what-so-ever. Food is lovely and a good choice. Would definitely recommend to anyone. Plenty of sunbathing areas and lovely sea views at the front, 3 pools with one indoors, so you can't go wrong. Local amenities brilliant as well. Staff very very friendly, helpful, polite and like to have a joke with you :) perfect holiday. Definitely coming back here again but for longer. Can't wait to book again!!!!!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We are delighted to read that our hotel have fulfilled your expectations during your holidays.

It is such an honour to read the lovely words you wrote and we are pleasant to see that your are "definitely coming back here again but for longer"

It is commentaries like the one you wrote that make us realize that all the daily effort provided by everyone In the hotel is worth it.

Thank you once again for your kind words, we will share them with our staff.

Looking forward to meet you personally in your next Holliday in Madeira Island.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We arrived at the Four Views Monumental on the 3rd March for a two week holiday booked with Thomas Cook. Two of the main reasons for booking were the recent comprehensive refurbishment and the newly equipped gym.
From the outset it was apparent the refurbishment was still ongoing with the constant hammering and drilling being complemented by the smell of fresh paint and varnish. On entering our room we were met with wires hanging out of the wall, the TV laying face down on the suitcase holder and light bulbs were missing. An added irritation was that the gym was still in development and resembled a workshop rather than a workout centre. The following morning we had no hot water.
The Thomas Cook representative faced a number of angry guests during her meet and greet and it actually got quite heated, unlike the water. Although non of the problems raised were her fault it did seem the odds were against her when the drilling started mid way through and then the electricity went off. It seemed like a sketch from 'Benidorm' which was even more amusing when she told a guest who stood up twice to raise complaints that whilst his behaviour may be acceptable in Benidorm it was not acceptable in Madeira !!! She did however resolve the hot water problem very quickly but many other factors were out of her control. Such as the food not being labelled and frequently being lukewarm.
I am writing this now because yesterday I started to write and then we decided to give the hotel an opportunity to finish the work before writing a review, but have just come back to even more problems it seemed appropriate to write. Yesterday we came back at 4pm to face three hours of hammering from the floor above, and a phone call to reception had no effect. This morning from 9 until we went out at eleven it was constant drilling. On returning today we had to advise reception that for the second time the room key card was not working and an engineer came to the room and reset the card reader. Great we thought a relaxing coffee and read our books on the balcony, but low and behold there are now three workmen in the corridor removing all the presumably newly fitted door illumination panels.
The bottom line is that the hotel opened too soon and Thomas Cook should not have taken taken bookings until they new it was ready. We only booked 10 days before the trip so Thomas Cook should have known and advised us accordingly. Three days of our break have been significantly disrupted due to being placed in an unfinished hotel, which is a real shame because in a few weeks time The Four Views will be really nice. The staff, especially those in reception are very helpful and try their best, but they must be feeling the pressure of constant complaints.
Once complete the hotel facilities will be very good and the rooms are bright and obviously have a new feel to them.
If your coming next week don't be put off because hopefully the majority of issues will be resolved by then. But if your coming tomorrow think twice.
PS - the gym opened today but there is no information to tell anyone, but them again there is no hotel information available anywhere accept asking the hard working rep or receptionists.

Sent from my iPad

Room Tip: rear rooms are in shade all day but nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We are sorry to read that you felt that Fourviewshotels Monumental Hotel did not came up to your expectations.

We have refurbish our hotel in order to please our Guest and to offer them a memorable stay.

It is true what you wrote, we had little issues on the first week and we can assure you that in this moment everything has been solved out. The rooms are in perfect conditions and the Gym is working fine with plenty of Guests using the facilities.

We understand your concerning and we would be very pleased if you could give us the opportunity to welcome you again in our Hotel.

This way you could feel that everything is working properly and that your words have also been very important for improving our service.

Madeira is such a perfect destination that we want our guest to feel as comfortable as they are at home.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about our Hotel.

We hope that on your next visit we will be able to offer you a memorable stay.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile


We came to this Hotel especially to see the re-furbishments after its closure late 2013. The Hotel opened to the staff few days before we arrived March 3rd and we are still here at the time of these comments.

We were totally gob smacked as they say in the UK. They have done a fabulous job in the short time they had and opened on time. This of course left a few small problems that needed finishing, like the new TV powering up. Everything we listed was was fixed within a very short time the same day.

People who visit for the first time should not be disappointed as almost everything has been changed for the better, Readers who read old reports will be in for a big surprise. New pool area. New open reception layout.
Better lounge-bar and entertainment area. The Management have obviously listened to the visitors.

Regular returning visitors are in for a big surprise. The rooms are beautiful with new bathrooms. The showers are outstanding albeit the rooms are the same size in most cases. The Hotels outward structural appearance has not changed other than a few modifications to the higher balconies and a excellent paint job keeping its iconic and Monumental status in the land of Hotels.

The staff are the same people who remain as welcoming as usual. Even they love the new look.

Well done everyone who has made the difference and if you ask why I haven't added photographs, you need to see for yourself. We will be back in April for more of the same.





















Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
We are really happy to read such a lovely commentaries about our hotel.
It is true everything you have mentioned, everything is new, the Pool, the Spa, the Restaurant. We also have made a few improvements In energy, a total refurbishing and renovations in all rooms and apartments, new accessible rooms for disabled guests, superior and junior suites.

New communicating system, new garden areas with endemic local plants and flowers, organic farm.

Everything you love about is still here and we have now new facilities to provide our guest an enjoyable Holiday.


Thank you very much for your kind words, we really look forward to see you again in our Hotel.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Just to let people know that I have stayed in this hotel before and enjoyed my stay, I walked by it tonight and it has been closed for refurbishment, interested to hear what people think of it once it reopens

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow Scotland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Not long back from a long stay holiday in this hotel. We have stayed here before and always enjoy our stays. We particularly appreciate the location, on the flat, and bus stops to and from town are just outside. The rooms are kept immaculately clean by the friendly maids. Linen and towels were changed daily.We both enjoy the food, particularly the soups and salads. We sometimes swop dinner for lunch and that was also fine. When there I had a real problem with My IPad and reception went 'above and beyond' to help. In fact we find all staff we come into contact friendly and helpful. We were some of the last guests to leave before they closed for a major refurb and it was quite strange to see the hotel being closed up around us. Although there was obviously work going on we weren't disturbed by it at all.
As I have said in a previous review we think it is terrific value for money and the people who work there really make it special. I hate picking out individuals as everyone is so helpful, but, the head barman is an absolute true gent who has been very kind and helpful over the years.
Good luck with the refurb and we will be back next year to see the 'new' Fourviews Monumental.

Room Tip: Sea view on eighth floor is our favourite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Views Monumental Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Views Monumental Lido

Address: Estrada Monumental 284, Funchal, Madeira 9004-541, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#32 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Views Monumental Lido 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Four Views Monumental Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Views Monumental Lido
Four Views Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
Hotel Monumental Lido
Monumental Lido Madeira
Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
Four Views Monumental Lido Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Views Monumental Lido, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.