We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing hotel with excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta da Bela Vista

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quinta da Bela Vista to your Saves list
Quinta da Bela Vista
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Caminho Avista Navios, 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-129, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Relaxing hotel with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We returned yesterday from a week of b&b at the Quinta da Bela Vista and it was a relaxing and really enjoyable holiday. We usually self-cater abroad so this was a departure from our usual type of holiday and we definitely made the right choice of hotel for our first venture away from the norm! As other reviewers have mentioned, the hotel is outside Funchal in the Sao Martinho area and is a short bus/taxi ride away. The hotel provides a free shuttle bus Mon-Fri and Saturday mornings and a taxi is about 7 Euros. Being outside Funchal means the hotel doesn't have noise from the town so is tranquil and calming. The service is outstanding and the staff are fantastic - multi-lingual, friendly and attentive without being 'in your face'. Nothing is too much trouble and guests are welcomed equally. When we arrived, the receptionist walked us to our room explaining where we could find things and our luggage was brought up very soon afterwards with a tray of tea and coffee. On the couple of occasions during the week that we rang for more fresh milk, it arrived at the door so quickly that the kettle hadn't had time to boil! The hotel has several buildings, all containing antiques and everywhere is very clean and tidy. We ate at the hotel every night, using both the pool bar (a range from toasted sandwiches to the meal of the day), and the restaurant (a la carte). We didn't use the pool or gym area but the pool was warm and the small gym seemed to have most pieces of equipment you might want on holiday (if you're that way inclined!). We rarely holiday in the same place twice because we like to visit different places but, should we return to Madeira, this is the hotel we'll use without a doubt.

Room Tip: We had room 217 in the building next to the main reception building. This is a decent sized twin wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    79
    20
    9
    1
See reviews for
71
415
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Very comfortable with staff that can not do enough to help. Great breakfast and nice facilities. We had a balcony overlooking the pool. The hotel is some distance from the town but there is a mini bus that runs from the hotel. You can also catch the regular bus number 8 from a stop about 100 metres away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

A beautifully located hotel set on the hillside with lovely views over Funchal; comfortable and clean accommodation, superb food and great service.

Very professionally greeted by Hernandez on our arrival and accompanied to our 3rd floor room with probably the best view in the hotel.

Anyone who enjoys fine dining shouldn’t be disappointed. Earliest 7.30pm start which perhaps wouldn’t suit those who prefer to dine earlier. 5 courses every evening which included both a fish and meat dish – cooked to perfection and nicely presented. No choice, which again might be an issue for some, but the staff are very accommodating. Good selection of wine reasonably priced and the house wine was particularly good value at circa £6 per large glass. Very professional and friendly waiter service – wine glasses constantly topped up.

Breakfast is buffet – fresh fruit, choice of cereals, eggs and bacon etc. and DIY toast. A wee bit disappointing for me, I would have preferred the hot food freshly cooked. In addition, although the plates were in a warming rack they were invariably cold, (there is nothing worse for eggs and bacon) so I took to warming a plate on the toaster!

A pool bar was available during the day and had an extensive menu.
The pool itself wasn’t extensively used – I was told the water was quite cold

A minibus bus was available as a shuttle down to the harbour although we preferred the walk which took 30 minutes.

All in all a thoroughly enjoyable experience and tbh I wouldn’t want to stay anywhere else on Madeira.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Having had a previous, not very enjoyable, visit to Madeira, we were keeping our fingers crossed that our choice of hotel would be better this time, and I'm glad to say that we were not disappointed. The hotel is just delightful - calm and traditional: we have rarely come across such friendly and welcoming staff, and the garden and views are stunning, particularly around the pool area. We chose half board (again with a little bit of trepidation) and had exceptional meals every evening in the beautiful dining room in the original quinta. We had deliberately chosen a hotel away from the sea, as on our previous visit we had several sleepless nights as a result of noise. We loved the peace of being above the main town, and did not have any problems getting too and from Funchal centre in the free shuttle bus. Also the local bus stops conveniently just around the corner. We did walk once - OK going downhill , going back up quite hard-going. Our room had a balcony with a lovely view (and a very smart flat screen TV). We now know exactly where we will be staying on our next visit!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

There is nowhere we would rather be at the end of a very wet January than the Quinta da Bela Vista. Our second visit took place just a year after the first and we were not disappointed. All the staff, both young and mature remain which is testament to the excellent team spirit that pervades the hotel and makes it the special place that it is. We were received cordially by all and welcomed "home". We enjoyed the tranquility of the beautiful gardens, relaxed by the pool with tasty lunches and ate delicious evening meals in the beautiful dining room of the old house. Nothing is ever too much trouble, including vegetarian diets which were catered for most imaginatively and tastily, even at breakfast. Our muddy boots were whisked away for cleaning after an interesting Levada walk without asking! Our room was most comfortable, the same one as last year.The courtesy minibus was on hand to take us in to town. We will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms face different aspects of the garden. Ours was 228 on the first floor, had a balcony a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

One feels one should not criticise this hotel in view of the enthusiastic 5 star reviews but, whilst many aspects are very good, it is not 5 star across the board. The hotel comprises three main buildings; the original manor house, the larger main building housing reception and the deceptively large block made up of the garden rooms. The manor house has some bedrooms, a dining room, the library and one of a number of lounges. During our stay dinner was served here on some evenings. Over the main Christmas and New Year period dinner was served in the dining room in the main building, which also served as the breakfast room. The public rooms are well presented and beautifully furnished. That said, I was never warm and the lounge in the manor house was particularly cold. Despite having an open fire this was not kept stoked and the room was not an attractive option in which to linger after dinner. The lack of an obvious focal point was the main drawback with the hotel. It has no obvious bar at which to enjoy an aperitif or digestif. The pool bar with its lounge on the upper floor was open in the evening but was small. It was a week before we found a lounge in the garden block and longer still before we realised there was a further lounge above reception.
The staff are undeniably friendly and helpful and the service in the restaurant was excellent. Reception staff showed endless patience answering our questions about the buses and happily printed timetables for us.
So, my reservations? I agree with a previous reviewer who referred to the lack of focus on customer service in some areas e.g the very day when the shuttle bus was needed, when the local buses were not running, was the day it was not available. The jacuzzi and sauna are small and basic and the hotel requires 30 minutes notice to heat them. There was nothing special about the garden view rooms. They were spotlessly clean but little things let them down: the sheets were not big enough for the king size bed created by putting two singles together, the television was the only antique and the hair dryer was like nothing I had seen before.
Lovely setting, elegant public rooms, staff who are a genuine asset but a number of minor matters that reduce my rating.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We were in need of a holiday where relaxation, quiet, good food, lovely surroundings and friendly service were important, and were recommended by our dearest friends that we come to the Quinta da Bela Vista which they had visited twice. Well every expectation was fulfilled and more so. Indeed this has been one finest places we have ever stayed. The Quinta rests up on the hills overlooking Funchal, with bella vistas indeed, amid beautiful tropical gardens. The rooms are quiet, spacious and very comfortable, with all the conveniences one expects, and there are sitting rooms and library furnished with antiques, beautiful but never ostentatious. The breakfasts were magnificent, with all the fare you could want, including some exotic tropical fruits we had not tasted before. However the dinner in the 'old manor house' part of the hotel was of international standards of cuisine. Do make sure you order their set meal: it is five courses of the most exquisite food, perfectly balanced, and never too large. you proceed from delightful entree to soup, then fish, then meat and finally a light dessert. You could not eat better anywhere.

However despite all these treats, the real quality that sets this hotel apart from many we have visited is the gold standard of their service. They are friendly, helpful, assiduous but never overbearing or obsequious. Nothing is ever too much trouble, and the expertise is brilliant. Our maitre d'table could speak to all the guests in whichever language was theirs; our waiter always knew when to refill our glasses just moments before we knew it ourselves; and at the front desk reception was always jolly and fun as well as informative.

We loved our stay, as you can see, and shall most certainly return, braving the cross-winds of Funchal airport with intrepidity!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta da Bela Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Bela Vista

Address: Caminho Avista Navios, 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-129, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Funchal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#16 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#18 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Bela Vista 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive to give you the warm and genuine hospitality of the traditional Madeiran Quintas. There are many moments to be cherished at Quinta da Bela Vista, one of the most select and exclusive family properties on Madeira island. This five star hotel enveloped in two hectares of luxurious botanical gardens – the ideal place to relax and enjoy spectacular views - hosts a significant antiques private collection. Our commitment ensures every guest wishes are fulfilled, making you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Jetsetter so you can book your Quinta da Bela Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Bela Vista Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta da Bela Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.