We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baia Azul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Baia Azul to your Saves list
Hotel Baia Azul
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quinta Calaca 1, Funchal, Madeira 9004-530, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
Herts, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband, myself and his elderly mother stayed here for a weekend recently. We had read some unfavourable reviews and were a bit concerned that we might have made a mistake. Well we hadn't! We arrived earlier than the official check-in time, but the staff were very helpful and suggested that we get a drink /coffee while the rooms were sorted out. So we sat on a lovely terrace overlooking the sea and had a drink and a snack while we waited. After half an hour or so, we were given the keys to our rooms. There have been comments on previous posts about the Hotel being tired and dated, Well, this is probably true, BUT the room was spotlessly clean, everything worked, the beds were comfortable and the balcony had an amazing sea view. We found the rooms larger than we expected with plenty of storage space.
The breakfast buffet had something to suit all tastes. There was a hot buffet, bacon,eggs sausage, beans etc, pastries, ham,cheese and lots of really lovely,freshly prepared fruit. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and spoke very good English. For the price, this hotel gives excellent value for money and we would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    127
    55
    14
    10
See reviews for
53
129
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I stayed with my family for a week at this hotel. Firstly, this is NOT a true 4-star by any standard. There is no concierge desk, their decor has not been updated in at least 30 years, and the facilities are not as advertised. We stayed in a real 4-star in Lisbon the night prior as we had to to get our connection to Madeira--- no comparison!!!
I will start with the negatives but there are some positives so read on.

CONS: Where to begin? The triple room consisted of 3 single beds 18 inches apart. Each bed felt lumpy and old with pillows that felt like someone put a pack of cotton balls into a sack. The carpet was well worn and tired. The toilet set was broken (only 3 feet) and wobbled precariously to sit on. The 21-inch screen CRT television was a giant black beast that took up most of the desktop (my 10-year old daughter asked me what it was!) There was no luggage caddy, so bags go on the little floor space that existed. There was one outlet plug in the entire room, in the corner behind a chair, none next to the lockers or beds so don't plan on charging more than one device overnight. No alarm clock, needles to say no 'dock'! The 'hair dryer' wouldn't blow out birthday candles, it was definitely a '70's model 'styler'. The 'free-wifi' was only in the lobby and lounge and if more than a few people were on it, good luck 'joining the network'. In fact, that became an inside joke 'unable to join network!' The pool was certainly NOT heated, the kids lips were blue after 2 minutes and they're used to the Atlantic! The room key was attached to a boat anchor and the door locks were made for inside doors rather than entry security. (Having been a victim of hotel theft in the past, I would certainly not leave anything valuable in the room, especially since the locks were removed from the 'room safe'. What a laugh! The shape of the hotel allowed all your neighbours to look onto your balcony and into your room. I easily climbed from my balcony to my kids room next door, so lock your slider! Not all the reception people are English speakers so good luck on who is there when you need something. Getting pool towels was a hassle, you pay a deposit of €10 on your room charge and get a card at the front desk for each towel, collect the towel at the pool by asking a non-English speaking chap to go retrieve them down some steps, and return them to he front desk or him of he's around. The old A/C-heat unit was difficult to regulate. In the recreation area, the jacuzzi was broken, the sauna was expensive to use, as were the billiards tables. There was a folk dancing show in Thurs which was completely inappropriate for children, they even grabbed my 13-year old and sat him on a dudes lap in a provocative fashion which was really uncomfortable and inappropriate and certainly not humorous or appreciated.

PROS: The views from the balcony are spectacular. The hotel lobby is large and though sparsely furnished was clean and well polished beautiful marble. The staff were really friendly and accommodating and nearly balanced out all the CONS. The location is good, only a very short walk to Madeira's best shopping mall, with McDonald's, a grocery, food court and mid scale shops only a 5min walk uphill. There was a table tennis table available, but €5/hr to hire equipment, so we bought some at the sport shop:-) Ronaldo's sister owns a CR7 shop nearby so stop in and say 'Hi'
The food was really good, and varied for the week and the cafe' was great as one would expect:-)

Overall, this is a 2-3 star hotel by continental standards. Incidentally, we stopped next door at the Regency Cliffside - definitely a big step up in class, and a perusal of their website reveals it's CHEAPER!!!!!! I probably won't ever go back to Madeira, but if I must, I won't stay at the Baia Azul.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

It was our first trip to Madeira Island and we're booked to stay at this hotel. The rooms albeit having an older look and feel to them they were great. Add the views from our ocean front rooms and the breakfast was included it was a great place to stay. The only area of improvement would be the internet service. Although it was free it was slow and you had to go to the reception area to use. It was a very noisy area and with many users around the internet service was slow and poor. It seems to be a common theme in Europe but at least it was free and available. The proximity to the ocean is great with a great seaside promenade to the downtown area. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Top floor, sea view, large room, excellent, was B&B only so did not sample the main meals, breakfast more than adequate & covered all tastes. Quiet establishment in a quiet part of town with a fair choice of local restaurants, about a 40 min casual walk into the old town proper, hotel a bit tired but that is reflected in the price you pay, all staff very friendly & helpful, all things considered well worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at the hotel Baia Azul for one week in early october. The hotel is like a time capsule! Definitely 80's inspired! It's dated but extremely clean. The staff are lovely also. We spent most days relaxing by the poor which was a little cramped if busy.

The hotel is a short walk from many great shops and restaurants.

Lovely destination for a quite break.

Room Tip: We had a lovely sea view room. The rooms are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolbotn, Norway
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had a room on the 8th floor with magnificent sea views and a balcony,
There was a TV and fridge in the room as well as air conditioning,even though the middle of October this was good to have.
The room was cleaned to perfection every day.
Buffet breakfast was served from 730-10 and was quite adequate, It was really nice to sit outside during breakfast and watch the sun rise on the eastern horizon.
There is a free bus to Funchal and back 4 times a day,If your into walking it takes exactly 1 hour to walk back from Funchal town center to the hotel,Free WiFi is available in the reception area.
The hotel is just a little dated but for the price paid it is very good value,friendly staff and a perfect position by the sea promenade.I would have no problem recommending this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sopot, Poland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

a little bit old hotel and you can feel it, but great location beside the ocean, wonderful ocean view from the restaurant and the swimming pool place, and rooms from that side of the building, unforgettable ocean noises in the night, the worst thing was the breakfast, during a 2 week stay every day food was the same, after a week you have really enough of scramble eggs, boiled sausages and english beens.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baia Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia Azul

Address: Quinta Calaca 1, Funchal, Madeira 9004-530, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
#26 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#43 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baia Azul 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Baia Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Azul Funchal
Hotel Baia Azul Madeira/Funchal
Baia Azul Hotel Madeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baia Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.