We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not be bettered” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Choupana Hills Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Choupana Hills Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Choupana Hills Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Travessa do Largo da Choupana, Funchal, Madeira 9060-348, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Crewe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Could not be bettered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The best part of this hotel is everything. The hotel itself, the staff, the service and the food are absolutely 5*. This was our first time at this hotel, 18th/25th April, and it certainly will not be our last. We have stayed at many really good hotels but this takes some beating. Up in the hills the views are stunning and you are only 10 minutes away from central Funchal which itself a great place visit, plenty of shops and restaurants. We hired a car and explored the island not only was the scenery fantastic but some of the local people we met were brilliant to chat with. Finally we must compliment the staff in the hotel restaurant. Apart from the food being excellent the way it was served was great. Nothing was to much trouble and everything was done with a smile. Many other hotels should send their staff to this hotel to observe what a great hotel is like.
Best wishes to all the staff Chris & Sam Dunley

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and have excellent views over Funchal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    101
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
64
357
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanau, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at the Choupana Hills Resort & Spa from April 6th - 12th, 2015. To say it right away: we have very much enjoyed this place in the hills above Fuchal city, to our opinion the best hotel to stay in and around Funchal !

In detail: restaurant (we have had breakfast plus dinner): excellent, rely on the waiter's wine recommendation; room: spacious with fantastic views on Funchal; service: very friendly and attentive; pool area: big and very proper (no plastic furnitures at all).

Conclusion: a very well managed luxury hotel in all respects. However you need to know that the location is a bit away from Funchal city, and due to its nearnees to the mountains you may have some more clouds than down in Funchal.

Finally: no doubt, Choupana Hills will be our choice again for the next visit to the beautiful island Madeira !

Room Tip: Try to book one of the rooms directly facing the sea and Funchal city (# 71, 72,...)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is a very steep and twisting drive to the hotel with many hair pin bends. The bungalows are surrounded by beautifully landscaped gardens and, helpfully most of the plants are labelled. The view from our room and balcony was wonderful taking in the whole of Funchal and the harbour with liners coming and going. The room was spacious, stylish and inviting and kept very clean. I found the bed uncomfortable and did not sleep well and the lighting is too dim for reading unless you are in bed. The blinds do not meet in the middle so there is a potential lack of privacy There needs to be more hangers as there is good wardrobe space. However, I would prefer drawers to shelves for clothing access and storage. The Internet connection was very good and on the one occasion it failed a member of staff appeared within 4 minutes and sorted it out.There are an awful lot of steps from most of the rooms so by the end of our stay we were all much fitter! Anyone with mobility problems would find it very difficult to stay here. In most places the steps are well lit but in others they are not . There is a danger of accident!
Room facilities are very good but coffee and milk for the machine were charged as extras. The free coffee was instant so I didn't try it. There was a free tea bag but no free milk. I think it shouldn't be necessary to charge for any of these items in such a quality hotel. The bathroom is really well appointed but some hair conditioner should be provided. The illuminated shaving mirror is a great bonus. I think there should be a wash basin in the separate toilet . Good to have a safe and independent heating.
It was not warm enough to use the large and well designed and landscaped outdoor pool. It would be fantastic in the summer! There is plenty of terrace for sun bathing with lots of sun umbrellas and sun beds. The indoor pool was clean and of good size. On the next level there is a bar and small terrace. I found the stylish seating here to be very uncomfortable and it was often difficult to find a bartender due to lack of staffing. The bar snacks were excellent and good value. Once a member of staff was found we usually had good service.
The breakfast buffet was very good with a wide selection of fruit, pastries, cheese and meat. Thre was excellent orange juice but although I like strong italian coffee I found the coffee here too strong and bitter even with extra hot water. The made to order omelettes were superb. I found the service at breakfast rather erratic but most of the staff helpful. The food in the restaurant at dinner was quite expensive and the portions were very small , more style than substance. There is much better value in Funchal and at the nearby Planka restaurant . This is why we only ate in once.
There is a courtesy mini bus service to Funchal but it has to be booked in advance and does not run frequently enough. It only seats 8 people so soon fills up. On our first day we had to take the 12.30 bus this is not good enough. If the service was more frequent or on demand I would consider staying here again.
The staff in reception are very helpful and friendly. Finding a place in the car park is difficult even in March. We sometimes had to use the staff car park out of desperation. A levada is routed through the grounds. Walking East takes you to a lovely garden and tea shop while walking west takes you to Monte via some long drops!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the fewest steps to the reception. Most rooms have a sea view but ask for one to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed as an extended family group of six for five nights from 3rd-8th April. The hotel is lovely and the views are amazing. We found the staff to be helpful and they pretty much all spoke good English. We stayed in rooms 40, 41 and 42 (rooms 40 and 41 have slightly better views). We had requested rooms on the same level as the majority of the hotels facilities and room 40 is as close as you can get. It is a few seconds level stroll to the outside pool and indoor pool area but you do need to go up stairs to the lounge, restaurant and another flight up to the bar area. The rooms are spacious and well laid out with a sofa and armchair and a very large bed in the centre of the room with the wardrobes and desk behind. There is a separate toilet from the bathroom. The bathroom was fine but access into the bath to use the shower is awkward as it is a large step up and over. My in laws requested a stool and bath mat to help with this issue. The manager mentioned that he is planning to change these bathrooms as the shower set up is not ideal for most people . The view from the balcony was amazing and there are 2 loungers to make use of. There is heating and air-con in the rooms and as it was variable weather when we were there we used the radiators (beware very hot to touch) and the warm air setting on the air-con to make the room toasty in the evenings. They provide robes and slippers to walk over to the indoor pool and spa. The indoor pool was a decent size and is great for the cloudy not so hot days. There is also a sauna and steam room. The outdoor pool area is spacious and beautiful with lots of loungers. The water is not heated so the early April dip even with the sun out was bracing. By summer it will be a delightful temperature no doubt.
The food was very good generally. The breakfast offered breads, cereals, fruits, meats, cheeses, pastries, fresh juices, and eggs/bacon to order. The snack menu for all day dining is good with a wide range of choices and can be served in the bar or in the restaurant. The evening dinner menus are good too - we had the Good Friday Gala dinner which we enjoyed and as we were on a semi-half board option we had another dinner too which we enjoyed. The service was generally good but was occasionally slow in the bar as there was only one member of staff running it. The bar is in the roof of the building and is a bit too dark for my liking - they could do with improving the lighting. There are lots of places to sit out and enjoy the stunning view across Funchal and due to some cold winds whilst we were there we made use of the library and the lounge too.
The grounds of the hotel are nice but as it is on a very steep hill we tended to stay at the upper level and it is worth checking out where your room is before booking to avoid any very long walks up hill to the main building.
There is a hotel shuttle bus that goes down into Funchal 4 times a day - but as we were a group of 6 and it only takes 8 people we found we could never use it. The first shuttle down is not until 11am which I think is a little late. We used taxis to go up and down into Funchal - a 15 min journey down very steep roads. All the taxi drivers were friendly and helpful.
It was my daughters birthday whilst we were staying and the hotel laid on glasses of fizz, a cake and laid the table with lovely flowers for her lunch.
Overall I would recommend this hotel - the view is amazing, the pool etc is lovely, the people were friendly and helpful and the food was good. You feel suitably cut off from the busy town below but can pop in to town easily. It is only a 30 minute transfer from the airport. A couple of minor gripes; not quite enough staff, a tendancy to leave empty bottles, bags of sheets etc outside the bungalows for long periods of time - also probably due to lack of staff?
I would recommend this hotel to anyone (although for the elderly, disabled or very young it is a challenge with the steps) for a peaceful, beautiful and restful stay in Madeira.

Room Tip: Go for room 40 or 41 if you don't want a steep walk up hill - amazing views too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staying in tjis hotel you have a feeling you are in beautiful botanic garden. Villas are big and comfortable. The whole area is very quiet so you can really relax. There is excellent restaurant here, very friendly staff. Two nice swimming pools (indoor and outdor), sauna, spa.
Really recomended place

Room Tip: All have ocean view - in fact no major difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk england
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

beautiful site, well tended gardens, fabulous views, excellent and spacious bungalows, terrific pools - BUT many details need improving to earn 5 stars:-

Breakfast: service is haphazard - sometimes attentive but often you are ignored or need to give reminders of orders given eg coffee. Buffet is adequate but nothing special - cooked breakfast is quite unappealing with a fried egg, scrappy bacon and a few baked beans - definitely not 5 star! Coffee is too strong and bitter. Overall quite a cheap feel to the whole breakfast.

Rooms: the 4 vertical blinds don't meet which lets in a lot of light - not good for light-sensitive sleepers and privacy. 1 small cheap bar of soap for sink and shower + very basic quality shampoo etc. Complimentary cheap tea and coffee then you are charged for Nespresso - you are even charged for milk!!

Restaurant/dinner : only had meal first night which started with barely warm soup for all 4 of us and the mains were over-priced for the quantity served. Vegetable were all cold. Definitely not tempted to eat there again. Access was very annoying - you were barred from taking the direct routes from the pool area or lounge in the evening and instead were expected to climb yet more steps up another level, walk down the road then enter through the bar. We found this quite insulting to guests - another reason not to dine there.

General: not a single comfortable chair in the lounge, bar or library - a triumph of style over function again. Annoying piped music to all areas - mindless, tuneless rhythms which were far from relaxing - even in the library. Poor lighting in the library/games room made them barely usable in the evenings. Unsafe lighting for steps. There are many steps to encounter and at night some of them are not well lit and quite unsafe. The shuttle to town is inadequate for the number of guests staying there. On the first day we had to wait till 12.30 to go into town. The very limited service means that having your own car, or using taxis, is a must as the site is quite remote and there is no direct bus service into Funchal.

I know I may sound picky and too critical but despite the above we did have a lovely time. However, the above things did niggle us and detracted from the whole experience. One or two details would be no problem but too many details spoil what is potentially a five star experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are inaccessible to anyone with any limited mobility - there are many, many steps which ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chills, Gerente geral at Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Choupana Hills Resort & SPA and we are very sorry to hear that we did not meet in any point your expectations.

We would like to take this opportunity and better clarify some mentioned issues for all readers:

- Our breakfast is a combined service, meaning waiter/table service for all hot beverages and food and all cold items at the buffet. Considering this and especially the waiter service thus we wish to guaranty the best quality of cooked food we do all fresh and in some peaks of the service and with high occupancies this can indeed take a bit longer than usual (+/- 5 extra minutes). On the other hand, food is at all times available to repeat for as much quantities as each wishes.

- we are pleased to inform that all rooms are the next stage of refurbishment (thus now all public areas are being finished) at this to be started in May hopefully. All exteriors are mostly refurbished and interiores are indeed the next step including all fabrics and furniture.

- Our daily with our compliments soluble coffee and tea which is provided free of charge for the entire stay is from the considered best Portuguese brand - Delta - we are in any case reviewing this point for other options.

- Indeed and due to some complaints from guests regarding the opening of the doors directly at the restaurant and air corrents we indeed suggest this entrance by the the main door. We are pleased to inform that we will have double doors to avoid any inconvinience to sitting guests.

- We are delighted to inform all readers that we are under a discret refurbishment plan, being the restaurant alrewsady done, now we are finishing all areas including the library and then finishing at the rooms. For all what is already in place has been highly aprecioated by guests not only for design, taste but comfort.

Once again please accept our apologies for not providing you with the flawless stay that you have come to expect from Choupana Hills and we do however hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back at Choupana Hills and definitely enjoy as most a unique and great stay.

Ricardo Rodrigues
Gebneral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in Choupana Hills for a week and loved every aspect of it. The room/bungalow was fantastic and the view was special every time we looked out across Funchal.

The staff were attentive and helpful without being overly so. If you wanted to be left alone then it wasn't a problem.

We ate in the restaurant 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. We took advantage of their advance meal offer which is worth doing. I wouldn't advise eating more than a few nights in the restaurant during the week. The meals are great but so filling. It's worth branching out for a few times away from the hotel.

We had a hire car and didn't use the shuttle bus but that looked useful to use. There were always plenty of taxis available as well.

Be warned that if you drive that the road up to the hotel is very steep, twisty and precarious in places. But you soon get used to it. If you arrive at the hotel in the dark be aware that the hotel sign isn't very well lit at the main gates. It looked like a private house to us and we went off down the lane behind the hotel which is not recommended!! I had to reverse 400m to get back.

Overall we loved the place. It is more than a hotel. A great place to relax and have some time to yourselves.

Room Tip: Rooms 30 & 31 are very close to the main buildings and have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chills, Gerente geral at Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We are absolutely delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your stay at Choupana Hills.
Thank you for such great feedback. We are obviously very happy to know that you apreciated our staff professionalism, care and friendly services delivered by our team.
We also thank you for already considering your next trip being Madeira and our hotel - we look indeed very much forward in welcoming you back.
Ricardo Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Choupana Hills Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Choupana Hills Resort & Spa

Address: Travessa do Largo da Choupana, Funchal, Madeira 9060-348, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#5 Family Hotel in Funchal
#8 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#11 Business Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Choupana Hills Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of Design Hotels, Choupana Hills is located in Madeira Island Portugal and has one of the most beautiful views over the Atlantic Ocean. Nestled in a botanical garden the hotel provides a unique atmosphere. It's 62 rooms and suites are displayed in bungalows. Some African and Asian influences can be noticed in the unique decoration of this boutique hotel. The SPA has been awarded several times and exceeds the most demanding expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Choupana Hills Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Choupana Hills Hotel Funchal
Choupana Hills Resort And Spa
Choupana Hills Resort & Spa Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.