We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Choupana Hills Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Choupana Hills Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Choupana Hills Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Travessa do Largo da Choupana, Funchal, Madeira 9060-348, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Absolute Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We visited 4 hotels during our stay in Madeira and this one was the cherry on the cake. I have stayed at many 5 * hotels round the world and this hotel is right up there with the best. It was an amazing stay. The staff are amongst the most charming, friendly and professional I have ever encountered - they give the Four Seasons a run for their money service wise. When we arrived, the hotel manager cam out and met us and was incredible helpful. I had been travelling all day and felt car sick and the only menu available was an Easter extravaganza which looked amazing but too rich for me. The hotel manager arranged for the chef to cook me a special meal. This is the kind of personal service that you get during your stay. The front of House staff are extremely helpful and wonderfully courteous and should be applauded for their service as are the restaurant staff. We had room service a lot of the time whilst we were there, food was great and the lady who delivered the rood was exemplary. I did not take her name which is a shame as I would like to write to the manager to tell him what a great job she did. She had been at the hotel from the start and was so helpful. As we could not go to the restaurant for the Easter meal as I was not well, she laid up a table in our room to perfection and made it so special for us. She served us throughout our trip and was as helpful throughout. The spa was amazing. I had some ayurvedic treatments given to me by a sublime spa lady. She was excellent, I would recommend to anyone who is going to ask for a lady called Isabella, ( I think that was her name - she also works at the aruyvedic centre in Canico so you can ask for her with that info) she is extremely good and intuitive as to what your body needs.
The hotel was gorgeous, shame it was too cold to use the outdoor pool, I bet it is glorious in Summer. It is colder as you are so far up in the hills ( the views are to die for) but the villas are all heated accordingly so you never feel cold. The villas are divine and you feel like you are in a gorgous Asian style resort in somewhere very exotic. We had villa 24 which had a beautiful view of the harbour, the ferries coming in and the sea. Perfect. There is an utterly gorgeous friendly cat who comes and visits if you are happy to allow it. She is beautiful and totally chilled, just like the hotel itself. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, it made our trip and I will be returning in two months time as I had such a wonderful time - I never return to hotels unless they are truly spectacular and this one was. Go for the view and the seriously delicious breakfasts - I have never had such a wonderful fresh selection for breakfast ever. It was such a treat.

Room Tip: Higher villas have sea view, but all villas are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chills, General Manager at Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much indeed for your great review and we are delighted that you had a really wonderful time in Madeira and at our hotel. These words of course are very significant both to us and definitely for those that want to spend a great holiday in Madeira and choosing our hotel.- Therefore thank you so much for your true words and sharing your experience. We look very much forward in welcoming you in a near future both that you further experience some changes undertaking and in opf course another memorable stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    86
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
47
290
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

After a weekend spent at Choupana Hills, we couldn’t fail to come here and comment the splendid service and fantastic hotel.
The hotel has a prime location with an incredible view over the city of Funchal.
We are literally in the clouds...
The rooms are beautiful, cosy, comfortable and with a fantastic balcony.
The staff is very attentive, with a genuine concern for the guests’ welfare, very welcoming.
We found the "levadas" and the hotel is in perfect harmony with nature.
Finally, the excellent restaurant that stands on its own: wonderful food at affordable prices. The refinement of taste, the space and the view justified, even for the locals, a visit. The price paid per meal is equivalent to any ordinary restaurant in the city center.
We only regret having to catch a plane to stay there.
We highly recommended Choupana Hills.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chills, General Manager at Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your time ands sharing your experience with your great review. We are indeed delighted that you had a great time in Madeira and at our Hotel and your words are indeed a further motivation in assuring everyone a memorable and unique stay in Madeira. Until your next visit, we thank you again for your very kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Bounded by a very pleasant lavada walk and sitting at 500m above Funchal with fantastic views of the city and harbour, this quiet collection of semi-detached residences are a delight. Our residence was very well appointed and appreciatively heated given our cool, but very pleasant, week on the Island in February. The staff were there to please and the food in the restaurant (breakfast and dinner) was good and well presented. Most definitely a place for a return visit - but with a better than basic hire car, unless you enjoy plenty of 1st gear driving!! R & H.

Room Tip: Room 31 has a fantastic view over Funchal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

It is a truly beautiful place in the mountains. You simply dive into nature and feel far from hectic city life. Excellent swimming pool and nice views. Personnel is friendly and helps with small things. We haven’t really noticed anything negative and sincerely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We called in during our levada walk not knowing if we would be welcome in our walking gear!

No problem - waitress was wonderful - super lunch - snack menu available not over expensive for the wonderful setting!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chills, General Manager at Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We are indeed very greatful for the time that you took in expressing your experience with your visit. We are indeed honored and pleased that your expectations were fullfilled. We hope further that Choupana Hills Resort & SPA will be your next holiday choice and in a near future....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have just completed a week at Choupana Hills and it is with regret that we go home, we have had a wonderful week at a special place. We are well travelled and used to 5*, this was different, there was a personal touch that is often missing from other hotels. The rooms are spacious and very luxurious, I asked for and received the best of everything. The ladies who cleaned the rooms are helpful and very trustworthy. The staff have been trained to excellence, congratulations to whoever is responsible. The food is so good that you won't want to eat out, they can cater to your particular needs. The Maitre D is so knowledgable and also has a personality tto match his skills, we loved him. Everyone at the hotel, without exception ensured that we took back memories of their beautiful island. Finally a huge thank you to Ricardo, the CEO of the resort, you are exceptional for the interest you take in your guests and their comfort, thank you, sincerely, we will be back.

Room Tip: We had room 35 which had a sea and garden view, beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chills, General Manager at Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
What can we say? We are very honored with your very kind comments and indeed very pleased that everything turned out to be a wonderful experience and that you took back home a memorable stay in Madeira and at our hotel. We look very much forward for your next visit which with your very friendly help, suggestions and tips, we are sure of a new and improved again unique stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My partner and I with our two year old son have just got back from a birthday week at the Choupana Hills. Beforehand, being heavily pregnant and having a two year old, there were many emails sent back and forth to the hotel asking questions to make sure all went well. They handled this with great care and attention and nothing went wrong in the planning.
We all loved our stay at Choupana Hills, it was like a little village with bungalows and it was in the perfect location. Our suite was great, very large and we all loved the jacuzzi on our balcony.
The restaurant was amazing, the breakfast excellent, child's menu good and Dinner was divine, the chocolate brownies with lemongrass ice cream was to die for! All the staff went out of their way to make sure we had the perfect week. I had a pregnancy massage on my birthday which was excellent. A heated table, very nice lady, perfect pressure, clean room. Then to finish off my day in the evening someone knocked on the door with a birthday cake and two glasses of champagne. Well you can't ask for more than that can you?
But - having said that there were just a few little niggles. There were places that were a little tired around the edges. Some of the outdoor furniture could do with renewing and the pool room needed at bit of attention. I mentioned this to the manager of the hotel and he assured me they were doing all they can to change any negative feedback. In fact new furniture is on their way! So if these easy to sort out problems are dealt with this year you have the perfect place for a holiday.

Room Tip: A suite with a jacuzzi on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chills, General Manager at Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We are very grateful for the time you took in expressing your experience with your stay, starting from the moment you book. We are deeply honored with your words and hope to welcome you in anear future in Madeira and at Choupana Hills Resor & SPA.
With the best and very sunny regards
Yours sincerely
Ricardo Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Choupana Hills Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Choupana Hills Resort & Spa

Address: Travessa do Largo da Choupana, Funchal, Madeira 9060-348, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#10 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Choupana Hills Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of Design Hotels, Choupana Hills is located in Madeira Island Portugal and has one of the most beautiful views over the Atlantic Ocean. Nestled in a botanical garden the hotel provides a unique atmosphere. It's 62 rooms and suites are displayed in bungalows. Some African and Asian influences can be noticed in the unique decoration of this boutique hotel. The SPA has been awarded several times and exceeds the most demanding expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Choupana Hills Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Choupana Hills Resort And Spa
Choupana Hills Hotel Funchal
Choupana Hills Resort & Spa Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.