We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit frayed around the edges but very charming :-)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monte Carlo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monte Carlo to your Saves list
Hotel Monte Carlo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calcada da Saude, 10 | PO Box 4507, Funchal, Madeira 9000-221, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Bit frayed around the edges but very charming :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I spent a week in late March 2014 with my fiancee at The Monte Carlo and had a mainly enjoyable stay.
The hotel in situated near the centre of the bustling Madeiran capital of Funchal, with it's steep, narrow, cobbled streets, lots of friendly bars, restaurants and cake shops. Every single Madeiran I met during our stay was pleasant, from the waiters, airport workers, shop assistants and the public in general. You also notice how clean the streets are, no litter or dog mess. Although I practiced my Portuguese phrases, most people spoke very good English.
The hotel itself was built in 1910 and to be honest it hasn't really changed much! It seems to have retained the charm of a distant age and I wouldn't mind betting it was THE place to stay at one time. There's a tiny car-park where the young woman on reception maneuvers the cars around whilst your back is turned and somehow manages to squeeze 8 cars in. The sun terrace in front of the hotel is the perfect place to take breakfast with a wonderful view of the rising sun, sea, harbour and the many red-tiled roofs of the nearby houses & apartment blocks. There's a small bar to the right of reception where a very potent version of the local brew Poncha is prepared. There is quite a large, but mainly redundant dining area to the left of reception. Breakfast is sparse to say the least, but what do you need for breakfast apart from lots of coffee and a boiled egg sandwich? They do serve evening meals if required but we didn't sample the delights.
Our room 6 was reasonable large with twin beds, large wardrobe, beautiful window with city/sea view. There was a TV which we didn't really bother with and we were lent a hair-dryer for the duration of our stay. The bathroom with the usual midget shower (I'm 6'1") was a little tired, but clean. Our room was serviced every day and we received a full set of fresh towels every day.
On the top floor and kinda bolted onto one side of the hotel is the sun- terrace and small swimming pool, although nobody was brave or stupid enough to take a dip as the weather wasn't that hot. Temperatures got up to 20/22 degrees by lunchtime which was very pleasant and the sunlight was strong enough to give me a touch of sunburn. The weather tends to cloud-over in the afternoon at that time of the year.
I suppose the best part of the hotel is it's staff, from the lovely and friendly receptionist, the barman/waiter who it seems never sleeps, to the mysterious owner who can be seen at all hours helping out and chatting to the guests whilst wearing the same, over-size, brown corduroy jacket.
I'm so glad we chose to stay at this hotel instead of some soul-less concrete block in the main tourist area a few kilometres out of town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    68
    23
    12
    10
See reviews for
18
73
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed here for the first, second and final nights of our week touring Madeira. Rooms clean and comfortable and breakfast on the sunny terrace with panoramic views over Funchal was a treat. We arrived late ( 9pm) and hungry, but the very obliging staff soon came up with a hot sandwich. The car park will take 7 cars max., and the last one in is the only one that can leave easily. Car keys have to be left with reception for shunting purposes. Didn't try hotel restaurant but a plethora of restaurants in the old town, reached by a 20 min stroll downhill. Taxi back averaged 7 euros. Hotel continental breakfast average but perfectly adequate. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Arriving at this palace-like place was like stepping back in time. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed drinks and breakfast at the terrace outside the hotel. Splendid view and very romantic - Would love to come back!

Room Tip: It´s worth to pay extra to get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Hotel Monte Carlo has an old world feel to it. Everything is slightly dated, but in good condition and it all somehow works to make a really interesting and memorable place to stay. It has great views, a small swimming pool, helpful staff, a lovely verandah to sit on and look out over the ocean and the town of Funchal. We stayed 5 days and really enjoyed it.
We had a room in the apartment upstairs, which is attached to the main hotel but not in the main building itself.
The bathroom was fine, the bed was comfortable, the room was a good temperature (April) and it had a sweet, old world cupboard to hang clothes up.

Funchal is a hilly town on an hilly island, so expect hills when you are walking from town to the Monte Carlo Hotel.

The Monte Carlo is a quick walk to the main old town area, maybe 5 or ten minutes, downhill.

Also, the in-house breakfasts are fantastic. They are filling and have lots of fruit and healthy stuff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed at the Monte Carlo in October 2013. It is an old hotel,with a lot of dark wood. The first room that I was given(room 1) had very creaky floorboards,but unfortunately there was a constant noise from (I think) a generator or engine. I spent one night, but asked the next day to change the room as I couldn't put up with the noise. The staff were most helpful,and I was given room 29 which was quiet,and in the newer annex.
Overall,an ok hotel,but the walk from the town up to the hotel each day spoilt it for me, its ok if you do a lot of hiking,but the steep road and steps can be a bit too much,although there are taxis available if you're too tired to do the climb!

Room Tip: As mentioned by other travellers, rooms in the front have a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I've just returned from a five night stay in the Monte Carlo.
The hotel is in a good location providing you don't mind a bit of a hill to get back up again after visiting the town centre.
It's a building full of character and I felt a bit like I was stepping back in time whilst there.

Plus points:

- Great views from the hotel terrace where you can enjoy a drink
- The hotel has plenty of character and is in a good location
- The staff are friendly and helpful
- it was generally quiet there
- Free Internet access is available

Minus points:

- the decor is in need of some overhaul and was looking very tired and dated
- poor plumbing in the bathroom; shower was a very lacklustre trickle and the water takes ages to reach a reasonable temperature. I also think that the mat in the shower would probably constitute a bit of a health hazard and I dread to think what might be harboured there!.
- I felt that the breakfast was a bit poor and would benefit from a decent selection of teas/ jams/ preserves etc. Also, the hot water was never really that hot which meant that tea had to be drunk quickly rather than savoured as I would have liked.

Overall, I quite enjoyed my stay here, but if I were to visit Madeira again, would probably opt to stay elsewhere with a few mod cons and a bit of luxury. It's fine for a short stay, but if you are used to five star luxury all the way then this is one to avoid!

Room Tip: I would recommend asking a room with a view from the from of the hotel so you will wake up to lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viimsi, Estonia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at the monte carlo hotel for almost a week in May 2013. The hotel is definitely past its best days but for a 3-star hotel the service was very good. Compared to big tourist hotels there are relatively few guests so everyone visiting feels to be taken care of. We also saw a guy - probably the owner - hanging around in the lobby sometimes to see that everything is functioning. Some rooms have a really beautiful view over the city, ours unfortunately didn't which was a disappointment at the beginning but we got used to it and started to like it quickly. The rooms are spacious and very clean - towels and bed linen are changed every day. The breakfast is quite simple but has enough possibilities so that you don't have to eat the same thing every day. The location is good - yes, a bit up the hill but for young people it's a nice 15 min walk from the centre. Parking can be a problem but we always found a place nearby the hotel - the staff even offered to park the car for us sometimes. To sum up - the hotel is not the fanciest place where you have been but we felt good there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Carlo

Address: Calcada da Saude, 10 | PO Box 4507, Funchal, Madeira 9000-221, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within a previous Palace of Funchal’s charming and historic town centre, the Monte Carlo Hotel promises affordable accommodation and relaxing panoramic views of the bay of Funchal, and the Ocean. It’s located next to some main heritage and cultural points of Funchal, and Monte Carlo offers a relaxing stay, after exploring the magnificent island of Madeira. It takes only 5 walking minutes to reach the center and Marina, and there is a mini bus coming up to the Hotel Street every 30 minutes. The hotel provides a buffet breakfast, a living and games room with TV, a bar with Snack meals, as well as Wines and cocktails. At Monte Carlo you can enjoy a charming and friendly stay, in a unique place in Madeira. There is an exclusive esplanade, and on the top an outdoor swimming pool open all year, with a great view to see fireworks festivities in winter. The rooms are restful, cozy, equipped with a complete bathroom, telephone and TV. Some cultural events take place in the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Funchal
Hotel Monte Carlo Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monte Carlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.