We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Views Monumental Lido” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Views Monumental Lido

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Four Views Monumental Lido to your Saves list
Four Views Monumental Lido
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 284, Funchal, Madeira 9004-541, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
GreenLeadersGold level
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Four Views Monumental Lido”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We have just returned from a great two weeks holiday in Madeira. We stayed in the Four Views on half board from 26th September to 10th Oct 2011.
This is an excellent relaxing retreat. We required only a good clean hotel with good food and staff. This hotel is all that and much more. People with disabilities it would seem to us to have no problems at all getting about.
Rooms are of good size the beds comfy. They suited myself as they were moderately firm. Air conditioning and a large ceiling fan keep the room cool and pleasant.Hot water and fresh towels, bed linen are regularly changed.
The weather was superb, wall to wall sunshine.
This was our first visit to the Island and this hotel is excellently placed for getting about. The bus stops are in front of the hotel and the trips about the Island are there also, so ideal.
We can recommend Strawberry World Tours as these were the ones we went with and their booking office and start point are next door to the hotel. We as first time visitors went on the South East (1 day), the North West (1 day), and the Nuns Valley (half day) for the two of us this was a total of 108 Euro. Anna the tour guide and Mr Marco the driver are a credit to the company.
A visit to Monte and the gardens is recommended. We went by bus and returned on the cable car. Bus 1 euro each, cable car 10 euro each. You can go down by sledge (we gave that a miss). Another garden is the Botanical Garden, gardens of course depend on the season one visits, but we enjoyed them.
For getting about on the buses we recommend you go round to Joe's as soon as you can, round the corner from the hotel and up the hill a little way and get your bus tickets they explain everything and are very helpful.
We went with Jet2 and I have no problems to report at all.
We are a couple who do their own thing so the other things which the hotel does we cannot comment about such as entertainment in the evenings, gym, swimming pools, etc. The library is useful and we used.
All in all a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Sea view room is worth the extra. Pleasant on an evening on the balcony and a glass of Madeira wine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    254
    91
    32
    6
See reviews for
83
357
16
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Heard alot of fors and against this hotel on arrival as we were late due to weather conditions
we had missed our first meal but was told by the receptionist that we could have a lunch any
day just to let them know. We had booked 2 twin inland rooms but we received a very large
clean apartment over looking the sea it was wonderful although a little noisy from the traffic
but you soon got used to that.Whilst we were there it was our friends birthday and while we
were out the cleaner Lana left a small posy of flowers which we thought was nice Lana cleaned our rooms every day (10 days) with only 1 day off you could always hear her singing
in the mornings, we didnt have to much bother with the kareoke across the road but perhaps
that was because we didnt get in till late. Claudia at reception was very helpful with information and answered any questions. NELLY in the restuarant needs to be highly praised
as she was always running around making sure all the customers happy supplying them with
drinks and generally just clearing things away, in fact all the staff at this hotel were very kind
& helpful.The location of the hotel is perfect not to far to walk into town but bus stops outside
the hotel anyway and very cheap if you want to get cheap bus tickets as you leave the hotel
turn left then take first left halfway up the hill to Joes store there you can also exchange money at a good rate.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

My wife and I styed at this hotel for 2 weeks in September on a half board basis. Firstly i think you must consider at what you pay for your stay and I think the hotel offered good value for money; we booked and got a room with a sea view, the room was fine and serviced each day, towels changed when we asked. OK meals were a bit 'busy' and I accept not to everyone taste but we never went away hungry or dissatisfied. Yes at breakfast we, on two occasions, had to set our own table but it was our choice, we could have waited for it to be set but decided not to; the restaurant staff are busy and do a good job. We never had to wait for our drinks at dinner and usually the waitress knew what we wanted in advance. Plenty of sunbeds and parasols and the pool area is very clean. Our room had AC and a ceiling fan.We had a light lunch at the pool restaurant a couple of times and found it perfectly acceptable and a good price. We are making a return visit next year.

Room Tip: A sea view room means you have to listen to the slightly irritating karioke bar across the street at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsergiocosta, General Manager at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Obrigado!
And that's Thank you in Portuguese for the time you took to write your comments. Yes we have already to manage some changes in our Restaurant and I am glad that you have commented and noticed it.
As far as the Karaoke Bar we have already made a formal complaint and that's taken care of.
I am sure yiu will notice this when you comeback next year.
Obrigado.
Sincerely
Sergio Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We booked a studio and it was great. King size bed, fabulous bathroom with hairdryer. Kitchen area with cooker.fridge, toaster and all you need. Balcony a bit small but had a sea view. Bus stop outside, so convenient, but not that far too walk to Funchal centre. Great Italian restuarant & Chinese upstairs. Staff brilliant, room cleaned & new towels if you wanted every day. Games room has free pool & table tennis. Bar has happy hour 6.30 till 8pm.
It was my husband's birthday when we were there & they gave us a voucher for a free meal & bottle of bubbly - never had this before so great surprise.
This is the first place i have stayed in that I cannot fault.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsergiocosta, General Manager at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Obrigado!
And that's thank you in Portuguese and obrigado for taking your time to write this review. Our location in the Lido area is a very strong asset for guests staying at the Four Views Monumental.
We find that guest's choosing our Hotel to spend their birthdays are entitled to a nice surprise in our Restaurant and we are very happy that you have enjoyed our thought and hospitality.
Obrigado.
Sincerely,
Sergio Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I have concur with the writer dated 19th September.

My wife & I were in the hotel the same week & the week after.

We had booked & paid for a room with a sea view. On arrival we were given a room only find out when entering it was on the back of the Hotel. After complaining to a disgruntled management and showing proof of our booking, we eventually got the correct room.

From the offset, the Reataurant was disorganised from the start as we never saw any sign of a designated Restaurant Manager either deligating work to staff and/or monitoring the food taken from the buffet area in order that it should be replenished with guests having to stand around whilst new supplies were made available.

We noted on several occasions that guests were clearing breakfast tables of
crockery/uneaten food left by by previous guests due to the fact that there is not enough staff
to cater with the demand of diners at critcal times. (The ratio betwween guests and staff is
around 200+ to 7/8 staff.)

In all the 14 days whilst in the Hotel, we never saw a table actually wiped clean by any
member of staff before inviting a guest to be seated. Grubby marks & wet ring marks from glasses left on tables were the norm every morning & evening.

We were allocated certain seats in which we could sit, (provided they were ready) on one occasion there were no tables available in the area so we took it upon ourselves to find a table already prepared. Halfway through our meal a member of Staff approached me asking why we were sitting there. I replied due to the fact that no tables were available where we normally sit,
afterwhich he walked away in ignorance & disbelief.
Most Hotels we have stayed in allow guests to sit at any table they wish.

Its not a very good testimony to be hanging around waiting for a fresh replenishment of food to arrive, this happened most evenings. Meals are served between 7-30/10-00am breakfast & 6-30/9-00pm evenings, therefore people who are early get the best out of the food & staff. If your choice is to eat later, then you suffer the consequences. It isnt very nice when hot plates have to be used to carry ice cream because dessert dishes are still being washed.

All in all it did resemble a Motorway/Transport Diner.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsergiocosta, General Manager at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Obrigado!
That's Thank You in Portuguese and we thank you for taking your time to make this review which is very helpful for us to keep upgrading our services.
Our Food and Beverage offer is an added value to our guest's holiday experience and naturally when such experiences such as the ones we have encountered happened we dontake action to correct it. We have now implemented a 2 sitting system and an allocation table system to make it a lot more comfortable for our guests to enjoy dining in our Hotel.
Obrigado and hope to see you again in one of ur Four Views Hotels.
Sincerely
Sergio Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leyland
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

My wife and I looked forward to our week away and first visit to Madeira. The excitement of arriving in the resort and booking into the hotel was short lived however. On the advice of others through trip advisor we had pre-booked a sea view room, we checked in at reception and subsequently made our way to the roo allocated to us. Within five minutes of entering the room, my wife was in tears as the mattress on the bed was very badly soiled, stained and constituted a health risk. Granted the reception staff allocated us another room on the same floor, the condition of the room was not up to a four star standard as will be seen from some of the pictures that I took as evidence. We later found that the fridge did not work and also had to be replaced, indeed the fridge looks like it should be built in, but in both rooms the fridges where left out, which is a waste of of valuable space. The headboard of the bed was dirty, the carpet threadbare and the drawers were falling apart, indeed the rooms in general are a disgrace for a Four Star Hotel. In addition the air conditioning did not work at all for the whole week we were there, even after having the maintenance man change the whole air conditioning unit, the temperature stayed at a constant 26 degrees C regardless of controller setting, although at one stage it did get to 29 degrees C. Going onto the catering, well it was more like eating in a works canteen than a restaurant. The table we had been allocated by the "manager” for the duration of our stay a evening meal times changed every time we went for a meal. The food again is not up to the standard we have experienced in numerous Four Star Hotels we have stayed in recent years. The breakfasts were of a poor standard, for some reason we only got fried eggs that closely resembled rubber Frisbees every other morning, the bacon was also of a poor quality, the scrambled eggs were terrible. There was a shortage of cups every morning, so most people learned to grab a cup first before trying to find something edible. The evening meals were not much better, my wife and I went for evening meal and walked straight out, the selection was so poor, we had a meal out instead. I did consider at one stage putting an entry onto trip advisor whilst I was at the hotel requesting that Red Cross Food Parcels might be sent to us. Talking to many people, many were very disappointed with the food and the hotel in general, I hope that they back up this entry with their version of events. We work hard and pay good money to go on holiday and we have the right to a better service and conditions. We travelled with Thomas Cook, we informed the Thomas Cook Representative about the state of the restaurant/canteen and the food situation, but she did not seem to bothered other than provide a form to fill out, she did not even get up and walk into look at what we were trying to describe which is poor considering she was sitting directly outside of the area concerned. The hotel seems to lack general air conditioning, there seemed to be non in the restaurant area, it never seemed to be switched on in the reception area, and as for the library/internet room it was more like a sauna in there constantly. It is a great shame, the hotel is well situated and the staff pleasant, but there is only so much that they can do with limited resource, management direction and financial investment in improving the hotel.

Room Tip: You need a Sea View Room at the very least
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Well located very laid back hotel. No queues for meals and no mad rush in the morning to reserve a sunbed. Rooms adequate and clean and tidy. Entertainment was ok but if you want an hotel with loads going on this hotel may not be for you. Had free internet in computer room as well as free wireless access around the pool. However, during our stay this was not always working. Food was of good quality but not a great choice. However, given that this is not a massive hotel the choice of food was ok. We would definately return again and would recommend to friends. Jet2Com rate this as 3*+ hotel. Howver, this hotel is as good as any 4* star hotel I have stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Views Monumental Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Views Monumental Lido

Address: Estrada Monumental 284, Funchal, Madeira 9004-541, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#33 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Views Monumental Lido 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Four Views Monumental Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Views Monumental Lido
Four Views Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
Hotel Monumental Lido
Monumental Lido Madeira
Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
Four Views Monumental Lido Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Views Monumental Lido, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.