We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views and rooms but flawed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Choupana Hills Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Choupana Hills Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Choupana Hills Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Travessa do Largo da Choupana, Funchal, Madeira 9060-348, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing views and rooms but flawed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for a week at the beginning of June. This hotel has the potential to be amazing, the site is gorgeous, the views are truly breathtaking and the rooms are fantastic. However it is let down by a few key details and one major one.

We stayed in a sea view villa (well worth the extra) and were very happy with the facilities and staff throughout, the pool area is also lovely.

The three main gripes were as follow:

- The restaurant. This is by far and away the biggest let down of the hotel, so much so that I am going to review it separately in the restaurant section. We gave it a chance to prove us wrong by having 2 lunches and 2 evening meals here, however only one dish was really of any quality. The price, around €50 a head, is incredibly premium compared to a lot of Funchal and the quality is abysmal. Looking back at historic reviews it had been well received, I can only assume they have a new chef/they were away?! Either the price needs to drop by two thirds to match the quality, or the quality needs to be improved to match the price. DO NOT GO HALF BOARD. Breakfast, however, is nice. Fresh fruit and cereal, continental e.t.c. I assume this is because no technical cooking is involved to spoil it.

- The shuttle service. We read up on the hotel in advance and saw that this service was available, so decided against a car. Calling the service limited is an understatement. It runs 11am, 12.30pm, 230pm ad 6pm into town and the return journeys are that plus 30 mins. On top of this the capacity of the bus is limited to 8 people, once it's full, it's full no extra trips. This removes almost all flexibility and is not a schedule of a 5 star hotel. Cabs are €15 each way and we had to rely on these quite a lot. I would strongly recommend hiring a car if you choose to stay here.

- Internet connectivity only in the main bar. This did not particularly worry us, but may be an issue for some people.

All in all an enjoyable stay and a lovely location, somewhat soured by the abysmal restaurant and inflexibility of the shuttle timetable. Visit the restaurants in town if you go, fantastic selection and you bypass the disappointment here.

Room Tip: Sea View well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    82
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
47
268
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Booked this as a last minute after our honeymoon hotel went bust and was so glad we did. Rooms were spacious and tidy and the staff could not have been more helpful - even packing us a take-away breakfast at 5am on our last day! Loved the food in the restaurant as well. It is a little bit out of town but the shuttle bus is regular and taxis aren't too expensive. Definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Excellent view on Funchal's Bay, nice pool, delightful & elegant cuisine: we enjoyed it all! The way up there is quite epic, as the roads are steep and it was very impressive. Good atmosphere, quiet and relaxing place. If you eat in the restaurant, try the foie-gras & chestnut soup, it's a gem ;) Take a jacket at night, as it gets easily cold (the resort is located in a decent elevation)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We booked this hotel because of the very good reviews we saw on this site. We read reviews indicating that this hotel was one of the best five star hotels they had experienced. In my experience of five star hotels this one should not be rated five stars. The indoor spa swimming pool had algae growing in it and dirt around the water line. The plaster in the spa was coming away in places. The Steam room smelled awful, I would not like to guess of what. When mentioning to the Manager "Ricardo" about the cleanliness of the spa swimming pool he started ranting about how he had worked in this hotel and that hotel and was not interested at all in checking to see if in fact we had a genuine complaint, this is not how any Manager of a five star hotel should or indeed would react to a guest. This hotel I would guess would have been excellent at one time, although the bungalow rooms are a very nice style we had no hot water and a leek in the roof. This hotel now seems to be uncared for. We did not stay, because of the managers attitude and we went to excellent Five Star Hotel The Cliff Bay Hotel. I would suggest to the manager of the Choupana Hills to may be visit there to see how a genuine Five star hotel should be run.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chills, General Manager at Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and indeed for the honesty in your words and expressing your experience the the very fiew hours at the hotel. Fortunately has been remarked especially by many repeated guests that had their holidays in the beginning of the hotel, in the past couple of years (these, difficult times) and lately (last months) that Choupana Hills is indeed up t the expected guests standard at all levels. In respect of your fiew ahours experience and due to the known facts, I understand your frustration and having the need to write on these terms and eventually not expecting what turned out to be, which in the other words was obvious perhaps your intentions..... We are further very sorry that this review was not as complete as other comments that you made, that were brought to me later by me colleagues, meaning that we understand that perhaps would have been a little too much and suspicious to refer all here and only after some hours in the hotel, to be now read by any tripadviser visiter. Let us just say that by all that you commented locally (room, pool, etc etc) and only after some time stay at the hotel and not even overnight, you had done well your home work and on what you had to go for. But please be assured that all negative but constructive comments are definitely very welcome in order to better improve all details of one’s stay, that in your case and once again you didn’t even stay at the hotel! About me of course no comment especially when having the conversation with you and your "wording" was definitely the most "pleasant one". We are all in any case very grateful for the review and sure that you spent a great time in Madeira and we regret not being at your "experienced" standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We visited 4 hotels during our stay in Madeira and this one was the cherry on the cake. I have stayed at many 5 * hotels round the world and this hotel is right up there with the best. It was an amazing stay. The staff are amongst the most charming, friendly and professional I have ever encountered - they give the Four Seasons a run for their money service wise. When we arrived, the hotel manager cam out and met us and was incredible helpful. I had been travelling all day and felt car sick and the only menu available was an Easter extravaganza which looked amazing but too rich for me. The hotel manager arranged for the chef to cook me a special meal. This is the kind of personal service that you get during your stay. The front of House staff are extremely helpful and wonderfully courteous and should be applauded for their service as are the restaurant staff. We had room service a lot of the time whilst we were there, food was great and the lady who delivered the rood was exemplary. I did not take her name which is a shame as I would like to write to the manager to tell him what a great job she did. She had been at the hotel from the start and was so helpful. As we could not go to the restaurant for the Easter meal as I was not well, she laid up a table in our room to perfection and made it so special for us. She served us throughout our trip and was as helpful throughout. The spa was amazing. I had some ayurvedic treatments given to me by a sublime spa lady. She was excellent, I would recommend to anyone who is going to ask for a lady called Isabella, ( I think that was her name - she also works at the aruyvedic centre in Canico so you can ask for her with that info) she is extremely good and intuitive as to what your body needs.
The hotel was gorgeous, shame it was too cold to use the outdoor pool, I bet it is glorious in Summer. It is colder as you are so far up in the hills ( the views are to die for) but the villas are all heated accordingly so you never feel cold. The villas are divine and you feel like you are in a gorgous Asian style resort in somewhere very exotic. We had villa 24 which had a beautiful view of the harbour, the ferries coming in and the sea. Perfect. There is an utterly gorgeous friendly cat who comes and visits if you are happy to allow it. She is beautiful and totally chilled, just like the hotel itself. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, it made our trip and I will be returning in two months time as I had such a wonderful time - I never return to hotels unless they are truly spectacular and this one was. Go for the view and the seriously delicious breakfasts - I have never had such a wonderful fresh selection for breakfast ever. It was such a treat.

Room Tip: Higher villas have sea view, but all villas are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chills, General Manager at Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much indeed for your great review and we are delighted that you had a really wonderful time in Madeira and at our hotel. These words of course are very significant both to us and definitely for those that want to spend a great holiday in Madeira and choosing our hotel.- Therefore thank you so much for your true words and sharing your experience. We look very much forward in welcoming you in a near future both that you further experience some changes undertaking and in opf course another memorable stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

After a weekend spent at Choupana Hills, we couldn’t fail to come here and comment the splendid service and fantastic hotel.
The hotel has a prime location with an incredible view over the city of Funchal.
We are literally in the clouds...
The rooms are beautiful, cosy, comfortable and with a fantastic balcony.
The staff is very attentive, with a genuine concern for the guests’ welfare, very welcoming.
We found the "levadas" and the hotel is in perfect harmony with nature.
Finally, the excellent restaurant that stands on its own: wonderful food at affordable prices. The refinement of taste, the space and the view justified, even for the locals, a visit. The price paid per meal is equivalent to any ordinary restaurant in the city center.
We only regret having to catch a plane to stay there.
We highly recommended Choupana Hills.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chills, General Manager at Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your time ands sharing your experience with your great review. We are indeed delighted that you had a great time in Madeira and at our Hotel and your words are indeed a further motivation in assuring everyone a memorable and unique stay in Madeira. Until your next visit, we thank you again for your very kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Bounded by a very pleasant lavada walk and sitting at 500m above Funchal with fantastic views of the city and harbour, this quiet collection of semi-detached residences are a delight. Our residence was very well appointed and appreciatively heated given our cool, but very pleasant, week on the Island in February. The staff were there to please and the food in the restaurant (breakfast and dinner) was good and well presented. Most definitely a place for a return visit - but with a better than basic hire car, unless you enjoy plenty of 1st gear driving!! R & H.

Room Tip: Room 31 has a fantastic view over Funchal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Choupana Hills Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Choupana Hills Resort & Spa

Address: Travessa do Largo da Choupana, Funchal, Madeira 9060-348, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#7 Family Hotel in Funchal
#10 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Choupana Hills Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of Design Hotels, Choupana Hills is located in Madeira Island Portugal and has one of the most beautiful views over the Atlantic Ocean. Nestled in a botanical garden the hotel provides a unique atmosphere. It's 62 rooms and suites are displayed in bungalows. Some African and Asian influences can be noticed in the unique decoration of this boutique hotel. The SPA has been awarded several times and exceeds the most demanding expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Choupana Hills Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Choupana Hills Resort And Spa
Choupana Hills Hotel Funchal
Choupana Hills Resort & Spa Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.