We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4star hotel level” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alto Lido

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alto Lido to your Saves list
Hotel Alto Lido
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 316, Funchal, Madeira 9000, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not a 4star hotel level”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The hotel location is the only thing what is good, and match the hotel description on their site. Regarding them WIFI should be avaiable in the room, i always choose lime this because of my job. Only in the lobby there is WIFI, and in the room no option for that. For the jacuzzi and sauna they ask extra fee. The breakfast room was not clean, the floor was dirty of food parts. The hotel is full of retired people, so not really for jung couples. It has no style no athmosphere. In the reception one Man was not a good english speaker, not helpfull and really not serving. Overall in the hotel the staff is not a good english speaker.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    126
    55
    14
    4
See reviews for
71
109
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I was very pleased with the hotel, the staff, everyone was great considering we travel with a small baby. However, keep in mind that this hotel is not new, so it cannot be compared to other 4* newer hotels in Funchal.
However, for the price, this is an excellent choice!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was our first trip to Madeira and was very pleased with with the hotel. We found the room very clean, a daily maid service with the towels changed daily. The buffet breakfast was outstanding and the staff very pleasant and helpfull.
Dont bother with the yellow bus tour, they advertise a 20 minute service it was more like 45 minutes, while waiting for their buses we noticed the red buses were much more frequent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We thought this hotel was in a good location and our room was clean and had a lovely view. Room 1026
However I would say if your room is at the lower front of the building it could be very noisy with traffic passing on a busy road.
The breakfast was good although the staff (6) seemed more interested in talking than clearing the tables and replenishing the food island.
Indoor pool area and water not very warm.
Away from the hotel three things to be aware of.
1 Avoid the usual 'rip offs' ' when hiring a car at the airport - I used HERTZ -- they need masks like bandits usually wear!
2 Be prepared to pay for overpriced drinks when eating out.
3 Don't bother with The Yellow Bus Tour they advertise a 20 minute service but take out most of the service in the afternoon we waited 50minutes, commentary is rubbish. Better idea - use the free bus from the hotel and get a day ticket on the local buses from Funchal -- cheaper and more frequent.

Room Tip: Rooms on the West side have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was our first trip to Madeira and we were very impressed by the Hotel. The apartment had two large rooms with a connecting kitchen and two bathrooms. There was also a double balcony. We were at the front of the hotel next to the main road so there was some noise from the traffic but otherwise it was very good. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was a good sized indoor pool and an outdoor pool as well. Cleanliness was excellent. There was a good bus service from outside the hotel, so a car was not needed. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pyrenees
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed for a week over Christmas 2012 in a spacious studio apartment on the third floor.
Can't fault the service and cleanliness of the hotel. Sitting on our balcony, the noise bothered us (it is on a busy road!), but at night it was much quieter.

There is beautiful garden with pool (unheated) and another good-sized heated pool inside.

We did not take any meals in the hotel, so can't comment. But there are plenty of restaurants in the
area. Funchal centre is about half and hour's walk away. The Christmas decorations, beautiful lights
and Christmas market are worth a visit by themselves, and it was warm enough to stroll around at
night.
Our second stay on Madeira, and we'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We spent 5 nights here and the hotel kindly gave us an upgrade from a double room to a suite as it was our wedding anniversary and my birthday. We had room 818 which had great views and very spacious. As we were a little out of season breakfast was relaxed, with a good mix of people. The staff were very friendly and helpful but the plates were very small. We ended up with three plates each. Some advise for finding the restaurant, if you are in the section on the left of the hotel (14 floors), take the lift to floor 2 then walk along the corridor and the restaurant is at the end.
The location meant there was plenty of restaurants but no real bars. We tended to be the only ones in the hotel bar so felt sorry for the regular entertainment having only use to 'entertain'.
Wi-fi was good in the bar rather than reception.
We used the Yellow Bus a lot, €12 each for 2 days and if you want another 2 days speak to the reps/driver and you get a discount on the next 2 days so the tickets are only €9 each!
The hotel does have a bus but that only goes to and from Funchal on the main road.
If going into Funchal be aware of when the large cruise ships come in as it gets very busy. No ships on a Tuesday!

Room Tip: 818 had great views but noise from the road might be a problem if you plan to have doors/window open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alto Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alto Lido

Address: Estrada Monumental 316, Funchal, Madeira 9000, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alto Lido 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alto Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Lido Funchal
Alto Lido Hotel
Hotel Alto Lido Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alto Lido, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.