We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel and excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Choupana Hills Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Choupana Hills Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Choupana Hills Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Travessa do Largo da Choupana, Funchal, Madeira 9060-348, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel and excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our affair with the hotel started in early March when we made a NONREFUNDABLE reservation for 2 sea view rooms for April. In early April we encountered a family problem and we had to cancel our trip. Andreia, the front office manager, without any hesitation, gave us a credit for a one full year so we can use our reservation!

Finally, we made resevation for the end of August beginning of September for 7 nights.

The incredible staff, especially Andreia and Yoel, made our stay unforgettable :-)

On top of, it I secon all the last 5 stars reviews.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chills, Gerente geral at Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and expressing your experience from the time of booking and stay.
We are delighted to know that this was a memorable one and that you took back a good impression from Madeira and Choupana Hills Resort & SPA
We look very much forward in welcoming you in a near future in Madeira and at Choupana Hills Resort & SPA
Ricardo Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    284
    81
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
39
243
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel is at the top of a hill and... when I say hill I mean HILL, you couldn't possibly walk up and down as the winding roads are very very steep. the hotel grounds itself has lots of steep steps. The advantage of its location is the fabulous views and peacefulness, but could a bit too remote for some. we hired a car so getting about was nor a problem but without it we would have found it difficult to get about and to and from the hotel into the town. unfortunately due to the high position there is a lot of cloud about when the coast is bathed in sun. The accommodation is set out as chalets, which are very well equipped, clean, spacious and luxurious. my only complaint is that although tea and coffee facilities were provided you had to pay for every single tea bag, coffee pod and milk that you used! something I have Never been charged for in any other hotel I have ever stayed in!
The hotel has a lovely outdoor pool, and an inside pool too with spa facilities which we didn't use, a bar and lounge areas all clean and smart. Breakfast was a pretty good choice, fruit, cakes, cheeses, cereals, bread and rolls, and cooked eggs on request.... I say request because it wasn't always offered and we found it difficult sometimes to get the waitresses attention and have to ask for what we wanted. we had dinner once but my main course was very small, more like art on a plate than food!
The staff on reception were very friendly and helpful. Overall a very pleasant stay for a tranquil holiday.

Room Tip: ours had a sea view which we paid extra for, but I don't know if there were any without a good v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chills, Gerente geral at Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you so ever much for your review and kind words.
We are indeed delighted that your stay was as expected and that you have taken back home a good a memorable stay in Madeira and at our Hotel.
We definitely look very much forward in welcoming you back in Madeira and at Choupana Hills Resort & SPA in a near future and for another memorable and unique stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Where do you start! Wow! We absolutely loved this hotel! The setting is stunning and you look over the whole of Funchal, a great place to escape. We spend 10 nights at Choupana, i personally could have stayed for good.

The rooms are beautiful, spacious and all have lovely views, with greenery all around you and deckchairs or loungers on your balcony. The main outdoor pool is well maintained and cleaned every morning, even if it is raining or cloudy, good temperature and fantastic size, again with great views.

There is a mini bus that can take you into Funchal and runs every few hours - there aren't shops around the hotel, but that is the bliss of staying here, there is no noise, and you truly escape. Drinks in the hotel are reasonable and there is a cigarette machine at the hotel if you smoke.

We ate at the hotel every night, an extensive menu with something for everyone, and if there wasn't something to your liking, they would have bent over backwards to create something else. A great variety of wines available which match the food perfectly. The staff really look after you and help you choose a wine that is to your liking.

Not one member of staff gave any less than 100%, always happy and smiling, and with great humor. Nothing was too much! Ricardo the Manager is just brilliant, and you can see how his staff enjoy working for him, which makes for a happy hotel, and a great place to stay. From the minute i sent the hotel an email to check availability, Ricardo looked after us every step of the way, always making sure we were happy and taking the time to come up to us every time he was doing his rounds, however busy he was!

Thank you to all at the The Choupana Hills Resort & Spa - hopefully see you again next year!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chills, Gerente geral at Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you so ever much for your review and kind words.
We are indeed delighted that your stay was as expected and that you have taken back home a good a memorable stay in Madeira and at our Hotel.
We definitely look very much forward in welcoming you back in Madeira and at Choupana Hills Resort & SPA in a near future and for another memorable and unique stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
no where
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I arranged return airport transfer with madeira-airport-transfers.com for €36, when we landed driver was waiting with my name on sign, was so easy and hassle free.

Prior to ariving, I emailed hotel to advise them I required a room close to pool & restaurant, I had prompt reply & was allocated room 42- same level as pool, staff are very attentive there.

Rooms are a good size, with sofa area and a balcony with a wonderful sea views- which we paid extra for. Amenities include dressing gowns, slippers, bath wash, shampoo, cotton buds & hairdryer. There is cable Internet in room, we plugged in our laptop turned it into wifi for the room.

As advised by all other trip advisors I packed a thin jacket & scarf as it is cooler than the town at night as the hotel is so high up, came in handy for 2 nights.
Luckily during the day time it was super sunny & hot for the whole week, so the cold pool was very welcoming, there wasn't even a cloud in sight.

We ate in the restaurant 3 nights & room service 1 night, food is really good & very beautifully presented, although I don't think all the seafood is fresh, the scallops are amazing though & desserts are a must. Afternoon tea is also really nice & quite filling, the cakes are good!

The other nights we took the hotel shuttle bus to town, do ask reception to recommend restaurants, they will not disappoint. Bus only runs 3 times, very inconvenient, last bus out to town is 18:00 & last bus return is 18:30!

Taxi ride back from Funchal (market) was €10, from Lido-promenade €16, Marina area €12, we always asked for meter taxi, the one time we didn't it cost €8 from botanic cable car to hotel which should have only been about €5.

We love spa's but gave this one a miss as we checked out the spa rooms, they are tiny in comparison to the ones I'm use to, but I'm sure its good!

The resort is very relaxing, tranquil with very fresh air & friendly service, if you are looking to get away from it all, this is the resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chills, Gerente geral at Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you so ever much for your review and kind words.
We are indeed delighted that your stay was as expected and that you have taken back home a good a memorable stay in Madeira and at our Hotel.
We definitely look very much forward in welcoming you back in Madeira and at Choupana Hills Resort & SPA in a near future and for another memorable and unique stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have just returned from this wonderful place........ Stunning setting and views. When we arrived, we were met with serene music in the reception, and a feeling of calm. We were made to feel very special and nothing was a problem, sometimes the view was through broken cloud, but was much cooler and fresher air than in Funchal. We found the food excellent, contrary to some reports you will read, it is sheer Quality, and the flavours were divine ( the Lobster and Prawn dish was to die for ) We went for bed and breakfast for 6 nights, but ate evening meal at the resturant three times, there really was not much need for lunch as the breakfast was magnificent.
Book the shuttle bus early to Funchal, we always managed to get a seat, and the return Fare was 10 euro if you decided to stay on.... as long as you agreed with the taxi driver before getting in to the cab. We did a Half day Jeep Safari with "Ricardo" a larger than life character who works at the hotel, who has his own business during his Days off, he made our stay so much fun and informative. All the staff here were perfect and polite. We had Spa treatments which also added to the relaxing feel of this destination, very professional and Varied.
If you wanted to try a regional Meal, and like Steak ( this was a fantastic experience ) there is a place nearby "Resturante A Cornelia" a short Cab ride away, Ask for Espetada steak meat on a skewer, which as a barbeque / Beef fanatic, experienced flavours I have never tasted anywhere before, it is hung vertically on stands in the middle of the table. ( I had it in the town but was nothing like this place ) The place advertises itself as "Tipico" typically genuine resturant where the Maderians ate, what ever you do don't get put off by its initial appearance, the people who own it are fantastic, genuine, and made us feel so welcome, the wine is in a Jug, just ask for "Tinto" red or "Blanco" white, a truly madeirian experience, and would not have missed it for the world...."Ricardo" will contact them for you if you are not sure how to go on, and arrange everything for you. Everyone was wanting to make your stay perfect, and if you had the slightest input they wanted to know.
If you are looking for Entertainment, you make your own, which we enjoyed the gentile relaxed feel to the place, if you have very young children and they don't like to swim the water then take plenty to occupy them.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 21, it was a seaview upgrade, and would reccomend it as the view from the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chills, Gerente geral at Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you so ever much for your review and kind words.
We are indeed delighted that your stay was as expected and that you have taken back home a good a memorable stay in Madeira and at our Hotel.
We definitely look very much forward in welcoming you back in Madeira and at Choupana Hills Resort & SPA in a near future and for another memorable and unique stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorks
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Having arrived at Choupana Hills with high expectations the views and bungalow easily met these. Having recently been in Bali these bungalows reminded us of those found in those resorts .Stunning views and a brilliantly indulgent bungalow featuring an outdoor jacuzzi bath and lovely porch as well as a beautiful lounge and bedroom and with a views over the gardens hanging high above Funchal. The location is truly outstanding and the restaurant and buildings also look very eastern. If you want peace Choupana is very quiet ,a place to really unwind. Our only slight disappointment was with the restaurant which tried hard to be a little bit of luxury but seemed a bit sterile ,and for a Five Star hotel the waiting periods between courses seemed excessive especially when the food was good but not stunning. Saying this for the location and the bungalows Choupana was outstanding and definitely somewhere we will remember fondly.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Lovely resort/hotel with all luxuries. We loved the possibility to eat in the hotel. The quality of the food was very good, and staff was very friendly. The hotel has a wonderfull view over Funchal. The only drawback we found is that for food in town you need to take taxi or minishuttle. In return for this you get an extremely quiet resort. We will definetly go here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Choupana Hills Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Choupana Hills Resort & Spa

Address: Travessa do Largo da Choupana, Funchal, Madeira 9060-348, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#10 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#17 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Choupana Hills Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of Design Hotels, Choupana Hills is located in Madeira Island Portugal and has one of the most beautiful views over the Atlantic Ocean. Nestled in a botanical garden the hotel provides a unique atmosphere. It's 62 rooms and suites are displayed in bungalows. Some African and Asian influences can be noticed in the unique decoration of this boutique hotel. The SPA has been awarded several times and exceeds the most demanding expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Choupana Hills Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Choupana Hills Resort And Spa
Choupana Hills Hotel Funchal
Choupana Hills Resort & Spa Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.