We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Views Monumental Lido

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Four Views Monumental Lido to your Saves list
Four Views Monumental Lido
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 284, Funchal, Madeira 9004-541, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
GreenLeadersGold level
ipswich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel is located in the main hotel district. It is about a 20 minute walk in the main town. The hotel doesn't look like much from the outside but it was in a really good location, I'm really fussy with food on holiday, and this is the nicest food i've had in a foreign hotel. There was a lot of choice, several different meat, fish, pasta dishes which were different every evening, and the food was very fresh. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    317
    109
    32
    7
See reviews for
96
450
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Weather very poor, cloud cover,rain every day. When we did sit out by pool it was deserted which is not good to get anyone in the holiday mood. Food-breakfast their was a choice of hot cooked food,cold meat and cheeses or fruit and cereal all of which were of poor quality. If you enjoy the English choice of hot food then avoid the bacon and sausages unless you enjoy party sausages from a tin and 90% rind 10% bacon kept warm in hot fat. Dinner-now if you enjoy bland which only could be described as a mismatch of English,German,Danish..... And you are not gastronomically adventurous then don't opt to eat in the restaurant. We payed half board and ate out most evenings. There's a good choice of Portuguese,madeiran,Italian,Chinese and Indian about. We tried dinner in the hotel a couple of times and felt very let down by the standard. The vegetables were tired,the meat and fish very overcooked and tasteless. And everything pretty much non descript,: fish in a yellow sauce,meat in a brown sauce all of which had developed a skin on. Not four star standard food,probably school standard.
Evening entertainment very dated. Power ballands done on a home keyboard.
Rooms very average,photos in brochure don't show cracks in walls and dirty balcony floors and rusty peeling railings.
No access to sea due to high cliffs and no beaches at all on the island.
Would we return. No.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed half-board in a twin studio room on the 5th floor. It was spacious, clean & comfortable, with a mini-fridge, kettle, & small balcony with part-sea view. The room faced the inner hotel complex, overlooking the pools, & was quiet. The bathroom had a clothesline for swimsuits. There was a daily housekeeping service. The buffet meals were more than adequate, with a great variety, serving 2 excellent fish & 2-3 meat dishes every night, with plenty of vegetables & fresh fruit. Champagne was often available at the buffet breakfast. The changing area of the indoor swimming pool was not very nice, but the hotel is due refurbishment this year & it will well change for the better. There was nightly entertainment at the bar area. The staff were friendly & courteous. The hotel presents a glass of champagne & cake at dinner at birthdays & anniversaries, which is rather nice.
Yellow urban buses 1, 2 & 4 leave at frequent intervals from across the hotel for the town centre, & bus 48 to Monte, dropping you off right outside the hotel on the return. The town centre is a 30-45 mins walk turning left outside the hotel, passing through 2 beautiful parks, the first with great views of Funchal harbor. A few mins walk turning right from the hotel takes you to a pinga doce supermarket where you can pick up picnic supplies for island walks, tea/cofee/milk for your room, traditional bolo de mel & madeira wine. There are at least 2 companies in the shopping centre next door to the hotel offering island tours & walks, & several more along the walk to the town centre. There is also a convenience store to buy a bus card & load bus tickets at 1.3 euros each. The hotel is a pleasant enough one, & after the refurbishment, will be even better.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room on one of the higher floor rooms if you will be spending a lot of time indoors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Had room on 7 floor at back YES it was on main road that had some noise but as out most of day was not an issue.view was so peaceful to look out onto nuns garden and chapel and the bird song in morning was a joy also liked not being seen while sitting on balcony unlike poolside,did not get sun but that was ok. Beds firm but had seven nights good sleep better than at home.
Restaurant good and a varied buffet,although some times warm rather than hot,fish dishes a must try,liked the idea of a set table at dinner time.Staff friendly and helpful.Look forward to going back following refurbishment. Ordered flowers to take home from Rep,but also found Flower Shop next door did same service at HALF the cost ,delivered morning due to leave would recommend as quality very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We've enjoyed four 2week holidays in Funchal, Three of them at the "Four Views Monumental Lido Hotel". It has clean and comfortable rooms and has good nightly entertainment. The staff are always helpful and cheerful. We have always had half board, the food is plentiful varied and excelent especially the fish. If you want to take coach trips around this fabulous island we can recommend "Strawberry World", a trip operator whose offices are just outside the hotel door. They are good and inexpensive. The local buses stop outside the hotel and there is a frequent service to the town centre. You can walk there past lovely gardens and through a park in 30-45 minutes. We can recomend this hotel and prefer the sea view rooms.

Room Tip: Sea room rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urmston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Quite a nice hotel but looking a little tired. Due to close for rerurbishment at the end of the season.
Food ok but a bit greasy. Often not enough crockery or cups for everyone in the dining room.
Facilities at the hotel adequate.
Evening entertainment reasonable
Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was our second visit to the Four views. Again we enjoyed our stay . The staff were very helpful from reception, restaurant and room service.Food good and varied buffet style, we were half board well worth it. The weather was a little mixed but did not hinder our enjoyment. We booked a sea view twin room with balcony, for me this is a must as this is the main part of our holiday.
The hotel is very convenient with tours and buses right outside the hotel doorway. In my last review I mentioned Joe's shop for bus tickets wine etc, unfortunately the shop has closed down due to his untimely death. Strawberry tours have changed their name to Lido Tours, we did the Nun's Valley tour again, a good half day trip 15 euros each. If you like a gentle walk by the sea go no further than the coast directly opposite the hotel. The flowers and their colours are vivid, head westward. Plenty of coffee shops and cafes very cheap and good. Down there is also a huge supermarket if you need anything - wine of course.
Funchal is only a short bus ride at 1.90 euros each. Visit the market for colour and atmosphere. go to the top floor and get yourself a fruit juice 4 euros each.
We will return to Four Views!

Room Tip: Sun is at the front so a sea view room will get the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
1.0 mi away
Four Views Baia
Four Views Baia
#35 of 88 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
5.7 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 14 in Canico
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Raga Hotel
Raga Hotel
#47 of 88 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Enotel Quinta do Sol
Enotel Quinta do Sol
#30 of 88 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baia Azul
Hotel Baia Azul
#56 of 88 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alto Lido
Hotel Alto Lido
#48 of 88 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Views Monumental Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Views Monumental Lido

Address: Estrada Monumental 284, Funchal, Madeira 9004-541, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Funchal
#31 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#32 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Views Monumental Lido 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Four Views Monumental Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Views Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
4 Views Monumental Lido
Hotel Monumental Lido
Monumental Lido Madeira
Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
Four Views Monumental Lido Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Views Monumental Lido, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.