We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we were looking for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Choupana Hills Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Choupana Hills Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Choupana Hills Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Travessa do Largo da Choupana, Funchal, Madeira 9060-348, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Exactly what we were looking for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We were looking for a tranquil and relaxing environment and this is exactly what we found, both in terms of the hotel setting and the manner of its friendly and attentive staff. Walking to the pool, listening to birdsong was a wonderful start to the day, as was the excellent breakfast. We were particularly impressed by the way the staff seemed genuinely concerned that we enjoy our stay and wanted to know that everything was as it should be.We loved the spacious accommodation (which was much larger than expected) and the view from our balcony was just what we had hoped for. We made regular use of the levada walk running through the hotel grounds, as well as the very handily located local bus service and hotel courtesy bus. The very personal farewell we received was the perfect end to a lovely week.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chills, Gerente geral at Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you so ever much for your review and kind words.
We are indeed delighted that your stay was as expected and that you have taken back home a good a memorable stay in Madeira and at our Hotel.
We definitely look very much forward in welcoming you back in Madeira and at Choupana Hills Resort & SPA in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    285
    81
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
39
244
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is a great hotel even with kids. The family bungalows are perfect with 2 full size huts combined so plenty of room. The children ( noisy boys 6 and 7) were made to feel very welcome throughout the hotel even the spa pool. The food and wine are excellent and as we know nothing about portugese wine the advise from the restaurant staff was invaluable and always correct. The Half board dine around option worked perfectly for us as we could book it for half for our stay and experience some of Funchals other great restaurants on our other nights. We will definately be returning as it was a perfect half term break.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chills, Gerente geral at Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you so ever much for your review and kind words.
We are indeed delighted that your stay was as expected and that you have taken back home a good a memorable stay in Madeira and at our Hotel.
We definitely look very much forward in welcoming you back in Madeira and at Choupana Hills Resort & SPA in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed here for a few days including Valentines Day. The staff were courteous and very helpful. We loved the beautiful gardens and fabulous views over Funchal. Our bungalow was spacious with a balcony and the decor was very classy. Thoughtful touches included a complementary selection of handmade chocolates delivered to our door on Valentines day. The restaurant was excellent, so we ate there most nights and thoroughly enjoyed the special valentines meal with excellent live music.
It was great to be able to set out walking along the levada straight from the hotel and the staff were able to recommend other guided tours. There was a courtesy bus to take us to Funchal where we spent an interesting day.

This was a peaceful resort with every comfort and attentive staff.

The only criticism is that the spa decor could do with an upgrade

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chills, Gerente geral at Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you so ever much for your review and kind words.
We are indeed delighted that your stay was as expected and that you have taken back home a good a memorable stay in Madeira and at our Hotel.
We definitely look very much forward in welcoming you back in Madeira and at Choupana Hills Resort & SPA in a near future and for another memorable and unique stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evian-les-Bains, France
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This second visit to the Choupana hotel only served to confirm our opinion of its outstanding qualities. Its location high above the town of Funchal together with the view over the Atlantic is
truly magical. The accommodation in Asian style bungalows is amazing combining tranquility with
every modern facility and large sea view balconies. However, the most impressive feature of the hotel is its wonderful staff who are always smiling and ready to help with any request.
Throw in the fantastic food at the restaurant and it pretty much ticks all the boxes.
Without a doubt we will be back for another visit fairly soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chills, Gerente geral at Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
What can we say? It was indeed a great pleasure and honour in having you back with us! It is really great to learn that this new stay was again a unique and memorable stay.
Hopefully we will have again the pleasure of welcoming you back and then again with some new "news" that i am sure will grant you another great experience in Madeira and of course at Choupana Hills Resort & SPA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We started the year spending nine days in the Choupana Hills Resort & Spa. We booked a standard room, which is huge, well equipped and tastefully arranged. We loved the awesome views to Funchal and were delighted by the absolute silence and tranquility this resort provides. At some days you would not see ten feet from your nose due to the heavy fog. The hotel happens to be at aprox. 600 meters above sea level, high enough to be shut in the early morning lower clouds. The rooms provide plenty of privacy and include an ample, wooden-floor balcony with lounge chairs. Beds were comfy, maybe a little bit too soft for myself. We loved the lush gardens and beautiful outdoor pool, though this time of the year it was way too cold to swim. The hotel offers also an indoor pool in the spa area and a very basic gym equipped with four cardio machines.

The breakfast was great with plenty of fresh fruit, muesli, local pastries, croissants and bread. You could order any kind of boiled eggs, omelette or scrambled eggs. Everything tasted just great.

Dinner in the hotel happened to be also a great experience. The hotel is highly recommendable if you do not mind being in the outskirts of Funchal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chills, Gerente geral at Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you so ever much for your review and kind words.
We are indeed delighted that your stay was as expected and that you have taken back home a good a memorable stay in Madeira and at our Hotel.
We definitely look very much forward in welcoming you back in Madeira and at Choupana Hills Resort & SPA in a near future and for another memorable and unique stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Possibly the most relaxing Hotel I've ever stayed in. Perched high above Funchal half up in the clouds, these Balanese style bungalow lodges seem utterly in keeping with their tropical vegetation and rain forest environment and a world away from the busy town. It felt like we'd flown half way around the world, not just a few hours from Gatwick! The rooms were big with lots of nice touches (extra blankets, non steaming mirrors, petit fours on arrival, fridge, lots of hanging space) if a little short on lighting although this made them feel cosy when the weather turned. The bed was large and super comfy - a top nights sleep. The communal areas of the hotel included a library, large restaurant that serves a high standard of food and wine (breakfast was superb with a huge choice), large bar (with roaring fire for chilly evenings) which seemed very under-utilised, a beautiful pool that is designed to look as if perched on the edge with stunning views (a swim in the clouds anyone?) and stunningly landscaped. The whole hotel and grounds are beautiful and unique yet also solid and built to last; in other words the quality that you see on the website is what you get in real life. This is an ideal retreat to escape from the world and relax...not for those who want nightlife and bars. I rarely want to visit the same hotel twice but this is somewhere I could see myself returning to time and again for a pick-me-up.

Room Tip: Pay the bit extra for the view (not the garden rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chills, Gerente geral at Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you so ever much for your review and kind words.
We are indeed delighted that your stay was as expected and that you have taken back home a good a memorable stay in Madeira and at our Hotel.
We definitely look very much forward in welcoming you back in Madeira and at Choupana Hills Resort & SPA in a near future and for another memorable and unique stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The hotel is quite high up so you can see the ocean (and part of Funchal really well). From certain rooms and definitely from the main building, you can even watch cruise ship coming from the horizon into Funchal! The hotel is a away form central Funchal but there is a shuttle bus (do check the times on arrival) and cost of the taxi ride back to the hotel is reasonable. Location is great for hikers as it is right on the levada.

Breakfast buffet is excellent - loads of fresh fruit, you can also order eggs and bacon,etc. For dinner, the restaurant service is quite slow so don't go for a 3 course meal unless you have plenty of time.

The outdoor swimming pool is great (albeit a bit cold when we went in October!). The indoor swimming pool is smaller but adequate. We also had a spa treatment which was a good experience.

I like the little touches - a little library with English, French and German books and access to internet. A bar where you have a small backgammon table, etc. The bar unfortunately is not staffed all the time so do check with reception, etc.

The room is spacious and staff were helpful. We thoroughly our stay and intend to use it again if we go back to Funchal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chills, Gerente geral at Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you so ever much for your review and expressing your feelings about your experience in our hotel.
A further thank you for the mentioned point of Restaurant service that we are very sorry for the slow experience but please be assured that this is no longer an issue thus this was a definite point of review and finaly sorted out.
We are indeed very pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you took back a memorable experience from Madeira and Choupana Hills Resort & SPA.
We look very much forward for your future visit and once again thank you for this review.
Ricardo Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Choupana Hills Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Choupana Hills Resort & Spa

Address: Travessa do Largo da Choupana, Funchal, Madeira 9060-348, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#10 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#17 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Choupana Hills Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of Design Hotels, Choupana Hills is located in Madeira Island Portugal and has one of the most beautiful views over the Atlantic Ocean. Nestled in a botanical garden the hotel provides a unique atmosphere. It's 62 rooms and suites are displayed in bungalows. Some African and Asian influences can be noticed in the unique decoration of this boutique hotel. The SPA has been awarded several times and exceeds the most demanding expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Choupana Hills Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Choupana Hills Resort And Spa
Choupana Hills Hotel Funchal
Choupana Hills Resort & Spa Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.