We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, very good staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baia Azul

Save Saved
You added Hotel Baia Azul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Baia Azul
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quinta Calaca 1, Funchal, Madeira 9004-530, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Aarschot, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good location, very good staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Let us be honest: hotel Baia Azul is not a trendy hotel. The whole infrastructure is a little bit old fashioned, but not in a bad way. Everything is very clean, the rooms are spacious and well taken care off, there is a fridge in the room where you can put your own drinks in, the view on the swimming pool and the sea are very nice, breakfast and dinner have sufficient variety. Sitting outside at breakfast with the view on the sea is heaven. The real richness of the hotel is location and staff. There is no wellness, animation is limited, but there is a free bus transfer to Funchall and around the hotel are restaurants and even a brandnew shopping center.
There are recent plans to upgrade the hotel in a million euro-project. I'm sure everything will me newer and better; but the prices will go up as well. Now you can enjoy a four star hotel at a reasonable price. Maybe in two years it will be a lot more exepnsive. Enjoy it while you can!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same. And most rooms have a view at the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    124
    47
    14
    8
See reviews for
47
117
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Millom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

The staff are excellent and the facilities very good. It is some way out of town but the courtesy buses help. Prices are reasonable but while we were there very few people took advantage of the barsn and other facilities eg an excellent snooker table. The furnishings are fine, the breakfast was good abd we would certainly go back again.

Room Tip: Sea view was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Yorkshire
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

After reading some of the reviews on here I was almost dreading staying but it turned out to be a pleasant stay. Yes, the rooms are tired and in need of a revamp but they are spacious, clean and airy. We had rooms 808 & 809, facing the sea with fab views. Staff are very friendly tho a bit disorganised. Trying to find out what arrangements were in place for Christmas Day meals was like trying to find hen's teeth! The hotel was only at about one tenth capacity so was very quiet over Christmas. Would have been quite dead were it not for a Travelsphere group visiting. Can also recommend Strawberry World for trips and the 'Yellow Buses' Nos 1 & 2 for local travel into Funchal and local travel elsewhere (12.5 euros for 5 day travel card thingy). Got the cable car to Monte and used the Yellow Bus to get back to town. If you don't want to pay to visit the gardens there go to the Quinta do Monte hotel and have tea in their lovely teahouse - you can then roam around their lovely gardens for free and without the crowds. We also used the Yellow Bus to get to the main Botanical Gardens (3 euros entry). The only evening meal we ate at the Baia Azul was on Christmas Day and to be honest it was abysmal! Tinned veg, 'Smash'-type mashed potato, tinned soup....you get the picture! Loads of restaurants near to the hotel tho...can recommend 'Restaurant a Pipa' in Funchal old town, 'La Bamba' - 3 bus stops towards Funchal with live music on Thursdays, 'Monumental Restaurant' just over the road from the hotel, much nicer than it looks from outside.

Room Tip: Make sure to have a sea-facing room...the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bruges belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We already have stayed three times at this hotel. The prices of the rooms are very reasonable. Very friendly staff at the reception desk and in the restaurant.
Garage available in the basement. The rooms are a little old fashioned but the beds are in good condition. Do book a room with sea sight, because in the rooms on the front with street sight there is some noise caused by heavy street traffic. There is an outside swimming pool
but the "spa" is insignificant (just a bubble bath). One can make a walk of 3 kilometres along the beautiful seaside promenade to reach the centre of Funchal, but there are quite a few buses (green line= ligna verde) every ten minutes.

Room Tip: Do choose a sea-sight room. Not only because the sight is marvellous, but at night everything is qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julianadorp
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed at Baia Azul from 25th Sept till 9th October our second visit in 2 years. The hotel is a little dated and does need a bit of modernisation, but it is clean, staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good. It is quite a walk into Funchal, but public transport is cheap and good. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview, side and front of hotel have a lot of noise from passing traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed from 8 Aug to 15 Aug 2011 and booked this as a late deal on 29 July. We had read a number of reviews where people had complained about decor being dated and marks on the woodwork and perhaps that may have been the case but it was clean and everything worked as it should have done. To be honest I didn't go on holiday to spend time in the room. People also complained about the breakfast being like a "scrum" and whilst it was busy if you went down later 9am (ish) it was no different to going in a large hotel in the UK. Try going on a short break to London and staying in the Royal National at Russel Square to see what a "scrum" is really like. Plenty of choice at breakfast, cereals, cold meats, bread, cooked selection, cake and even sparkling wine! We didn't use the hotel for meals in the evening. Staff very friendly although I cannot comment on how helpful they were as we had nothing to ask them. The hotel is about the furthest one out from Funchal but the brochure does tell you that it's 2.5km away. We used the free courtesy bus on a number of occasions without any trouble - it drops you opposite the marina in Funchal. If you wanted to hire a car there is limited space outside the front of the hotel but it does have an underground car park which is free to use for residents - we took a look and there was plenty of space. Our only (very very small) reservations were that there were not many clothes hangers and only 2 chairs on the balcony when we had a room for 3 - we used one of the 2 inside chairs to make up the numbers when needed. Also there was only 1 electric socket in the room which was a little incovenient when you wanted to charge more than one mobile phone or camera battery at the same time. Got round it with a bit of planning.

TRIPS - Our tour operator was charging 43 euros for full day trips (included lunch) but we used Strawberry World (have a website) twice at a cost of 22 euros per person per trip (lunch not included). Trips were very good with full commentary in English and plenty of stops for photos etc. Trips started at approx 9am and returned around 17.30. Their office is about a 15 minute stroll towards Funchal from the hotel on the other side of the road.

We also used the cable car to Monte and then onto the Botanical Gardens by Cable Car. Round trip and entrance to the gardens was about 27 euros per person - what views! If you go to the gardens I would recommend that you walk down to the bottom where the birds are and then make your way back slowly looking at all the flowers etc. Doing it uphill in one go is tough - it's steeper than you think.

We stayed in room 1015 which is on the 10th floor - sounds high but reception is on the 6th floor. The room was in the centre of the hotel overlooking the pool and the sea but also the Naval Club that people have commented on. Luckily there were no events on to disturb us. For most of the day (not that we stayed in a lot) the balcony was in shade which suited us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

My partner and I stayed at this hotel fro a week in August the staff were friendly and helpful, our room was very spacious and clean with a mini fridge there was a maid service every day. The breakfast was buffet style with anything you could wish fro from continental to bacon and eggs with lots of fresh fruit and cava wine for that bucks fiz to start the day. There is a free bus from the hotel into funchal. We actaully went to madeira for the scenery and to check out the levada walks you can go on guided excursions from £25 euros, if you enjoy walking the pico de arierio to pico ruivo peaks walks is a must. Or go it alone and take the cable car to monte and do the levada walk there the views over funchal are amazing The people of Madeira were very friendly and we will definately go back there.

Room Tip: ask for a room above floor 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Baia Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia Azul

Address: Quinta Calaca 1, Funchal, Madeira 9004-530, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#43 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baia Azul 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Baia Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Azul Funchal
Hotel Baia Azul Madeira/Funchal
Baia Azul Hotel Madeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baia Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.